Reviews - The Hillcrest Hotel - a Corus hotel

3

75 Cronton Lane, Widnes, WA8 9AR

Price From 81.03 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (34)

76% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • S Jones

  • July 2014

Staff were friendly and accommodation was clean

Staff were friendly and accommodation was clean and more than adequate for our needs.

  • adrian wright

  • June 2014

Staff, excellent, room fine however I felt that there should be an extractor fan in the toilet (- there wasn't ) Other than that we had an excellent dinner in the restaurant and nothing was too much trouble for the staff.

We will stay there again. Adrian Wright

  • Heather K

  • May 2014

Quick booking

The hotel, staff, value for money and food were very good the only thing I would say needs improving on is the walls as you could hear everything that was being said / done in the room next to you the walls were paper thin.

  • O Tudor

  • May 2014

we were put in a suite and it was excellent.

The room was spotless, couldnt have wished for a better trip

  • Alan M

  • May 2014

Bank Holiday visit

When we arrived we found a problem with our room ( the radiator could not be turned down and it was really hot).

The staff efficiently arranged to move us and gave us an upgraded room which was much better. I think our one night stay was value for money.

  • Kath L

  • April 2014

Better than I expected

This hotel used to be the best in town.

It's a little old fashioned these days. But it was clean and warm. My room was accessed via stairs in the main reception. As I had an ankle injury and a heavy suitcase I was unable to use the stairs so the receptionist gave me directions to a lift. Although I found the lift the directions from the lift to my room were complicated, involving going through a function room via a fire door and a bar. I got lost but two staff who were on a break took me to the room. Better signage or someone on hand initially would have helped avoid this.

Overall though my stay was absolutely fine and good value at the discounted price I got. I wouldn't have wanted to pay the standard rate though.

  • Mark B

  • April 2014

Hillcrest Hotel -Terrible customer service

Having booked the Hillcrest to be near a work function I have to say the total experience was terrible.

Customer service was non existent, down right shocking. a couple of examples where I decided to eat in the restaurant round 7pm saturday, which was empty, a sign in its self. The food was tasteless and bland, this was due in part that the chef had left the food under lamops for 5 minutes while the staff chatted. Having then gone out and returned at 2.am the hotel was locked and anither 15 minute wait for the night porter to arrive. Checking out was an experience as not even asked how was your stay and when i asked who was the duty manager was, response was 'might be the person i was talking to' . All i can say is DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL AS IT IS SHOCKING. I think its is also by the smell that is constantly in the air, possibly being used as a retirement home.

  • G Patrick

  • April 2014

Very basic room.

Staff friendly. Stayed 2 nights and both nights woken at 2.30am by very noisy guests.

  • DARREN S

  • April 2014

One of the worst hotels I have stayed in, and I stay away on e a week

As per title, this was like faulty towers.

The waitress was tutting at every occasion, no sky tv, not even in the main bar. The food was disgusting sausages cold d the mash lumpy, then they forgot my dessert.

Actually pre charged my credit card £50 when I arrived even though I had paid in advance for the room, and Te me the credit card company would refund it in a couple of days after I had settled my at bill and charged again

No one to seat you at breakfast when I went down when it opened at 7am, took my own seat and was abruptly ushered to another table by a woman that came from no where. Had to wait half and hour for a cooked breakfast which I had to decline as I didn't have time, even though I was the 3rd person in the restaurant . Wood definately not recommend staying here!

  • P Nortje

  • March 2014

Nice clean hotel.

Enjoyed my stay here.

Rooms are nice and very clean. This hotel is quite old but neat as a pin. Bathroom could do with a update but it wasn't unpleasant. The food was ok but its the only area where I think they could improve.