No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Castle Hotel- Dublin City Centre

Gardiner Row/Great Denmark St , Dublin, Dublin 1
The Castle Hotel is an elegant and spacious Georgian hotel located in Dublin City Centre, close to O'Connell St, Croke Park, Temple Bar and all major tourist attractions.

Recently renovated the hotel still retains many of its original Georgian features, such as a splendid period staircases, original plasterwork, striking antique mirrors and crystal chandeliers.

All of our rooms are en-suite and tastefully decorated and furnished to a high standard to offer both comfort and style.and provide conveniences such as Tea and Coffee Facilities, Direct Dial telephone, hairdryer and Complimentary Wi-Fi. We have an elegant and welcoming main reception area with beautiful annex reception rooms which are steeped in sophisticated Georgian style for you to relax in.

The Bar & Restaurant "The Castle Vaults" has a relaxed and cosy atmosphere, combining all the amenities of a modern bar with the ambiance of old world charm and has exposed stonework that has been in place for the past 200 years. It offers a variety of menus to suit all tastes and, it hosts a Live Traditional Irish Music Band every Thursday Friday and Saturday and Sunday Nights(Summer Months) and Friday and Saturday Nights (Rest of the Year)

The hotel has it's own private car park and is convenient to Dublin International Airport, ferry terminals, and rail stations.
Picture of Castle Hotel-  Dublin City Centre, Dublin at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 92 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dissatiffied
We booked a DOUBLE Room, and requested Blankets and Sheets instead of a Douvet.
Went to our room only to find 2 single Beds ,Dressed as 2 single beds with douvets . When we complained we were told "the blankets are in the wardrobe Ill send up a sheet.
So we had to remake the beds and my husband had to get down on his knees and join the 2 beds together with the clips.
When we arrived at the front desk before we even got to see our room we were asked to pay in advance for our stay .., Which we will never do again. The heat in the hotel was oppressive.

Reviewed by
Mary S

From Thurles, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wouldn't like to see the gas bill
Found the hotel to be very nice but found it extremely difficult to sleep due to the heating been too high temperature, this being despite the radiator been turned off in our room and both windows wide open all through the night.on looking out of the window I noticed every other room windows were open as well

Reviewed by
A Williams

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely!
I stayed here over New years and will 10000% be returning back. The breakfast was beautiful. Very friendly staff.

Reviewed by
michelle c

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Castle Hotel
An excellent hotel with very friendly staff and the room was first rate.
I only wished there was more TV channels.

Reviewed by
K Bertram

From North Shields, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quirky and basic but very friendly
Busy hotel. Quirky and charming building. Excellent location as very central.
Shower didn't work well at all and curtains stained and dirty. That being said the bed was comfy and clean. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
Old world charm..... you'll either love it or hate it.

Reviewed by
Jeff T

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel was fine for what we paid, great location, but rooms very dated, needed painting etc. Staff very nice and friendly

Reviewed by
L Brown

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A weekend stay for 5 for a reunion
The hotel was excellent value in an expensive city like Dublin. Although probably a coincidence we met the owner on arrival who was very friendly and cheerful and engaged us with the history of the place for around half an hour. The rest of the staff were also very friendly and helpful. One of the most pleasant stays we have had anywhere.

Reviewed by
J Cumbes

From Altrincham, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly and helpful staff. 1st time been in this hotel and I would most certainly recommend it
When we 1st arrived the staff on the desk were friendly, telling us about the entertainment that was on in the hotel. We really enjoyed it. Food was served whenever anyone wanted to eat and the staff again couldn't do enough for you. The room was clean and the beds really comfortable. Great variety for breakfast. Would certainly recommend this hotel -

Reviewed by
Heather M

From Dunfermline, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Will stay again when visiting Dublin
Friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are a little small but clean and well maintained. Free WiFi is a bonus. Decent place to stay and within walking distance to city centre.

Reviewed by
R REDDY

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fun in Dublin
A well placed convenient hotel. Very useful for a weekend break very close to Centre of Town but also with its own bar but not too noisy. Worth a visit

Reviewed by
Janet H

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next