No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Hillcrest Hotel - a Corus hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
75 Cronton Lane, Widnes, WA8 9AR
The Hillcrest Hotel is situated close to Chester, Manchester and within easy reach of Liverpool and Liverpool Airport. Our modern hotel is in a rural setting with easy access to the M6, M57 and M62.
The Hillcrest hotel is ideally located for overnight stops, for those en-route to the Lake District or the South of England as it is close to all motorway networks.
The hotel has a friendly and welcoming atmosphere. With three meeting and event rooms, the Hillcrest is a popular choice for weddings, conferences and functions as it is licensed to hold civil wedding ceremonies. The hotel has free WiFi throughout.
Nelsons bar, a traditional oak beamed pub, serves a wide range of drinks in a nautical setting and is a popular venue with locals.

Cu restaurant at the Hillcrest Hotel, has experienced a sympathetic refurbishment, giving it a stylish and comfortable appearance to our restaurant.

The restaurant name ‘Cu’ is derived from the chemical element for copper, this metal is extensively used within the restaurant, adding to the contempary yet warming feel.

Our philosophy is simple: ‘Welcome guests as friends, serve inspiring food and always exceed expectations.’

Picture of The Hillcrest Hotel - a Corus hotel, Widnes at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 57 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
63% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Paul Arkell hotel review
Reception service was good - polite and informative.
Room was adequate clean and good value overall
Breakfast was poor value and undercooked.
Bar was not staffed adequately at lunchtime. Following a 15 x minute wait to order lunch, the bar remained unstaffed, I left the Hillcrest and dined elsewhere.

Reviewed by
Paul Arkell

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Place, Great Staff, Will be Back!
A quiet January weekend yet all the staff were attentive, helpful and cheerful. Breakfast and dinner were nice, hot and generous portions, the rooms are nice, a good size and comfortable. Great value :)

Reviewed by
Mike W

From Chelmsford, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Needs updating
A typical mid range hotel that has seen better days, at least in the "superior room" I was allocated. The tiny 20 inch television sandwiched in on the wall next to the curtains looked ridiculous and could not really be seen in most of the room. Bathroom was stained, cracked and was generally tired.
Have to say the bed was comfortable and clean, I had a good night's sleep so it could have been worse. These days I mostly look for "Inns with rooms" who generally serve gourmet pub food and often offer 5* level accommodation at a fraction of the big chain prices.

Reviewed by
Pauline F

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Much more than I expected
As an overnight business stay, this was excellent. The young lady on reception was bright, cheerful and efficient. She even remembered me by name a day after I had checked in. My room was well furnished, reasonably spacious and clean.
Only disappointment is the restaurant menu. I am a vegetarian, and options were limited. They were even more limited by offering a pasta dish which included anchovies (some very basic training needed on what classes as vegetarian - and it makes you lose faith in what other veggie mistakes they make). Breakfast menu is limited to full English with no veggie alternatives offered or two kinds of egg.
I would certainly stay again, but know I need to eat out in the area

Reviewed by
Chris Jones

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
We stayed for our wedding night. The room was lovely with balcony view and breakfast was great with varied selection. Just what we wanted

Reviewed by
Sara H

From St Helens, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room was small
room was very small and so was tv

Reviewed by
Paul

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Average
This hotel, on the whole, was pretty average. What you pay for is what you get. The staff are mild mannered and are always glad to help you out. There was a small choice of food from the bar menu which I didn't expect considering there's a restaurant that operates within the building. Everything you'd expect to be organised in a mediocre hotel. Would more than likely stay again, if the price was right.

Reviewed by
Joshua M

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Functional
Ok for a one-night stop over on a business trip

Reviewed by
Adam C

From Carmarthen, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel
Just has a clean up so the hotel looked fresh. Really enjoyed our stay.

Reviewed by
C Foster

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel, great staff
I enjoyed my stay and the staff were great. Unfortunately and internal problem with the staff meant the kitchen was closed so sandwiches and chips only! Overall fantastic value and not a bad place to stay for business.

Reviewed by
Stephen B

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next