No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
St. John Street , Chester, CH1 1HL
Located in the heart of the vibrant historic city of Chester, the Macdonald Blossoms Hotel retains most of it's original victorian features, with a mix of period charm and modern luxury. Ideally located, the hotel is just a short stroll away from the famous shopping 'Rows' , scenic riverside, Cathedral and Roman City Walls.
The hotel restaurant produces freshly prepared British dishes and sources the finest ingredients for our menus. Booking in advance is recommended to guarantee availability.
Other attractions nearby include Chester racecourse, just a gentle 10 minute stroll through the vibrant streets of the city. Chester Zoo can also be reached by car or local bus for those wishing to venture outside the Centre.
Chester is famous for it's shopping experience and the famous Cheshire Oaks Outlet Village is also a short drive from the hotel. The hotel is also within easy reach of Chester Business Park, home to Bank of America, HBOS, M&S Money to name a few. Also the Industrial Parks of both Ellesmere Port and Deeside are easy to reach too.
Due to the hotel's central location, the nearest car park is the Grosvenor Shopping Centre Car Park - Post Code: CH1 1CA. The car park is open 24 hours a day and at the cost of £10.00 per 24 hours.
Picture of Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel, Chester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 66 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
74% recommended this accommodation to a friend 77% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel
Stay here for the weekend every year just prior to Christmas. Don't tend to eat breakfast as whilst it's good it's always too busy particularly on a Sunday. Will stay again but will try to avoid a room above the street as the noise from both the revellers at night and the street traders in the morning was too intrusive.

Reviewed by
K Perks

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

pre Christmas break.
Had a pre Christmas break. Lively hotel. Good food, room spacious and clean.
lounge bar very warm and inviting as was the cocktail menu! Thoroughly enjoyed it, central to Chester, and would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
Denise Locklin

From Bedford, England
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location but let down by noisy floor boards
We were in room 307 very noisy floor boards any time you took a step the floor board squeaked, the room had no view and the window was covered in mould.The hotel is in a great location right in the city center but parking is a problem. The staff were first class. The hotel breakfasts were very good.
Would we be back to this hotel yes but not to room 307.

Reviewed by
William Clark

From Carluke, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our stay at chester
Great location lovely oldie worldy hotel lovely breakfast and couldn't ask for much more did av bit of trouble finding carpark but other than that it was great there was a reduction on the parking over night and the next day was free which was good add a few more hrs in Chester didn't have to rush off

Reviewed by
G Thornton

From Bilston, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location - friendly helpful staff
Stayed at this hotel with my Mum who has limited mobility following knee replacement surgery. Had booked an accessible twin room, however did not have one immediately to suit - reception staff worked with us to provide best room and ensured that an additional bed was put in room and even remembered us the next day and asked us how the room was - friendly touch very welcome. Excellent central location - made it possible to return to hotel with bags during mammoth Christmas shopping expedition!!! Excellent value for money - breakfast beautiful and fresh with cheery staff. Will definitely stay again

Reviewed by
c smith

From Millom, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Xmas shopping break
Great location. Staff super welcoming, restaurant great, but sadly the extremely noisy bar playing very loud music below our room way into the early hours completely spoiled our nights sleep!

Reviewed by
Joanne W

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pleasant evening - once there !!
Finding the hotel was a night mare as I did not realise that we were parking in a shopping centre over night, If i had realised this then it would have saved us about 45 mins looking for the hotel carpark and hotel, Then traipsing through the centre of Chester with luggage was a a rather different experience, especially on the return as we left early on Sunday am, and the shopping centre was closed, so it was an experience finding the car again. However, once there the hotel was lovely, the extra touches were perfect, the room was very nice indeed, as were the staff. The only thing to say was the breakfast was only average when compared to the accommodation.

Reviewed by
sally e

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

New blossoms experience
I have stayed here before with my husband, but this time went along with a friend for a couple of days to do some shopping. The staff were all wonderful, very welcoming and attentive. The hotel was much the same as when I last visited a couple of years ago. I know it would benefit for redecoration in the reception area and a small open room near to the stairs. Some pictures and bright classic wallpaper would do the trick. Air conditioning would definitely be a bonus as I had to sleep with the window open
And it was too noisy. Apart from this we had a lovely stay and would certainly stay again.

Reviewed by
W Brown

From Northallerton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had a very enjoyable stay with excellent customer service provided by friendly staff. Location is perfect to explore all the sites and shopping that Chester has to offer.
Only down side of our 3 night stay was on the first night our room was located directly above a very loud wedding function whereby we not only heard but felt the beat!!! Perhaps the management could have put a member of the wedding party in our room and us elsewhere in the hotel.

Reviewed by
N Tipping

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Graduation
Really lovely hotel, receptionist very helpful and professional

Reviewed by
v poole

From Macclesfield, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next