No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - De Vere Venues Theobalds Park

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Lieutenant Ellis Way , Cheshunt, EN7 5HW
Set in 55 acres of Hertfordshire woodland, Theobalds Park is a magnificent Georgian Mansion House situated just 3/4 mile from junction 25 of the M25. All 140 bedrooms are en-suite, spacious and well appointed. During your stay you can also enjoy a complimentary internet cafe which includes free internet use and a delightful range of complimentary teas and coffees.

Complimentary Wi Fi is available in all bedrooms and public areas
Picture of De Vere Venues Theobalds Park, Cheshunt at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 180 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Big Room but could have done with a few tweaks
The first impression was the room was lovely, big and nicely appointed. Closer inspection revealled a couple of issues that downgraded that impression from a 5 to a 3 in quick succession. Cobwebs in the corner, bedding that didn't fit, not enough blankets and heaters that didn't work. That being said once we called reception they responded quickly, brought more blankets and fixed the heaters. The cobwebs stayed but they didn't disturb a good nights sleep. The overall impression of the hotel was very good. Beautiful grounds. My only real cristisim again would be the small things, the reception phone not being answered on the three occasions I called before our visit, dirty saucers and glasses at breakfast. Nothing big enough to ruin the stay but if I visit again I might bring a duster.

Reviewed by
Natalie P

From South Africa
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money. Good, clean, comfortable room, Helpful and polite staff.

Reviewed by
Stephen Turner

From Stanford le Hope, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

De Vere Venues Theobalds Park
A quiet and pleasant hotel to return to after a busy day. We hope to return.

Reviewed by
R Law

From Yelverton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It's okay there are better hotels
Had to move rooms from old side to new. But staff we excellent. If you like the idea of stepping in to a henry VIII style room you are in for a treat with the old mansion but the new side of the hotel could do with a serious clean and redecorating. The gym really smells really really mildew and damn smell. Overall I probably won't return.
.

Reviewed by
S Uddin

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed at the barn was lovely so clean there was a wedding going on so was dancing to the songs was a nice stay would recommend.

Reviewed by
C Nicolaou

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could be good.... Not what I would expect for 4star
This hotel could be fabulous - it's looking worn tired and dirty. The corridors walls and doors are dirty, the carpets are stained including the room carpet. There were cobwebs around the bathroom, dust on the surfaces and the kettle was full of limescale, the bed was clean enough: The breakfast however - did not look good at all , there was green fur growing on the bread that I pointed out to one of the members of staff who removed it. We did get a full refund for breakfast since I ate nothing after that ! The grounds and exterior of the building are lovely, such a shame that the inside is not the same. Wih a coat of paint and a full clean from top to bottom in sure it would be much better .
Disappointed that this hotel could be good but isn't.

Reviewed by
Claire H

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay, booked only the previous night specifically through Late Rooms
Excellent location for North London visitors or as a stopover if going beyond; easily accessible from the M25 following a longer than anticipated motorway run in poor weather from the Glasgow area (M1 at its worst!). Route from M25, J 25 very easy to navigate, even at night - just take it easy after the last roundabout as entrance is only a few hundred yards beyond and not well lit. Warm welcome from reception. Very comfortable ground floor room - only marked it down a little as a result of the bathroom decor being a little 'tired'. Good range of breakfast items at reasonable cost. Attractive countryside setting with plenty of parking. As we were tired, we took a reasonably-priced room service dinner option, which hit the spot nicely. At a discount of more than £50 for a hastily arranged one night stay, we were very pleased overall.

Reviewed by
K Mann

From Bridge of Weir, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful setting, lovely rooms. We stayed in the mansion end of the building, perhaps in what seemed like what used to be the old servants quarters. Small but quirky. Lovely staff and ideally situated for access to many local attractions.

Reviewed by
Will Seymour

From Sittingbourne, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Two Night stay
The accommodation was fine. Really liked the sash windows and the park. Room was as expected modern and plenty of plug sockets. Parking was a little tough not masses of space. Could do with better signage we arrived at night and it was not easy to locate. Postcode took us to rear gate and we struggled to find the front.

Reviewed by
J Nash

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

To becexpected
Large comfortable room, small tele with no remote

Reviewed by
James Wilson

From Darwen, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next