Reviews - The Hillcrest Hotel - a Corus hotel


75 Cronton Lane, Widnes, WA8 9AR

Price From 139.95 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (38)

68% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Hannah W

  • February 2014

Quiet and friendly hotel

This is the 2nd valentines at the hillcrest.

The hotel is quiet not much going on but we went to relax which is what we did. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are arnt special and they bathrooms could do with a makeover, but you carnt grumble for £55. Plus the beds are so comfy and its very clean. The hotel is situated in a lovely area to. I would definately stay at the hotel again had a lovely weekend here.

  • Paul Arkell

  • January 2014

Paul Arkell hotel review

Reception service was good - polite and informative.

Room was adequate clean and good value overall

Breakfast was poor value and undercooked. Bar was not staffed adequately at lunchtime. Following a 15 x minute wait to order lunch, the bar remained unstaffed, I left the Hillcrest and dined elsewhere.

  • Mike W

  • January 2014

Great Place, Great Staff, Will be Back!

A quiet January weekend yet all the staff were attentive, helpful and cheerful.

Breakfast and dinner were nice, hot and generous portions, the rooms are nice, a good size and comfortable. Great value :)

  • Pauline F

  • December 2013

Needs updating

A typical mid range hotel that has seen better days, at least in the "superior room" I was allocated.

The tiny 20 inch television sandwiched in on the wall next to the curtains looked ridiculous and could not really be seen in most of the room. Bathroom was stained, cracked and was generally tired.

Have to say the bed was comfortable and clean, I had a good night's sleep so it could have been worse. These days I mostly look for "Inns with rooms" who generally serve gourmet pub food and often offer 5* level accommodation at a fraction of the big chain prices.

  • Chris Jones

  • November 2013

Much more than I expected

As an overnight business stay, this was excellent.

The young lady on reception was bright, cheerful and efficient. She even remembered me by name a day after I had checked in. My room was well furnished, reasonably spacious and clean. Only disappointment is the restaurant menu. I am a vegetarian, and options were limited. They were even more limited by offering a pasta dish which included anchovies (some very basic training needed on what classes as vegetarian - and it makes you lose faith in what other veggie mistakes they make). Breakfast menu is limited to full English with no veggie alternatives offered or two kinds of egg. I would certainly stay again, but know I need to eat out in the area

  • Sara H

  • November 2013

Great stay

We stayed for our wedding night.

The room was lovely with balcony view and breakfast was great with varied selection. Just what we wanted

  • Paul

  • October 2013

room was small

room was very small and so was tv

  • Joshua M

  • October 2013


This hotel, on the whole, was pretty average.

What you pay for is what you get. The staff are mild mannered and are always glad to help you out. There was a small choice of food from the bar menu which I didn't expect considering there's a restaurant that operates within the building. Everything you'd expect to be organised in a mediocre hotel. Would more than likely stay again, if the price was right.