No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Castle Hotel- Dublin City Centre

Gardiner Row/Great Denmark St , Dublin, Dublin 1
The Castle Hotel is an elegant and spacious Georgian hotel located in Dublin City Centre, close to O'Connell St, Croke Park, Temple Bar and all major tourist attractions.

Recently renovated the hotel still retains many of its original Georgian features, such as a splendid period staircases, original plasterwork, striking antique mirrors and crystal chandeliers.

All of our rooms are en-suite and tastefully decorated and furnished to a high standard to offer both comfort and style.and provide conveniences such as Tea and Coffee Facilities, Direct Dial telephone, hairdryer and Complimentary Wi-Fi. We have an elegant and welcoming main reception area with beautiful annex reception rooms which are steeped in sophisticated Georgian style for you to relax in.

The Bar & Restaurant "The Castle Vaults" has a relaxed and cosy atmosphere, combining all the amenities of a modern bar with the ambiance of old world charm and has exposed stonework that has been in place for the past 200 years. It offers a variety of menus to suit all tastes and, it hosts a Live Traditional Irish Music Band every Thursday Friday and Saturday and Sunday Nights(Summer Months) and Friday and Saturday Nights (Rest of the Year)

The hotel has it's own private car park and is convenient to Dublin International Airport, ferry terminals, and rail stations.
Picture of Castle Hotel-  Dublin City Centre, Dublin at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 94 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel is in an ideal location for city centre. The Staff were extremely friendly. The food in the hotel was fantastic! The best 3 course meal I've had in a while! The rooms are clean. We Would definitely return again.

Reviewed by
Val F

From Moreton in Marsh, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Castle Hotel, Dublin
Very convenient and central to O'Connell street. Friendly reception staff. Good cooked breakfast...but a bit short of crockery the morning we stayed. Rooms very clean and excellent bath room. Although city centre and bank hoiday weekend, quiet enough or a good night's sleep.

Reviewed by
Alan O'Rourke

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stopover before travelling to Kenmare
Stayed overnight twice. First visit room was shabby and the standard of cleanliness was appalling. Thought we'd give it a second chance as we had booked for both dates. On the second visit the cleanliness had improved but that room was even shabbier - no plug in the bath and the taps didnt work but at least the shower did. Would not stop there again!

Reviewed by
W Riggs

From Spalding, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Castle Hotel
We are two friends visiting from Australia, based in Essex during our stay. We have travelled around the UK staying in different accommodations. We found the Castle a good place to stay, close to all amenities and sight seeing tours. The accommodations were clean and the bed comfortable. Very friendly staff who made us feel very welcome. We would recommend the castle to anyone visiting Dublin

Reviewed by
Eileen Litherland

From ESSEX, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

pleasently surprised
Plesently suprised as some very mixed reveiws ..recepetion staff very helpfull and cheery , our bedroom was on floor 1 it was easy found as the hotel is a tad quirky ...we nd to remember this was once an old house so there is narrow corridors sqeaky floors etc it all adds to it ..its in a good location and all attractions easly walked to ,
The only thing on the down side was the tv is to high on the wall difficult to c a clear picture but thats me being picking.i wasnt in dublin to watch tv. We had no issues with noise whatsoever considering it was packed as there were 2 big concerts on that wkend .the vault bar was great crac beneath the hotel , bar staff very friendly

Reviewed by
c vance

From Antrim, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent for a short break
Excellent hotel not far from all the tourist hot spots, but enough out of the way so it's quiet. Stayed in Room 304, which was lost among the maze of rooms - great fun finding it the first time. Only had breakfast, which was good. Would definitely stay again. Use the 'Hop on, hop off ' tour buses as they have 2 day tickets and travel all over the main sights of Dublin.

Reviewed by
Carol W

From Shefford, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location

Reviewed by
Redmond Berson

From Bassendean, Australia
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shabby but not chic
Was shocked on first entering the hotel because other than the front door it barely resembled the pictures on the website. the actual hotel was tired, worn and even dirty. The rooms were below standard with old, grubby and falling apart furniture. Although upgrades were available for an extra fee. We had to plug the kettle in on the floor across the room because the socket by the dresser didn't work. There was no temperature control in the room other than opening the window.
The breakfast was chaotic with one toaster for 50 people and the produce a very poor quality. After the first morning we ate at a wonderful little café on the corner of the street even though our breakfast was included in the room price. Loved Dublin but will be staying at a different hotel next time.

Reviewed by
Jacqui B

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel was unlike the pictures on the internet, although rooms were very basic and a bit dated they were clean. The heating was full on in the rooms even though it was late May and it was necessary to keep the window open even though it was very noisy from the traffic. Downstairs upon entering the hotel there always seemed to be a strong smell of cooking fat which was quite unpleasant!! The service in the restaurant seemed very disorganised and chaotic and on one morning after waiting quite some time after our order had been taken we noticed that several guests who had arrived after us had been served before us, although our food was then brought to our table immediately once we had brought this to the waitresses attention. However in my opinion the food was tasteless and dried up.

Reviewed by
J Gough

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

3 day stay
very nice stay its a typical Victorian hotel bit creaky in places floorboards make a lot of noise room was lovely and food was excellent

Reviewed by
keith williams

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next