Castle Hotel- Dublin City Centre

3

Gardiner Row/Great Denmark St, Dublin, Dublin 1

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (87)

78% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Cathryn N

  • November 2014

Castle Hotel- Dublin City Centre

No working radiator in the room, so had to have portable heater (health and safety?), no heating at all in bathroom - v.v.

cold. Old single glazed windows that let draughts and noise in. Thin curtains that let street lights in so it was like trying to sleep with the lights on!

  • shirley W

  • October 2014

Friendly hotel with all the basics you need for a short stay.

Very friendly owner who was keen to talk to customers.

  • H Clark

  • October 2014

lovely hotel, just 5 miutes from centre.

The room was very clean, good size.

Overall customer service was great, staff were very helpful even helping us carry our bags to our room. Was a little let down by the staff who served our breakfast on the first day, but the food was lovely, very accommodating to our dietrary needs. Would recommend this hotel to people and would definitely use again, great value for money.

  • george cunningham

  • October 2014

Great hotel centrally located for easy access to city....Nightly entertainment was first class with a great atmosphere

  • J Keeney

  • October 2014

Super Location Beautiful Decor

We had a great stay, rooms were very clean and well appointed.

The lobby, restaurant and all common areas were beautifully decorated featuring many antiques. Staff was helpful and friendly. A super deal and a fantastic stay!

  • Glynis G

  • September 2014

Great location

This hotel is in an excellent location to Dublin City Centre.

It is just at the top of O'Connell Street therefore within walking distance to all the main tourist attractions. I had never been to Dublin before so this was ideal.

My trip was tarnished as I got my wallet stole but the hotel staff were fantastic in helping me sort everything out.

  • Philip Talbot

  • September 2014

Soundproofing of room very poor and next door conversations were a distraction.

  • Nicholas G

  • August 2014

Warm welcome from friendly staff.

Room very much in need of an upgrade. Central location.

  • richard Ripper

  • July 2014

An old-fashioned comfortable friendly hotel

Our room was comfortable but lacked ventilation and therefore too warm.

The shower was within the bath, and had no handholds so slightly difficult for elderly and unsteady customers. Food - breakfast was adequate but lacked enough fruit. Dinner was satisfactory but not exceptional. Staff were friendly and helpful. Luggage storage facilities were appreciated.

  • Lewis P

  • July 2014

bit of a let down

Booked through late rooms.

Could of had slightly cheaper through another hotel search engine, but I trust using late rooms and prefer to stick to what I know. So about the hotel... We had booked a double room at the Castle Hotel in Dublin for 3 nights. We was told by the receptionist it had come through as a twin, and that everything else was booked up. So we was forced to sleep apart for the first night (not exactly romantic but it was either that or fight between single blankets and fall down the middle gap). We was then moved into a bigger double room for the 2nd and 3rd night stay. Which was inconvenient as we couldn't unpack until then. They gave us a free drink at the bar as an apology. The new room had a broken chair, to which amused my partner watching me fall over. The curtain hoops/hooks were half pulled off. The shower plug was blocked up, so started to overflow after being left to run more then 5 minutes. And it was extremely loud with traffic and the pedestrian light crossing sounds (not sure if it's just Ireland's ones that make this specific noise, but sounds like a futuristic laser gun). All this being said the staff are really nice, especially the bar and breakfast staff. We enjoyed the food, and we had a full cooked breakfast which was included in the price. The location was also really convenient to the tour busses, restaurants, nightlife and shopping. Would I stay there again. Probably not, since there are hundreds of others to chose from. And we could probably find better booking in advance. I am sure others would not agree with this review, but for me, my stay was a little bit of a let down...