You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Hillcrest Hotel - a Corus hotel


75 Cronton Lane, Widnes, WA8 9AR

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (20)

70% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Chris H

  • October 2016

The Hillcrest Hotel - a Corus hotel

Had a great night stayed in suite would stay again.

  • Stephany G

  • September 2016

Good hotel but be aware

Nice hotel but seriously understaffed.

Our room looked clean but the bed skirt had white stains, wouldn't want to guess what they were. It was clearly not changed in a long while as the stains were on both sides of the bed. It took 10 minutes before a barman appeared to serve a drink at the main bar and we ordered a burger and a pizza and it took over an hour after chasing another member of staff to get our food. There was only one lady in reception who seemed to care and she was clearly overstretched as she was sorting everything out.

  • steve g

  • June 2016

Poor food

Evening meal was very average not much choice either.

Breakfast was worst, the cooked breakfast was horrible, cheap sausages, rock hard bacon, rubber eggs. Fruit was Ok. I have had a bad stomach since returning from there.

  • Amanda C

  • April 2016

Good value for money

I booked my room for myself and my teenage son.

I booked a double room and was very pleasantly surprised, when we got there, to find ourselves in an upgraded suite. With four poster bed, bed settee and large corner bath. It made a weekend away at my friends 50th nearby, even more special!

  • Zak R

  • April 2016

The Hillcrest Hotel - a Corus hotel

Great suit, would like to be informed next time it was set up for disabled customers, which meant everything was lower which is great however it was just a bit to low for us.

  • Liam Mellor

  • March 2016


Had to check out of another hotel for it being disgusting and booked to get in here at 10:30 pm.

After talking to the receptionist Sarah she was brilliant and also gave us a free upgrade. Couldn't ask for a more perfect room or amazing staff. Thank you so much for looking after us.

  • helen mawson

  • March 2016

The Hillcrest Hotel - a Corus hotel

We found the place and the car park very easily indeed.

The car park does need re-painting but i'm sure that's on their list of 'things to do' before summer. One of the hotels main features was experiencing the four seasons.

The entrance was red, warm clean and quiet, like a Sunday afternoon in Southern France.

The Bedroom was like Autumn, dull because one of the lights didn't work. The bed was soft and comfortable but unlike the seasons, this did not get changed which was rather annoying after finding we'd fell asleep with the salsa dip lid not screwed on properly. We even took the sheet off the beds to make a point to to the cleaner which was "please make the bed with clean laundry".

We had left our towels in the bath, like the notice politely requested however this just rewarded us with damp, salsa stained towels upon return from a day out in Liverpool. (btw the local train service is great!!)

To clean off after a long day in Liverpool we decided to grab a quick shower yet, 5 mins later, we found ourselves shivering, half naked waiting for the shower to warm up. We did try to occupy ourselves with the television and a coffee, but the remote didn't work and no coffee had appeared since we first left the room that morning.

The shower did warm up which was great news for us both. Great news sadly does not last long as does the warm water it seems. I must admit, I've had better showers from cars running through a nearby puddle. The shower. What a load of dribble.

The rooms temperature gauge didn't like doing what we asked it to either - we found the room was too hot, then too cold, then ok, then too hot, then too cold etc etc etc. We figured the wiring of the room must be all messed up because the light switches where confused themselves. I'm sure if you asked the light switch "hey there, have you got a designated lightbulb?" its reply would be similar to a monkey scratching its bum. All in all we stayed. We had two nights in this hotel and i'm not sure why.. We paid full price and i suggested some of the problems that we encountered. We where told confidently we would receive an email in response to our 'questionable' comfort its only 4 days later and nothing has arrived just of yet. I'm beginning to wonder whether i should have actually complained to the light switch. We do intend to carry on using the late rooms service as we have had some good experiences however we are wary now. Perhaps this is a one off hotel experience. Kindest regards


  • D Johnston

  • January 2016

Basic single room very clean and warm

Basic single room, a little tired looking but very clean and warm.

Paid £40 room only and thought this was well worth it. I did eat an evening meal in the bar but didn't stop for breakfast. I thought the food and the bar staff were very good. There is a lot of fresh paint around the hotel so it looks like it is having a facelift. I have booked to stay again.

  • J Kippen

  • December 2015

Great hotel

  • F Webb

  • November 2015

Clean room and shower for the night!

I was not looking for an 'experience', just a quiet, clean, comfortable room with a decent shower for the night.

I was arriving very late (c.2am ) and needed to know that I would have a friendly welcome and the room was held for me. The staff were friendly, and despite having to work around decorators, were polite and cheery. The tea/coffee making facilities were clean, and easy to use - just what I needed when I got in. The room was a single and relatively small, but warm, clean and just what I needed, and the wake up call was done on time.