No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Castle Hotel- Dublin City Centre

Gardiner Row/Great Denmark St , Dublin, Dublin 1
The Castle Hotel is an elegant and spacious Georgian hotel located in Dublin City Centre, close to O'Connell St, Croke Park, Temple Bar and all major tourist attractions.

Recently renovated the hotel still retains many of its original Georgian features, such as a splendid period staircases, original plasterwork, striking antique mirrors and crystal chandeliers.

All of our rooms are en-suite and tastefully decorated and furnished to a high standard to offer both comfort and style.and provide conveniences such as Tea and Coffee Facilities, Direct Dial telephone, hairdryer and Complimentary Wi-Fi. We have an elegant and welcoming main reception area with beautiful annex reception rooms which are steeped in sophisticated Georgian style for you to relax in.

The Bar & Restaurant "The Castle Vaults" has a relaxed and cosy atmosphere, combining all the amenities of a modern bar with the ambiance of old world charm and has exposed stonework that has been in place for the past 200 years. It offers a variety of menus to suit all tastes and, it hosts a Live Traditional Irish Music Band every Thursday Friday and Saturday and Sunday Nights(Summer Months) and Friday and Saturday Nights (Rest of the Year)

The hotel has it's own private car park and is convenient to Dublin International Airport, ferry terminals, and rail stations.
Picture of Castle Hotel-  Dublin City Centre, Dublin at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 94 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Friendly staff, excellent location, good food and good entertainment

Reviewed by
Helen Sanders

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay. Thank you

Reviewed by
Julie H

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Maybe put a chair against your door?
Quite simply the worst hotel experience of my life.
At 9.30 on the first night of our visit, our children were asleep in the room and my wife and i were sitting reading in bed, when we heard a key turn in the lock and the owner of the hotel opened the door of the room. I called out in shock and surprise, he closed the door and moved back out into the hall. I followed him out an he made a half-hearted apology. He was with a group of other people, in the hallway who seemed to find it all rather amusing.
The following morning I told the receptionist we were leaving, and would require a refund on the remaining nights. (Like many bad hotels, they ask for payment up-front.) I was told that the owner was refusing to give a refund. I tweeted about the experience and was offered a room by another hotel - a good one.
Fortunately the duty manager was a pleasant and rational human being and agreed to give us a refund. We were about to leave - very happily - when the owner came to see us. He sought to justify his appearance at our door as a "room check". He started talking about letters from his lawyers. He denied that a refund had been refused. His manner was self-pitying, bullying, and finally aggressive. He bundled us - me, my wife and two small children - out of the hotel. We went straight down to the tourist office to make a formal complaint about him.
I would strongly advise anybody to avoid this hotel like the plague. Working here must be rather like working at Fawlty Towers - except that underneath it all, Basil Fawlty is quite a likeable character.

Reviewed by
Matthew S

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quirky hotel in a great location
Just spent a great couple of days in Dublin. Chose this hotel because it was very reasonably priced yet in a great location. We had a lovely greeting on arrival and even though it was well before check in our room was ready. This is not a modern 5 star hotel with all mod cons - for us it was far more interesting. It has a winding staircase with creaky floorboards and some great original features and ornaments.
Our room was adequately sized as we were hardly in it and very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was a relaxed affair with no-one rushing you out when you had finished.
The staff were absolutely lovely from arrival to departure. We would stay here again without a doubt.

Reviewed by
Joanne L

From Dudley, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wouldn't like to see the gas bill
Found the hotel to be very nice but found it extremely difficult to sleep due to the heating been too high temperature, this being despite the radiator been turned off in our room and both windows wide open all through the night.on looking out of the window I noticed every other room windows were open as well

Reviewed by
A Williams

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dissatiffied
We booked a DOUBLE Room, and requested Blankets and Sheets instead of a Douvet.
Went to our room only to find 2 single Beds ,Dressed as 2 single beds with douvets . When we complained we were told "the blankets are in the wardrobe Ill send up a sheet.
So we had to remake the beds and my husband had to get down on his knees and join the 2 beds together with the clips.
When we arrived at the front desk before we even got to see our room we were asked to pay in advance for our stay .., Which we will never do again. The heat in the hotel was oppressive.

Reviewed by
Mary S

From Thurles, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely!
I stayed here over New years and will 10000% be returning back. The breakfast was beautiful. Very friendly staff.

Reviewed by
michelle c

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Castle Hotel
An excellent hotel with very friendly staff and the room was first rate.
I only wished there was more TV channels.

Reviewed by
K Bertram

From North Shields, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quirky and basic but very friendly
Busy hotel. Quirky and charming building. Excellent location as very central.
Shower didn't work well at all and curtains stained and dirty. That being said the bed was comfy and clean. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
Old world charm..... you'll either love it or hate it.

Reviewed by
Jeff T

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel was fine for what we paid, great location, but rooms very dated, needed painting etc. Staff very nice and friendly

Reviewed by
L Brown

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next