Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Scotland > Strathclyde > Glasgow > East Kilbride Hotels > Macdonald Crutherland House Hotel & Spa
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macdonald Crutherland House Hotel & Spa

4Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Strathaven Road East Kilbride, East Kilbride, G75 0QZ
Turning of the main road the quiet tree lined drive leads to 37 Acres of tranquil garden and woodlands. Located just 15 minutes from the heart of Glasgow surrounded by countryside, offering luxurious accommodation, excellent dining and total relaxation.

The original building, which now acts as the hub of the hotel, dates back to 1700 although it was not used as a hotel until 1964. With a superb function suite, luxurious bedrooms and excellent leisure and Spa facilities, Crutherland House is one of the finest and most luxurious hotels in the West of Scotland. Every one of the bedrooms has been designed and decorated with comfort in mind. Free wifi is available in all public areas, meetings rooms and guest rooms.

If you prefer privacy during your stay, you can select cuisine from the 24-hour room service menu. Macdonald Hotels has established an enviable reputation for their cuisine and The Crutherland House Hotel has helped to maintain that standard. The award winning chefs use prime fresh produce, locally bred or grown wherever possible and dishes that are mainly Scottish and continental, while the wines are specially selected to compliment whatever choice of food you make.To make your dining experience complete why not begin with a cocktail or aperitif in the elegant cocktail bar and, afterwards return to relax in the sofas and leather armchairs over coffee and a brandy, malt whisky, or whatever liqueur takes your fancy.

**Please note there will be a £3.00 charge for the use of credit/debit cards**
Picture of Macdonald Crutherland House Hotel & Spa, East Kilbride at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 79 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 77% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay
Surprised that I managed to get this quality of hotel for the price paid, only one criticism I had the room next to the lift and not much of a view (air con units), apart from that very good, had excellent leisure facilities

Reviewed by
J Turner

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay
We stayed at this hotel for 2 night as we were at a family wedding on the Saturday. Very friendly staff, good breakfast and lovely setting. There are lots of spa facilities too which looked lovely. If you are looking for a wedding venue, this is a great day. We had the most perfect day and we would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
A Tickner

From Sandhurst, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very short break
Some areas in need of brightening up. Hot breakfast served as we were still eating our first course

Reviewed by
Graham D

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very relaxing stay at Crutherland Hotel. Lovely pool. Quiet & clean surroundings.

Reviewed by
Alexander B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, room & leisure facility
The only thing which took the edge off things was breakfast
Food overall was good & service too good. Before you have cereal etc you are asked for drinks(coffee/tea), toast & coooked food
The cooked food comes before you get coffee etc i.e. in <2 minutes
Learn from Carnoustie golf resort !!!!!!!

Reviewed by
MARK TINDALL

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight Business Trip
An excellent hotel, great value for money when booked through Laterooms.com, extremely professional and helpful staff - nothing was too much trouble for them, particularly in the restaurant. The food was excellent, a good selection, well presented and the service was attentive and frieindly whilst still maintaining a professional rapport. The room was spotless and very comfortable and my stary was, all in all, a very enjoyable experinece.

Reviewed by
L Cooper

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely setting.. Grounds and building really nice! Few minors which would put me off going again!
Absolutely stunning grounds and location. Shame about the party going on downstairs.. Went there for one reason which was a quiet night away from Glasgow which was rather frustrating! Only one breakfast was delivered in the morning when I phoned the restaurant they had another one up double fast.. The staff were lovely on arrival and exit! Postcode takes you to the country park which is also annoying by the time we found it didn't have enough time to use the pool etc which was also another reason we went to that hotel specifically! Also couldn't get through to reception to see about late checkout after ringing about 10 times gave up! Would go back again at the right price but was pretty disappointed with my stay felt like a waste of money and a night! I'm using really not one to complain aswell :(

Reviewed by
A Irvine

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Let down by Technology
Arrived late and registering was dealt with efficiently and swiftly.
I asked about WiFi and was told they used The Cloud and as long as I was registered with the service I would have no problem.
Wrong. I had problems. In fact it seems my room was cloudless.
So I retired to bed.
On waking the following day I tried to activate the TV. The remote didn't work. I rang reception and queried the situation and also the problem with the Cloud. The receptionist back on duty from the previous night asked if I wanted to move rooms. As I would be checking out in the next couple of hours I suggested it would be I practice. So I ended up with no TV and no WiFi. That's the reason I won't be staying at this hotel or any other in the group again. At least at Days Inn or Premier Inn or Travelodge you get a working TV and/or WiFi.

Reviewed by
Kenneth T

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent, high quality, friendly hotel
I travel as a female on business and really like this hotel, it beats a city centre noisy stay hands down. It is very peaceful set in lovely grounds for taking a walk in the evening. The staff are all very helpful and friendly and the food served in the Bar is excellent, with tables outside it's a lovely sun trap after a day at work (or sightseeing I guess). I used the spa for a facial and again this was as good as any top notch spa I have been to and the pool/sauna area was clean and welcoming.
I thought it was good value for money as I managed to get a good last minute deal through laterooms.com and will definitely book again.

Reviewed by
Jean J

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good
Well kept and quality hotel. Very good staff, check in was very efficient and welcoming. The bar staff were also particularly good, dealing with some challenging guests in a polite and friendly manner. Food in the bar was excellent, and the breakfast in the morning was of good quality with plenty of variety to choose from.
My only (personal opinion) comment on ways to improve is to maybe update the staff uniform, the scarf in the summer seemed a bit over the top. I know its Scotland and the weather might be chilly but it just looked a bit too formal and stuffy.

Reviewed by
P H

From Cheshire, England
Who stayed in July 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next