No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Riverside House

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Fennel Street,Ashford-In-The-Water , Ashford in the Water, DE45 1QF
Beautifully appointed, grade 2 listed Georgian property in an idylic peaceful village location; the hotel garden sits along the bank of the River Wye and we have a secluded carpark for residents.
Superb en-suite bedrooms, cosy bar and lounge with open fire, excellent fine dining restaurant and extensive wine directory.
Picture of Riverside House, Ashford in the Water at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 58 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review
Exceptionally welcoming and friendly hotel. Loved the decor, room was fine with lots of little added extras, fresh fruit, chocolates and even a small decanter of very drinkable sherry!! Dinner was first class and an excellent English breakfast served. Wonderful location. All in all a very enjoyable experience.

Reviewed by
A Forsyth

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charming Quality Hotel
My wife and I stayed here for one night after being guests at a wedding reception at nearby Hassop Hall. The hotel felt intimate and of a high quality. The staff were very friendly and helpful and our room was very comfortable. My only disappointment was that a cooked English breakfast was not included for the tariff of £160. This was extra, but no indication of how much extra was apparent. We had a continental breakfast which was fine, but I think the option of a full cooked breakfast should be included.

Reviewed by
John K

From Thurso, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful Hotel in Beautiful Surroundings
A wonderful ivy clad 17 century building situated in a beautiful village by the side of the river Wye. Lovely grounds.

Reviewed by
Lorna Davitt

From Luton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charming Hotel
Charming hotel with charming staff set in a very pretty village good location for walking etc and Bakewell. Secure parking .

Reviewed by
Clare M

From nr Ingatestone, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Riverside Hotel
A lovely hotel in a very peaceful setting. Ashford in the Water is a charming village only a few minutes away from Bakewell.The hotel's public rooms were " oldy worldly " and proved to be a very restful place. The staff were very helpful, courteous and obliging. My wife and I would be happy to stay there again.

Reviewed by
Alan B

From Beverley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Riverside House Ashford-in-the-Water
Everything about our stay was perfect from the minute we arrived we were cared for in every way. Nothing was too much trouble for the charming staff. The setting is beautiful and it is a perfect place from which to tour the Peak District whatever your interests.

Reviewed by
Michael Foxall

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfy bed, very friendly staff, pretty location

Reviewed by
B Adams

From Tunbridge Wells, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Silence
In an age of piped music and traffic roar the tranquility of Riverside House was just bliss and adding to that the brilliant food and location we will definitely be making numerous returns.
One small suggestion, a fan in the room would be lovely but we were staying a bit of a heatwave to be fair.
Other than that I'd be happy to say that this is one of the very best hotels I've stayed in and I say this as from the experience of 30 years of business travel.

Reviewed by
Barry B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A 4 star sauna experience
Lovely setting and warm welcome from receptionist. Very accommodating and adjusted menu for our own special requirements. Room was spacious and clean. Menu was varied but three courses too much to eat. Would have preferred option of two courses rather than a set priced three course meal. Main complaint with hotel was the total absence of any fans or air conditioning. It was so hot that during dinner it became unbearable. We had Greenfinch room and tiny window could only be partly opened due to blind blocking it. This was clearly a previously known problem as the glass was cracked where previous occupants had tried to force it open. Found all but one staff gave highest service. One waitress was far too rude referring to my size and generally being too intrusive in our meal. Overall though a good place apart from the lack of any cooling system.

Reviewed by
Paul W

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed
I took my wife to this hotel for a wedding anniversary treat. Unfortunately the breakfast on the first morning consisted of cereal, yoghurt, toast, tea and coffee for the two of us, with only a small rack of toast in a very dimley lit room. The second morning breakfast was in a much brighter room with more staff waiting. Everything was fine untill my wife found green mould on the toast she was eating. She quietly told the lady in charge about this and was told it would not hurt her it was penicillin, which she is allergic to. Needless to say, I doubt we will return.t

Reviewed by
T Edwards

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next