Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Scotland > Strathclyde > Glasgow > East Kilbride Hotels > Macdonald Crutherland House Hotel & Spa
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macdonald Crutherland House Hotel & Spa

4Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Strathaven Road East Kilbride, East Kilbride, G75 0QZ
Turning of the main road the quiet tree lined drive leads to 37 Acres of tranquil garden and woodlands. Located just 15 minutes from the heart of Glasgow surrounded by countryside, offering luxurious accommodation, excellent dining and total relaxation.

The original building, which now acts as the hub of the hotel, dates back to 1700 although it was not used as a hotel until 1964. With a superb function suite, luxurious bedrooms and excellent leisure and Spa facilities, Crutherland House is one of the finest and most luxurious hotels in the West of Scotland. Every one of the bedrooms has been designed and decorated with comfort in mind. Free wifi is available in all public areas, meetings rooms and guest rooms.

If you prefer privacy during your stay, you can select cuisine from the 24-hour room service menu. Macdonald Hotels has established an enviable reputation for their cuisine and The Crutherland House Hotel has helped to maintain that standard. The award winning chefs use prime fresh produce, locally bred or grown wherever possible and dishes that are mainly Scottish and continental, while the wines are specially selected to compliment whatever choice of food you make.To make your dining experience complete why not begin with a cocktail or aperitif in the elegant cocktail bar and, afterwards return to relax in the sofas and leather armchairs over coffee and a brandy, malt whisky, or whatever liqueur takes your fancy.

**Please note there will be a £3.00 charge for the use of credit/debit cards**
Picture of Macdonald Crutherland House Hotel & Spa, East Kilbride at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 80 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
76% recommended this accommodation to a friend 77% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Hotel and leisure facilities
I enjoyed the stay at this hotel. The leisure facilities were excellent. The only negative was that one of the restaurant staff was a bit off hand with me.

Reviewed by
Adrian F

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Macdonald Crutherland House Hotel & Spa
Great as ever, nice break

Reviewed by
Gordon Dewar-McKay

From Maidenhead, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent xmas break
The staff were friendly and attentive, the food was excellent, enjoyed our stay immensely would definitely visit again .

Reviewed by
john w

From Lancaster, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Flying visit
Only stayed 1 night as this was a short visit to Glasgow. Have stayed here before and rooms are of a very good standard. Unfortunately, my room was next door to a family who had brought their dog and I got fed up of listening to it yapping until 11pm

Reviewed by
Meryl C

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Traditional quality feel. Lovely setting
Great food traditional service with a homely welcome. A home from home. High quality feel . Friendly professional staff at just the right balance

Reviewed by
P Watson

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall acceptable for overnight stay with leisure facilities
Room was very cold on arrival - would have preferred a warm room and took a couple of hours to warm on turning heating on. Very cold during night so this room (No.3) definitely needed additional heater. Room adapted for disabled use so the sink was too low for my preference, but not a reason to complain. Overall acceptable

Reviewed by
Linda G

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointment with stay at MacDonald Crutherland
From the unengaging attitude of the man on reception when we first arrived to the still frozen scone cream tea, not to mention the room with no heating, I can honestly say we felt about as unwelcome at MacDonald Crutherland as it is possible to be. To say we are disappointed by the 2 night stay at £84 a night is an understatement. We were put in a room with no remote control and no heating, a man came to look at the heating and promised it would be back on when we returned from our night in Glasgow, of course this was not the case, next morning we were moved to another room which was lovely and had heating. In with our booking we had a cream tea this was served with a scone frozen in the middle, although when it was changed the scone, Jam and cream were lovely, and good coffee too. The saving graces for the Crutherland hotel were the swimming pool and the very nice young lady who apologised and booked us in to a much nicer room with heating. As for the gentleman who disdainfully looked at us and called at us over another couple "you can't book in until 3 and there is no room allocated for you", then turned to the couple he was shouting at us over and said "your room is allocated", well he set such a lovely tone for our stay so thank you to him. Michael Robinson

Reviewed by
carol r

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for Money
Put your visit into context booked via late rooms excellent rate, small room, food waited an age for delivery, breakfast excellent....leisure facilities , great value if working near by.....

Reviewed by
gary m

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff were friendly and helpful. Room clean.

Reviewed by
J Lewis

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reasonable hotel but terrible service
The hotel and room were quite acceptable. Nothing special but well maintained. Service however was the worst we've encountered for some time. Check-in receptionist was fine, but check-out hadn't got a clue. Waited 10 minutes to finally be told we had nothing to pay.
Food and drink service in the lounge was a joke. Breakfast service was so bad it was funny - three attempts to serve a cooked breakfast and on no occasion did we get what we ordered.
Some staff training is needed here!

Reviewed by
Ian F

From Skegness, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next