No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
St. John Street , Chester, CH1 1HL
Located in the heart of the vibrant historic city of Chester, the Macdonald Blossoms Hotel retains most of it's original victorian features, with a mix of period charm and modern luxury. Ideally located, the hotel is just a short stroll away from the famous shopping 'Rows' , scenic riverside, Cathedral and Roman City Walls.
The hotel restaurant produces freshly prepared British dishes and sources the finest ingredients for our menus. Booking in advance is recommended to guarantee availability.
Other attractions nearby include Chester racecourse, just a gentle 10 minute stroll through the vibrant streets of the city. Chester Zoo can also be reached by car or local bus for those wishing to venture outside the Centre.
Chester is famous for it's shopping experience and the famous Cheshire Oaks Outlet Village is also a short drive from the hotel. The hotel is also within easy reach of Chester Business Park, home to Bank of America, HBOS, M&S Money to name a few. Also the Industrial Parks of both Ellesmere Port and Deeside are easy to reach too.
Due to the hotel's central location, the nearest car park is the Grosvenor Shopping Centre Car Park - Post Code: CH1 1CA. The car park is open 24 hours a day and at the cost of £10.00 per 24 hours.
Picture of Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel, Chester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 71 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
74% recommended this accommodation to a friend 77% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous Location Lovely Hotel.
A super place to stay in Chester, helpful and friendly staff, lovely rooms.

Reviewed by
A Byrne

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Let down by the restaurant staff and food
For a last minute booking the hotel itself was pleasant enough as I wasn't expecting too much... The room seemed clean enough however the view looking out on to the lower level roof left a lot to be desired and the lift would only allow you enough luggage for 2 nights max (very small indeed). My main grumble was with the 'over friendly' restaurant staff who attended us that evening. The restaurant was not very busy at all which may have afforded us extra attention however, the young man reached out and touched my arm when agreeing to fetch some condiments and when he delivered my 'hot' chocolate fudge cake after giving it a 2nd blast in the microwave appeared to hover with antripidation as he said "wouldn't it be ironic if you burnt your mouth on if now?". On top of this it became apparent that there was a lack of communication with the waiting on staff as my travelling partner was quizzed about paying as we were leaving the restaurant as the young lady had 'just started her shift'. To summarise... Cheap hotel handy for shopping and bars, definitely eat out!

Reviewed by
Michelle L

From Southport, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
Fantastic service. Lovely receptionists. Would definitely return

Reviewed by
Sarah H

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location for weekend city break
Ideally positioned for the City Centre and first impressions of the hotel met expectations. Great customer service and room allocation was nice and quiet. Have to be honest though the bathroom was arguably the smallest I have ever set foot in and had we been on the larger side literally would not have been able to manage. This was not a deal breaker though and I would stay here again but would request not to stay in the same room.

Reviewed by
Alison Y

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bates Motel
So upon entering the hotel and being barely greeted we made our way to the 'executive Double' this was a special evening for my fiance and the huge executive double bed in the picture was in actual fact 2 single bed unsecured pushed together with a double quilt thrown over - I spent half the night trying not to fall down the gap in the middle! Not really what you would expect for £120 per night ... There was chewing gum stuck to the underside of the bedside table which I found when placing my glasses on the side... a dusty bathroom, bits on the carpet and quite frankly the breakfast which was 2 cold sausages and some powdered eggs leaves little to rave about ... disappointed to say the least and my complaint to the GM Steve Burley, the next day was not met with a solution, the offer of a discount or god forbid a refund but an arrogant half hearted apology and then he ignored my response... Macdonalds hotels are joke

Reviewed by
M Nield

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very happy
We enjoyed our stay. Staff very pleasant. Hotel clean & tidy. Would definatley use again & recommend to others.

Reviewed by
Tracey H

From Rhyl, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing short break
This short stay was booked following a busy Christmas.. On our arrival the staff were very welcoming and soon had us settled into our room which overlooked the cobbled street. Very picturesque as the Christmas lights were still lit. The room was very spacious with a large ensuite showeroom. We dined the restaurant in the evening and although the hotel hadn't had a meat or fish delivery the staff were still able to provide an excellent meal. Very enjoyable stay with a definite return visit to be planned I'm the near future.

Reviewed by
Sarah Cartlidge

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Christmas Stay at Blossoms
Enjoyed the stay - staff very friendly comfortable room which was quite spacious for a standard double.

Reviewed by
Dorothy Spooner

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice & luxurious
Hotel staff were very polite and helpful, spoke to us about us didn't seem forced was very genuine.

Reviewed by
Michael C

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel
Stay here for the weekend every year just prior to Christmas. Don't tend to eat breakfast as whilst it's good it's always too busy particularly on a Sunday. Will stay again but will try to avoid a room above the street as the noise from both the revellers at night and the street traders in the morning was too intrusive.

Reviewed by
K Perks

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next