No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Hillcrest Hotel - a Corus hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
75 Cronton Lane, Widnes, WA8 9AR
The Hillcrest Hotel is situated close to Chester, Manchester and within easy reach of Liverpool and Liverpool Airport. Our modern hotel is in a rural setting with easy access to the M6, M57 and M62.
The Hillcrest hotel is ideally located for overnight stops, for those en-route to the Lake District or the South of England as it is close to all motorway networks.
The hotel has a friendly and welcoming atmosphere. With three meeting and event rooms, the Hillcrest is a popular choice for weddings, conferences and functions as it is licensed to hold civil wedding ceremonies. The hotel has free WiFi throughout.
Nelsons bar, a traditional oak beamed pub, serves a wide range of drinks in a nautical setting and is a popular venue with locals.

Cu restaurant at the Hillcrest Hotel, has experienced a sympathetic refurbishment, giving it a stylish and comfortable appearance to our restaurant.

The restaurant name ‘Cu’ is derived from the chemical element for copper, this metal is extensively used within the restaurant, adding to the contempary yet warming feel.

Our philosophy is simple: ‘Welcome guests as friends, serve inspiring food and always exceed expectations.’

Picture of The Hillcrest Hotel - a Corus hotel, Widnes at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 54 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
63% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel
We stopped before an early flight, room very clean and comfortable

Reviewed by
Julie A

From Kendal, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Adequate
We only stayed one night but had a lunchtime snack and breakfast, where the food was of an excellent quality.Our room was comfortable enough and the bathroom was adequate if a little 'tired'
My wife requested a glass of Cava, which was served in a wine glass rather than a flute and it was flat, she wasn't offered an alternative, which was dissappointing

Reviewed by
P Roberts

From Ilkley, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely and friendly hotel. Would recommend to all.

Reviewed by
g thompson

From Lancaster, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Surprisingly good hotel, handy for the M62, m57
A pleasant, friendly and very handy hotel, great for the M62 and the M57 this hotel is well run, nice friendly staff, very welcoming and accommodating, nothing was too much trouble!! The room was lovely, quiet at the back of the hotel over looking some sports fields. The room was well furnished and very clean, bed was comfy and the room a nice temperature. I don't know how the facilities were as i didnt use. Would recommend and will use again .

Reviewed by
LAURAINE J

From Widnes, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay Away!
Stayed at room 7 for one night. On first inspection it looked a little tatty and dated but for £50 I thought it seemed ok. Everything needs updating. The tap on the bath came off in my hand. The service in the bar was appalling. I ordered a meal by the bar, waited 50 minutes and still nothing (it wasn't busy at all, hardly anyone there). I asked by the bar and he said he'd check. I saw him walk backwards and forwards through the bar – but didn't come back to me, I was at my table. Later on; at just after 7, I asked another lady who popped in. She went to check in the kitchen. She said to me "Are you sure you ordered at 6pm – there's only two checks on in the kitchen". I sort of looked a little blank at her and asked her if she would like to see my receipt. She said that she would check again. She went to ask the young man behind the bar and came back and informed me that the check hadn't been taken through to the kitchen by the person who took the order and that he had left it in the book. Not really in an apologetic way – but more of in a frustrated way. She then brought the food to me a few minutes later – excellent!! I was very hungry, I'd driven a long time and had waited for 1hr 15minutes. (There was only one other table eating there).
When the food arrived, the fish was very small and clearly a frozen ready meal type. Also the chips were frozen. I didn't think much of it. I was really hungry and thought – I'll just eat it quietly. Then the table behind me called the young man behind the bar over and said to him that their food was awful and they refused to eat it. They were advertising "Hand cut chips" and they were clearly frozen. - Overhearing all of this I thought – I'll have a look at the menu again – and yes, you are advertising them as hand cut chips. To be honest the quality of the meal was poor and not worth £7.95, and also mis-sold if you look at it in that way.
To finish off I ordered a coffee. I had to pay with a card as I had no cash with me. The young man made the coffee in a very large mug (more like a small soup bowl). It was about half-three quarter full. I didn't really mind. But the guy standing next to me said "That's half full". I just laughed and shrug my shoulders and drank it quietly. Also, another little pointer, the server just said to me – "pop your card in and enter your pin". I said well how much is it?!?! And he said "ohh sorry, £1.95".
To finish everything off my room was right next to the main road (which isn't in any marketing photos). Fair enough, I completely understand that that isn't something that you can really do anything about – apart from maybe upgrading the windows – but the traffic kept me awake all night.
The service I received at the bar wasn't satisfactory for a hotel of that standard, and to be honest neither was the quality of the food. The young man serving behind the bar was literally running backwards and forwards through the doors into reception all the time. He did apologise to me "sorry about your food" when I was ordering my coffee by the bar, but he didn't come upto me to explain what had happened – instead he took the check into the kitchen himself and hoping the problem would just go away – instead of coming up to me and saying. "I'm really sorry, there's been a mixup on our behalf – your food won't be long". Because he didn't do that – I had to involve another member of staff. It just felt very impersonal and that they really didn’t care to be honest. The lady didn't come back upto me to ask if my meal was ok or anything either – or clear the table.
I tried emailing the hotel to let them know about my experience - they didn't reply

Reviewed by
ALED E

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Paid for breakfast via late rooms, hotel did not have this down. Shown them the confirmation email and still said no to serving us breakfast, lost £30+ because of this. Disgusted with the customer service.

Reviewed by
C Wilde

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great staff

Reviewed by
O Edri

From Israel
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall a good hotel with very friendly staff and I would definitely use it again.

Reviewed by
Chris Jones

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I really enjoyed my stay

Reviewed by
D Walker

From Redcar, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff were friendly and accommodation was clean
Staff were friendly and accommodation was clean and more than adequate for our needs.

Reviewed by
S Jones

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next