No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Hillcrest Hotel - a Corus hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
75 Cronton Lane, Widnes, WA8 9AR
The Hillcrest Hotel is situated close to Chester, Manchester and within easy reach of Liverpool and Liverpool Airport. Our modern hotel is in a rural setting with easy access to the M6, M57 and M62.
The Hillcrest hotel is ideally located for overnight stops, for those en-route to the Lake District or the South of England as it is close to all motorway networks.
The hotel has a friendly and welcoming atmosphere. With three meeting and event rooms, the Hillcrest is a popular choice for weddings, conferences and functions as it is licensed to hold civil wedding ceremonies. The hotel has free WiFi throughout.
Nelsons bar, a traditional oak beamed pub, serves a wide range of drinks in a nautical setting and is a popular venue with locals.

Cu restaurant at the Hillcrest Hotel, has experienced a sympathetic refurbishment, giving it a stylish and comfortable appearance to our restaurant.

The restaurant name ‘Cu’ is derived from the chemical element for copper, this metal is extensively used within the restaurant, adding to the contempary yet warming feel.

Our philosophy is simple: ‘Welcome guests as friends, serve inspiring food and always exceed expectations.’

Picture of The Hillcrest Hotel - a Corus hotel, Widnes at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 56 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
63% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family Room? Dont think so
I booked a family room, which was supposed to be 2 singles and a double, when we arrived it was a double and 1 single. Bathroom was very dated

Reviewed by
M Eaton

From Snodland, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
The hotel was interesting inside with nice old decor but clean and the staff were friendly and helpfull. The room was basic but clean, would stay here again if required.

Reviewed by
Zoe B

From Loughborough , UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disgusted
There was a wedding party going on in the hotel, of which I was not given prior notice. The purpose of my stay was to be able to drive my family home from Creamfields, having had a night's sleep. This was not possible due to the noise made by the wedding party. I should have been made aware of this before booking. There was nobody on reception to even ask if I could change rooms, the room I was given was directly above the guests. I am very unhappy about this.

Reviewed by
T Russell

From Wimborne, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Experience
Not the most luxurious or modern hotel I have stayed in, however staff were lovely!
All staff were pleasent and chatty and could not do enough for you! Highly rate this hotel for the people who work there!

Reviewed by
Siobhan C

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The only thing wrong with the room is that it did not have a hair dryer in

Reviewed by
Holly Richardson

From Bourne, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good value for money
From the minute we arrived.the staff were great.very friendly.the hotel was spotless and the food was really good.

Reviewed by
karl w

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had a fantastic stay instantly upgraded once hotel staff New it was our honeymoon couldn't of been happier with our stay so went back for a second night the night after loved every min

Reviewed by
k christian

From Widnes, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the receptionist on duty was pleasant and helpful. the room met my needs clean and tidy.

Reviewed by
M Cook

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1 night weekend stay
We stayed at this hotel due to a friend having their wedding reception here. the accommodation was ok but nothing special and we did not think it was value for money compared with other hotels we have stayed at.

Reviewed by
P Coward

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
We were visiting to pick up our new caravan from Eterniti Caravans so only needed a bed for the night.
The room was lovely, although lacking aircon in the hot weather.
Nice view over the back. Comfortable bed and nicely furnished. We'd gone for the superior room.
Restaurant food was excellent although only two other tables were occupied on the Thursday we were there. Great bargain though as they take the TasteCard 2 for 1 which we already had. Requires a prebooking but saved a lot of money for the dinner.

Reviewed by
David Crossland

From Croydon, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next