No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Hillcrest Hotel - a Corus hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
75 Cronton Lane, Widnes, WA8 9AR
The Hillcrest Hotel is situated close to Chester, Manchester and within easy reach of Liverpool and Liverpool Airport. Our modern hotel is in a rural setting with easy access to the M6, M57 and M62.
The Hillcrest hotel is ideally located for overnight stops, for those en-route to the Lake District or the South of England as it is close to all motorway networks.
The hotel has a friendly and welcoming atmosphere. With three meeting and event rooms, the Hillcrest is a popular choice for weddings, conferences and functions as it is licensed to hold civil wedding ceremonies. The hotel has free WiFi throughout.
Nelsons bar, a traditional oak beamed pub, serves a wide range of drinks in a nautical setting and is a popular venue with locals.

Cu restaurant at the Hillcrest Hotel, has experienced a sympathetic refurbishment, giving it a stylish and comfortable appearance to our restaurant.

The restaurant name ‘Cu’ is derived from the chemical element for copper, this metal is extensively used within the restaurant, adding to the contempary yet warming feel.

Our philosophy is simple: ‘Welcome guests as friends, serve inspiring food and always exceed expectations.’

Picture of The Hillcrest Hotel - a Corus hotel, Widnes at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 54 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
62% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good value for money
From the minute we arrived.the staff were great.very friendly.the hotel was spotless and the food was really good.

Reviewed by
karl w

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had a fantastic stay instantly upgraded once hotel staff New it was our honeymoon couldn't of been happier with our stay so went back for a second night the night after loved every min

Reviewed by
k christian

From Widnes, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the receptionist on duty was pleasant and helpful. the room met my needs clean and tidy.

Reviewed by
M Cook

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1 night weekend stay
We stayed at this hotel due to a friend having their wedding reception here. the accommodation was ok but nothing special and we did not think it was value for money compared with other hotels we have stayed at.

Reviewed by
P Coward

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
We were visiting to pick up our new caravan from Eterniti Caravans so only needed a bed for the night.
The room was lovely, although lacking aircon in the hot weather.
Nice view over the back. Comfortable bed and nicely furnished. We'd gone for the superior room.
Restaurant food was excellent although only two other tables were occupied on the Thursday we were there. Great bargain though as they take the TasteCard 2 for 1 which we already had. Requires a prebooking but saved a lot of money for the dinner.

Reviewed by
David Crossland

From Croydon, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A weekend away with friends
After reading many reviews on trip advisor I was very apprehensive prior to arrival at the Hillcrest Hotel. However the staff were very friendly on reception and check in was quick and easy. Our room was situated on the second floor with no real view but the bedroom was fine -the bed was comfortable and the bed linen of a good standard. There was tea and coffee making facilities a flat screen tv hair dryer- in total everything you need!! As many have commented the bathroom was in need of updating but was adequate for a two night stay. Breakfast was a selection of cereals, juices fruit, and a cooked breakfast with toast to follow. There is a large car park attached to the hotel and unlike so many other hotels there was no charge for parking! We had no complaints during our stay and would definitely return in the future!

Reviewed by
Alison R

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

travelodge!!!
Hotel lobby, bar and eating areas, where lovely. The room however was a standard travelodge. Nothing like the picture they show you!

Reviewed by
M Boden

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired and jaded like me after hot room kept me awake
Very friendly staff. Hotel public rooms good. Bedroom was superior but not much superior about it. Jacuzzi bath broken. Notice on the wall advising that the management didn't sell the rooms with the benefit of a jacuzzi. Just a normal bath less than 30 years old would have been good. Gold taps worn down to show steel finish. The place was just plain tired. Thread bear carpets in the hallways, bed was like a bouncy castle. Couldn't turn radiator off. Shower got stuck on.....
Breakfast good and staff really friendly but hotel tired and jaded.

Reviewed by
keith l

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

supurb quality
Fantastic welcome as we arrived with a happy, smiling receptionist.
easy to find my room, which was spotlessly clean and spacious.
I wouldn't hesitate in staying here again and will recommend the "Hillcrest" to all my friends and family.

Reviewed by
karen rhodes

From rainhill, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Average or just below
Initial positive impression from entering the reception area get a pretty sharp rethink when entering the very bog standard rooom which was very cheap but with such a tired looking room you can see why it was such a low price. Walls that needed a second coat of paint at least, a bathroom with only the most basic of shower set ups so there was a juggling act between being scalded or frozen! The bed was passed its best too and pretty lumpy. A redeeming part of the stay was the friendly service and the breakfast which was pretty good. I'd stay again if there was a better room!

Reviewed by
Duncan S

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next