No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Castle Hotel- Dublin City Centre

Gardiner Row/Great Denmark St , Dublin, Dublin 1
The Castle Hotel is an elegant and spacious Georgian hotel located in Dublin City Centre, close to O'Connell St, Croke Park, Temple Bar and all major tourist attractions.

Recently renovated the hotel still retains many of its original Georgian features, such as a splendid period staircases, original plasterwork, striking antique mirrors and crystal chandeliers.

All of our rooms are en-suite and tastefully decorated and furnished to a high standard to offer both comfort and style.and provide conveniences such as Tea and Coffee Facilities, Direct Dial telephone, hairdryer and Complimentary Wi-Fi. We have an elegant and welcoming main reception area with beautiful annex reception rooms which are steeped in sophisticated Georgian style for you to relax in.

The Bar & Restaurant "The Castle Vaults" has a relaxed and cosy atmosphere, combining all the amenities of a modern bar with the ambiance of old world charm and has exposed stonework that has been in place for the past 200 years. It offers a variety of menus to suit all tastes and, it hosts a Live Traditional Irish Music Band every Thursday Friday and Saturday and Sunday Nights(Summer Months) and Friday and Saturday Nights (Rest of the Year)

The hotel has it's own private car park and is convenient to Dublin International Airport, ferry terminals, and rail stations.
Picture of Castle Hotel-  Dublin City Centre, Dublin at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 91 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It was ok, but it was noisey
A warm welcome when I arrived, Breakfast was only between 8-10pm
I had to check out early 7am, I could not get breakfast at this time. The room was on the main street so there was a lot of traffic noise. I was woken up by people coming back at 3am and leaving in the early hours.

Reviewed by
Lee H

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location close to the city, good value compared to other hotels at this time of year (st.patricks day). Staff very helpful, good size rooms and clean. Will stay again.

Reviewed by
M Leather

From Southport, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great service
Our first room was a little noisy, overlooking the road, however, the staff were great, changing us to an alternative room with no fuss at all. I'd certainly stay again.

Reviewed by
Greville W

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wife free weekend for the boys in Dublin
Lets face it this is not the shelbourne but at €99 bed and breakfast it was great value. The staff however, receptionists in particular, were all professional and charming and would not be out of place in the most exclusive establishments. The folk music in the bar was a nice touch as was the olde world feel to the public rooms.

Reviewed by
Robert Torrens

From Bangor, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we really enjoyed our stay in the castle hotel very relaxing and easy excess. this was our second time staying here and found no issues to report at all. (staff very friendly)

dont leave the windows open though (the noise from the Sea Gulls screaming outside )

Reviewed by
Brendan Doyle

From Carrickmacross, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel, good staff, lovely atmosphere and ideal location.
A bit on the expensive side, but would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
E Burke

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great experience
Lovely hotel really helpful staff, the location is good as its a ten minute walk from the city centre and attractions. The food is really good and evening entertainment was excellent.

Reviewed by
T Marquis

From Guernsey, England
Who stayed in February 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great location with parking
we really enjoyed our stay in a spacious family room. the breakfast was good and the bar great at night with live music. being a private hotel they really give the impression of trying to make your stay as good as possible. the owner introduced himself at breakfast. my only gripe was that the beds were very hard so didnt get the best nights sleep, but all in all a great place for a weekend visit.
we would certainly come again.

Reviewed by
C Egan

From Kilkenny, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in January 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Castle Hotel offers comfortable, clean accommodation situated minutes walk from the city centre.
It is also a short journey from the airport.
The staff are friendly and helpful, I will certainly return for future Dublin trips.

Reviewed by
Eamonn Moran

From Burton on Trent, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

If you want to find an hotel with character and maybe a few ghosts then this is the place to say.
The Castle Hotel is situated in Gardiner Row and is a place full of atmosphere and Georgian Dublin charm.
A good place to visit is the Museum of Literature which is just across the road from the Castle Hotel. Here you will find many of the artifacts of the great writers, so a big thank you to the Gorham family for this museum. Mind you I did expect to see some writings from Phil Lynott in this museum, oh well maybe this will happen in the future!
From your hotel you will be able to visit many interesting areas of Dublin such as Temple Bar and the Button Factory, this is of course if you are attending the Philo Vibe which takes place around the 4th January to celebrate the music of Phil Lynott and Thin Lizzy.
The heart of Dublin is full of spirit so three other areas to visit are the Guinness Museum, The Jameson Museum and having tea at the Greasham should also be on on your list of things to do and the rest of your sight seeing is up to you.
The hotel is situated in two parts the old and the newer areas
I am so pleased that I chose this hotel, or did I? Nevertheless the Castle hotel is a wonderful place to stay and the staff are all so gracious and helpful. I would like to say thank you to the receptionists, firstly for helping me to get the lock of my case when I arrived and also the next day when my Tablet machine jammed. Andy is charming and very helpful and I am still amazed how he managed to run the bar and serve the meals in such a quick time, some how I never seemed to be lat for the concerts at the Button Factory. Carol and the waitresses were lovely and I really enjoyed sharing my stories with you and I think you are amazing the way you were not fazed when the trays of glasses and cups got broken.
If you need a taxi for your flight home the hotel will call for one and you will be charged a very reasonable price and you will know that you are in good hands.
I really cannot say any more about this wonderful hotel, except a big thank you from the lady with the flowers in her hair.

Reviewed by
Caroline Clarkson Drake

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next