Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Scotland > Strathclyde > Glasgow > East Kilbride Hotels > Macdonald Crutherland House Hotel & Spa
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macdonald Crutherland House Hotel & Spa

4Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Strathaven Road East Kilbride, East Kilbride, G75 0QZ
Turning of the main road the quiet tree lined drive leads to 37 Acres of tranquil garden and woodlands. Located just 15 minutes from the heart of Glasgow surrounded by countryside, offering luxurious accommodation, excellent dining and total relaxation.

The original building, which now acts as the hub of the hotel, dates back to 1700 although it was not used as a hotel until 1964. With a superb function suite, luxurious bedrooms and excellent leisure and Spa facilities, Crutherland House is one of the finest and most luxurious hotels in the West of Scotland. Every one of the bedrooms has been designed and decorated with comfort in mind. Free wifi is available in all public areas, meetings rooms and guest rooms.

If you prefer privacy during your stay, you can select cuisine from the 24-hour room service menu. Macdonald Hotels has established an enviable reputation for their cuisine and The Crutherland House Hotel has helped to maintain that standard. The award winning chefs use prime fresh produce, locally bred or grown wherever possible and dishes that are mainly Scottish and continental, while the wines are specially selected to compliment whatever choice of food you make.To make your dining experience complete why not begin with a cocktail or aperitif in the elegant cocktail bar and, afterwards return to relax in the sofas and leather armchairs over coffee and a brandy, malt whisky, or whatever liqueur takes your fancy.

**Please note there will be a £3.00 charge for the use of credit/debit cards**
Picture of Macdonald Crutherland House Hotel & Spa, East Kilbride at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 78 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
76% recommended this accommodation to a friend 77% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

MacDonald Crutherland House Hotel is very sub standard
This hotel is not anything like it appears on the Internet site.
We found it to be a very out of date and shabby hotel lacking in the quality that its price appears to suggest.. In reality it was faded and uninspiring in all its common areas - which were all badly in need of an upgrade.
Worst of all was the restaurant - where food was served that defies description. They even managed to make a full Scottish breakfast inedible. We were most disappointed and could not eat the very stale bacon, the greasy eggs and the plate full of grease.
To cap it all the Hotel said we would not be charged for only one of the two breakfasts - but they were paid for on your website anyway - so we just left in disgust at the lovely setting in which 30 years ago a nice Hotel had been built - and then it had been run into the ground until today
We will never book a hotel again on your website without checking the whole thing out! This was the most expensive hotel you had to stay in in Glasgow - and it was the worst experience of our lives!
David Wellstead

Reviewed by
david wellstead

From Rowlands Gill, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great room but terrible food and service
The Checkin service was great and well explained and the room was lovely, the room service delivered one half of the order with no cutlery and when called regarding the missing half that also appeared with missing cutlery thus eating at different times.
Breakfast we were sat down an we watched as everyone else around was served tea/coffee and orders taken, after catching a waiter we ordered coffee and breakfast after 15 minutes, what arrived was cold and horrible looking breakfast minus things that were asked for also the toast arrived as the breakfast got colder and pushed to the side, thank god there was cereal.
Consider I eat almost anything it was severe let down after the room service fiasco and when I mentioned it I was informed the duty manager would call me, which never happened:-(
I have stayed here previously and it was perfect but I guess that's the joys of employing too many 16/17 year olds with insufficient training, really felt let down

Reviewed by
Thomas Craig Stewart

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Service
Staff were great - very friendly !

Reviewed by
Martin A

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor customer experience
The management at this hotel are disorganised and do not know how to deliver a good customer experience to its paying guests.
One of the worst places I have stayed in many years, would never go back.

Reviewed by
Jamie B

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay
Surprised that I managed to get this quality of hotel for the price paid, only one criticism I had the room next to the lift and not much of a view (air con units), apart from that very good, had excellent leisure facilities

Reviewed by
J Turner

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay
We stayed at this hotel for 2 night as we were at a family wedding on the Saturday. Very friendly staff, good breakfast and lovely setting. There are lots of spa facilities too which looked lovely. If you are looking for a wedding venue, this is a great day. We had the most perfect day and we would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
A Tickner

From Sandhurst, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very short break
Some areas in need of brightening up. Hot breakfast served as we were still eating our first course

Reviewed by
Graham D

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very relaxing stay at Crutherland Hotel. Lovely pool. Quiet & clean surroundings.

Reviewed by
Alexander B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, room & leisure facility
The only thing which took the edge off things was breakfast
Food overall was good & service too good. Before you have cereal etc you are asked for drinks(coffee/tea), toast & coooked food
The cooked food comes before you get coffee etc i.e. in <2 minutes
Learn from Carnoustie golf resort !!!!!!!

Reviewed by
MARK TINDALL

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight Business Trip
An excellent hotel, great value for money when booked through Laterooms.com, extremely professional and helpful staff - nothing was too much trouble for them, particularly in the restaurant. The food was excellent, a good selection, well presented and the service was attentive and frieindly whilst still maintaining a professional rapport. The room was spotless and very comfortable and my stary was, all in all, a very enjoyable experinece.

Reviewed by
L Cooper

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next