Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > Troon Hotels > Marine Hotel - The Hotel Collection
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Marine Hotel - The Hotel Collection

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
8 Crosbie Road , Troon, KA10 6HE
Set on the beautiful Ayrshire coast looking out to the romantic Isle of Arran- only 30 minutes from the cultural city of Glagow.

The Marine Hotel is a grand building that conjures up images of Scotland.

The hotel is only five minutes from Prestwick Airport and the Ferry Terminal to Northern Ireland is only one mile away.

The Hotel overlooks the Royal Troon Golf Course.
Picture of Marine Hotel - The Hotel Collection, Troon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 17 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location
Excellent location, great view over to the island of Arran , friendly staff ,super service.
Troon is a ten minute walk away for bars and restaurant or twenty five minute stroll along the sea front to Preswick.

Reviewed by
Keith P

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one night stay
just stopped one night as a stop over, found the staff friendly and helpful,room was clean and had everything i needed, great sea view over golf course,we ate in bar meal was ok drinks a bit pricey restraunt looks better.great place to stay

Reviewed by
S Woods

From Blyth, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not just for golfers
Arrived on a wet afternoon and although the room was not ready as we arrived early, we found a coat corner on the lounge and relaxed a while with a welcoming drink.
Duly picked up our room key and was pleasantly surprised by the size, decor and stunning view to Royal Troon links.
Our room had a plaque outside for Peter Oosterhuis runner up when the Open was played there.
Breakfast in the morning at a lovely window table with a view over the golf course to the sea. Excellent Scottish breakfast set us up for our long drive back to Essex

Reviewed by
G Toal

From Rayleigh, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel and location
Had a great room with really comfy bed wished we were staying longer so we could have enjoyed it more.

Reviewed by
M Reid

From Perth, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review of Marine Hotel
I was excited to return to Troon with a friend, having grown up in the town and spent many a happy time in the swimming pool and squash courts as a child. I have to say, although all staff were very friendly and professional, I found the hotel and particularly the health club to be very tired. The swimming pool changing rooms were scruffy and not clean as was the bottom of the jacuzzi which was really grubby. The pool was lovely but the entrance area outside the squash courts was not inviting and looked like a storage cupboard - not what I remember or expect. We ordered room service and although the staff were friendly - it took 3 visits to our room before the order was what we asked. I think the service and staff were really lovely, but the rest of the hotel could do with a bit of work. It's a beautiful place and could be a really lovely destination weekend break - but, until the hotel and club are smartened up, I wouldn't recommend it. Great staff though - so thank you very much for looking after us so well.

Reviewed by
adrienne ferguson

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Found the hotel and excellent base to see more of Ayrshire. The hotel was lovely and the staff very friendly. The self service breakfast had a vast amount to choose from and the service friendly and quick - if you get the chance have breakfast in the conservatory, the view is stunning. Our room was clean but a bit on the small side and would have benefited from a set of drawers.

Reviewed by
David O

From BELLSHILL, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic hotel

Reviewed by
A Carlisle

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fantastic!
A brilliant stay from start to finish. Lovely staff, beautiful setting and a fantastic meal. Food was the quality you would expect from the two fat ladies. Lazed about the pool late afternoon which was lovely too. Breakfast was great, though staff were rushed off their feet in the morning. Will definitely recommend.

Reviewed by
Amy M

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short Stay in Christmas Week
While my schedule only allowed me to stay for one night at the hotel, it was one of the best experiences I've had in over 50 years of business and leisure travel. The staff were efficient and friendly, the accommodation was top notch and the food both in the bar and in the restaurant were fully up to the calibre I expected. Given that the weather was the foulest in the entire week of travel in England and Scotland, the stay at the Marine was definitely a bright spot. I intend to go back and spend more time there.

Reviewed by
Gordon M

From Burnham on Crouch, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff were all friendly and helpful. All areas of the hotel were very clean. We enjoyed our food in the restaurant. The bathroom was in need of a little repair. The only disappointment was we were not able to use the swimming pool when we wanted as there were swimming classes.

Reviewed by
G Riddoch

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next