No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Hillcrest Hotel - a Corus hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
75 Cronton Lane, Widnes, WA8 9AR
The Hillcrest Hotel is situated close to Chester, Manchester and within easy reach of Liverpool and Liverpool Airport. Our modern hotel is in a rural setting with easy access to the M6, M57 and M62.
The Hillcrest hotel is ideally located for overnight stops, for those en-route to the Lake District or the South of England as it is close to all motorway networks.
The hotel has a friendly and welcoming atmosphere. With three meeting and event rooms, the Hillcrest is a popular choice for weddings, conferences and functions as it is licensed to hold civil wedding ceremonies. The hotel has free WiFi throughout.
Nelsons bar, a traditional oak beamed pub, serves a wide range of drinks in a nautical setting and is a popular venue with locals.

Cu restaurant at the Hillcrest Hotel, has experienced a sympathetic refurbishment, giving it a stylish and comfortable appearance to our restaurant.

The restaurant name ‘Cu’ is derived from the chemical element for copper, this metal is extensively used within the restaurant, adding to the contempary yet warming feel.

Our philosophy is simple: ‘Welcome guests as friends, serve inspiring food and always exceed expectations.’

Picture of The Hillcrest Hotel - a Corus hotel, Widnes at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 54 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
63% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bu
I stayed in the Hillcrest for one night and have to say I was a little disappointed with the quality of the room it seemed very run down and tired it didn't really match the pictures or my expectations from what I had seen on Laterooms, however it was functional and the bed was comfortable. I had problems connecting to the internet with one of my laptops but the other connected straight away so not really sure if this was a hotel issue or mine. The shower was a little temperamental either being very hot or luke warm and so it took a while to right. and more staff in the breakfast restaurant would have been good. I got the feeling I had been put in a back out of the way room and can only liken it to servants quarter accessing it by some narrow back stairs when I got in the room it reminded me of a 70's hotel requiring some love and attention. However having said all of that I had a really good nights sleep and the room was warm and the staff were friendly. If I was to stay again I would upgrade to a superior double for the extra £10 and hope that this was a nicer room. This hotel was ok for a one night business stay

Reviewed by
I Moore

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quiet and friendly hotel
This is the 2nd valentines at the hillcrest. The hotel is quiet not much going on but we went to relax which is what we did. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are arnt special and they bathrooms could do with a makeover, but you carnt grumble for £55. Plus the beds are so comfy and its very clean! The hotel is situated in a lovely area to. I would definately stay at the hotel again had a lovely weekend here.

Reviewed by
Hannah W

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Widnes
Comfy and sffordable

Reviewed by
A Taylor

From Barmouth, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Paul Arkell hotel review
Reception service was good - polite and informative.
Room was adequate clean and good value overall
Breakfast was poor value and undercooked.
Bar was not staffed adequately at lunchtime. Following a 15 x minute wait to order lunch, the bar remained unstaffed, I left the Hillcrest and dined elsewhere.

Reviewed by
Paul Arkell

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Place, Great Staff, Will be Back!
A quiet January weekend yet all the staff were attentive, helpful and cheerful. Breakfast and dinner were nice, hot and generous portions, the rooms are nice, a good size and comfortable. Great value :)

Reviewed by
Mike W

From Chelmsford, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Needs updating
A typical mid range hotel that has seen better days, at least in the "superior room" I was allocated. The tiny 20 inch television sandwiched in on the wall next to the curtains looked ridiculous and could not really be seen in most of the room. Bathroom was stained, cracked and was generally tired.
Have to say the bed was comfortable and clean, I had a good night's sleep so it could have been worse. These days I mostly look for "Inns with rooms" who generally serve gourmet pub food and often offer 5* level accommodation at a fraction of the big chain prices.

Reviewed by
Pauline F

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Much more than I expected
As an overnight business stay, this was excellent. The young lady on reception was bright, cheerful and efficient. She even remembered me by name a day after I had checked in. My room was well furnished, reasonably spacious and clean.
Only disappointment is the restaurant menu. I am a vegetarian, and options were limited. They were even more limited by offering a pasta dish which included anchovies (some very basic training needed on what classes as vegetarian - and it makes you lose faith in what other veggie mistakes they make). Breakfast menu is limited to full English with no veggie alternatives offered or two kinds of egg.
I would certainly stay again, but know I need to eat out in the area

Reviewed by
Chris Jones

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
We stayed for our wedding night. The room was lovely with balcony view and breakfast was great with varied selection. Just what we wanted

Reviewed by
Sara H

From St Helens, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room was small
room was very small and so was tv

Reviewed by
Paul

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Average
This hotel, on the whole, was pretty average. What you pay for is what you get. The staff are mild mannered and are always glad to help you out. There was a small choice of food from the bar menu which I didn't expect considering there's a restaurant that operates within the building. Everything you'd expect to be organised in a mediocre hotel. Would more than likely stay again, if the price was right.

Reviewed by
Joshua M

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next