No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Hillcrest Hotel - a Corus hotel

3Swaklasifikasi Hotel Ratings explained
75 Cronton Lane, Widnes, WA8 9AR
The Hillcrest Hotel is situated close to Chester, Manchester and within easy reach of Liverpool and Liverpool Airport. Our modern hotel is in a rural setting with easy access to the M6, M57 and M62.
The Hillcrest hotel is ideally located for overnight stops, for those en-route to the Lake District or the South of England as it is close to all motorway networks.
The hotel has a friendly and welcoming atmosphere. With three meeting and event rooms, the Hillcrest is a popular choice for weddings, conferences and functions as it is licensed to hold civil wedding ceremonies. The hotel has free WiFi throughout.
Nelsons bar, a traditional oak beamed pub, serves a wide range of drinks in a nautical setting and is a popular venue with locals.

Cu restaurant at the Hillcrest Hotel, has experienced a sympathetic refurbishment, giving it a stylish and comfortable appearance to our restaurant.

The restaurant name ‘Cu’ is derived from the chemical element for copper, this metal is extensively used within the restaurant, adding to the contempary yet warming feel.

Our philosophy is simple: ‘Welcome guests as friends, serve inspiring food and always exceed expectations.’

Picture of The Hillcrest Hotel - a Corus hotel, Widnes at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 54 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
62% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very basic room. Staff friendly. Stayed 2 nights and both nights woken at 2.30am by very noisy guests.

Reviewed by
G Patrick

From Perth, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One of the worst hotels I have stayed in, and I stay away on e a week
As per title, this was like faulty towers.
The waitress was tutting at every occasion, no sky tv, not even in the main bar. The food was disgusting sausages cold d the mash lumpy, then they forgot my dessert.
Actually pre charged my credit card £50 when I arrived even though I had paid in advance for the room, and Te me the credit card company would refund it in a couple of days after I had settled my at bill and charged again
No one to seat you at breakfast when I went down when it opened at 7am, took my own seat and was abruptly ushered to another table by a woman that came from no where.
Had to wait half and hour for a cooked breakfast which I had to decline as I didn't have time, even though I was the 3rd person in the restaurant !
Wood definately not recommend staying here!

Reviewed by
DARREN S

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice clean hotel.
Enjoyed my stay here. Rooms are nice and very clean. This hotel is quite old but neat as a pin. Bathroom could do with a update but it wasn't unpleasant. The food was ok but its the only area where I think they could improve.

Reviewed by
P Nortje

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An enjoyable experience
Arrived early but was greeted with a smile, The young receptionest was extreamely helpful and gave some excellant advise about the area and where to go. The hotel was nice and clean and tidy as well as the room, But for us the what made the hotel excellant was the staff very friendly and cheerful and made me and my wifes stay a really enjoyable time. Will definately stop at the hotel again when we are in the area.

Reviewed by
Denzil Ison

From Grantham, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bu
I stayed in the Hillcrest for one night and have to say I was a little disappointed with the quality of the room it seemed very run down and tired it didn't really match the pictures or my expectations from what I had seen on Laterooms, however it was functional and the bed was comfortable. I had problems connecting to the internet with one of my laptops but the other connected straight away so not really sure if this was a hotel issue or mine. The shower was a little temperamental either being very hot or luke warm and so it took a while to right. and more staff in the breakfast restaurant would have been good. I got the feeling I had been put in a back out of the way room and can only liken it to servants quarter accessing it by some narrow back stairs when I got in the room it reminded me of a 70's hotel requiring some love and attention. However having said all of that I had a really good nights sleep and the room was warm and the staff were friendly. If I was to stay again I would upgrade to a superior double for the extra £10 and hope that this was a nicer room. This hotel was ok for a one night business stay

Reviewed by
I Moore

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quiet and friendly hotel
This is the 2nd valentines at the hillcrest. The hotel is quiet not much going on but we went to relax which is what we did. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are arnt special and they bathrooms could do with a makeover, but you carnt grumble for £55. Plus the beds are so comfy and its very clean! The hotel is situated in a lovely area to. I would definately stay at the hotel again had a lovely weekend here.

Reviewed by
Hannah W

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Widnes
Comfy and sffordable

Reviewed by
A Taylor

From Barmouth, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Paul Arkell hotel review
Reception service was good - polite and informative.
Room was adequate clean and good value overall
Breakfast was poor value and undercooked.
Bar was not staffed adequately at lunchtime. Following a 15 x minute wait to order lunch, the bar remained unstaffed, I left the Hillcrest and dined elsewhere.

Reviewed by
Paul Arkell

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Place, Great Staff, Will be Back!
A quiet January weekend yet all the staff were attentive, helpful and cheerful. Breakfast and dinner were nice, hot and generous portions, the rooms are nice, a good size and comfortable. Great value :)

Reviewed by
Mike W

From Chelmsford, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Needs updating
A typical mid range hotel that has seen better days, at least in the "superior room" I was allocated. The tiny 20 inch television sandwiched in on the wall next to the curtains looked ridiculous and could not really be seen in most of the room. Bathroom was stained, cracked and was generally tired.
Have to say the bed was comfortable and clean, I had a good night's sleep so it could have been worse. These days I mostly look for "Inns with rooms" who generally serve gourmet pub food and often offer 5* level accommodation at a fraction of the big chain prices.

Reviewed by
Pauline F

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next