No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Riverside House

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Fennel Street,Ashford-In-The-Water , Ashford in the Water, DE45 1QF
Beautifully appointed, grade 2 listed Georgian property in an idylic peaceful village location; the hotel garden sits along the bank of the River Wye and we have a secluded carpark for residents.
Superb en-suite bedrooms, cosy bar and lounge with open fire, excellent fine dining restaurant and extensive wine directory.
Picture of Riverside House, Ashford in the Water at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 61 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good secret escape
The location and the surroundings of the hotel were perfect ! Ideal for those looking to have a tranquil break away from the hustle and bustle of every day life. Area is perfect for walking and for visiting local attractions such as Haddon Hall, Chatsworth and the market town of Bakewell.
The slight disappointment was the noise we experienced in the room at night. Having been told that only three of the rooms were occupied that evening (Sunday), the residents had all been put into adjoining rooms instead of spreading us out in the hotel and giving us maximum privacy. The walls were obviously thin as we could hear the occupants in the next room coughing, switching lights on and off, flushing the toilet and having a shower ! Real shame as it took away the edge of what would have been the perfect stay. This wouldn't deter us from booking again, but we would ask for a room on the first floor as opposed to be in a room off the corridor from the reception area.
The staff were helpful and friendly and made us feel welcome.

Reviewed by
Jon G

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful little hotel in lovely little hamlet
Had a wonderful night with my husband on Valantines day. Staff we're extremely attentive and our meal was lovely. Particularly enjoyed the lobster and crayfish ravioli, yummy. Thank you to all the staff for a relaxing evening.

Reviewed by
amanda yates

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reviewed by
Pauline T

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Hotel
Beautiful Hotel in beautiful surroundings, luxurious rooms and wonderful dining experience.
Excellent service.

Reviewed by
B Fitchett

From Dewsbury, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very enjoyable and relaxing stay with extremely helpful staff.

Reviewed by
Barrie B

From Hale Barns, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Riverside House One Night
Superb views from the room overlooking the river, from our small room "Lillie".
Very high standard of food for a three course meal for £45 - delicious. The only downside is value for money, i.e. the least expensive bottle of wine cost £21.50, but having said that service was impeccable and you get what you pay for. Looking forward to staying again, sometime in the future.

Reviewed by
K Stockbridge

From Rochester, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful country house hotel.
Excellent hotel, Nice clean room with patio doors and garden view! Very friendly and helpful staff and fantastic cooked breakfast. Extra touches in room(fresh milk and coffee, fresh fruit, nuts, chocolates and small decanter of sherry) were wonderful. We visit our son, who lives in the area, quite regularly and we intend to return for lunch in the near future and we will certainly stay again at some point in the future.

Reviewed by
K Bramwell

From Pontefract, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb accommodation and service
A brilliant hotel, old fashioned in style but clean, well maintained and serving amazing food! The service was excellent throughout our stay. Also in the perfect location for sightseeing and walks through some truly stunning scenery. We would definitely return.

Reviewed by
Chris Hinton

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old world hotel in superb location
Had chosen this venue for a family celebration & were very pleased with its period décor &overall good service & cleanliness. We were however .disappointed to have to pay supplement to have english breakfast..

Reviewed by
malcolm b

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review
Exceptionally welcoming and friendly hotel. Loved the decor, room was fine with lots of little added extras, fresh fruit, chocolates and even a small decanter of very drinkable sherry!! Dinner was first class and an excellent English breakfast served. Wonderful location. All in all a very enjoyable experience.

Reviewed by
A Forsyth

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next