No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Riverside House

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Fennel Street,Ashford-In-The-Water , Ashford in the Water, DE45 1QF
Beautifully appointed, grade 2 listed Georgian property in an idylic peaceful village location; the hotel garden sits along the bank of the River Wye and we have a secluded carpark for residents.
Superb en-suite bedrooms, cosy bar and lounge with open fire, excellent fine dining restaurant and extensive wine directory.
Picture of Riverside House, Ashford in the Water at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 63 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very enjoyable and relaxing stay with extremely helpful staff.

Reviewed by
Barrie B

From Hale Barns, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Riverside House One Night
Superb views from the room overlooking the river, from our small room "Lillie".
Very high standard of food for a three course meal for £45 - delicious. The only downside is value for money, i.e. the least expensive bottle of wine cost £21.50, but having said that service was impeccable and you get what you pay for. Looking forward to staying again, sometime in the future.

Reviewed by
K Stockbridge

From Rochester, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful country house hotel.
Excellent hotel, Nice clean room with patio doors and garden view! Very friendly and helpful staff and fantastic cooked breakfast. Extra touches in room(fresh milk and coffee, fresh fruit, nuts, chocolates and small decanter of sherry) were wonderful. We visit our son, who lives in the area, quite regularly and we intend to return for lunch in the near future and we will certainly stay again at some point in the future.

Reviewed by
K Bramwell

From Pontefract, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb accommodation and service
A brilliant hotel, old fashioned in style but clean, well maintained and serving amazing food! The service was excellent throughout our stay. Also in the perfect location for sightseeing and walks through some truly stunning scenery. We would definitely return.

Reviewed by
Chris Hinton

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old world hotel in superb location
Had chosen this venue for a family celebration & were very pleased with its period décor &overall good service & cleanliness. We were however .disappointed to have to pay supplement to have english breakfast..

Reviewed by
malcolm b

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review
Exceptionally welcoming and friendly hotel. Loved the decor, room was fine with lots of little added extras, fresh fruit, chocolates and even a small decanter of very drinkable sherry!! Dinner was first class and an excellent English breakfast served. Wonderful location. All in all a very enjoyable experience.

Reviewed by
A Forsyth

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charming Quality Hotel
My wife and I stayed here for one night after being guests at a wedding reception at nearby Hassop Hall. The hotel felt intimate and of a high quality. The staff were very friendly and helpful and our room was very comfortable. My only disappointment was that a cooked English breakfast was not included for the tariff of £160. This was extra, but no indication of how much extra was apparent. We had a continental breakfast which was fine, but I think the option of a full cooked breakfast should be included.

Reviewed by
John K

From Thurso, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful Hotel in Beautiful Surroundings
A wonderful ivy clad 17 century building situated in a beautiful village by the side of the river Wye. Lovely grounds.

Reviewed by
Lorna Davitt

From Luton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charming Hotel
Charming hotel with charming staff set in a very pretty village good location for walking etc and Bakewell. Secure parking .

Reviewed by
Clare M

From nr Ingatestone, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Riverside Hotel
A lovely hotel in a very peaceful setting. Ashford in the Water is a charming village only a few minutes away from Bakewell.The hotel's public rooms were " oldy worldly " and proved to be a very restful place. The staff were very helpful, courteous and obliging. My wife and I would be happy to stay there again.

Reviewed by
Alan B

From Beverley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next