No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Edinburgh Capital Hotel

3Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
187 Clermiston Road , Edinburgh , EH12 6UG
A warm Scottish welcome awaits you at the Edinburgh Capital Hotel. With great views across the west of the city, our hilltop location enjoys a tranquil location without taking you too far from the sights and sounds of Edinburgh.

Modern, bright and fresh interior is complemented by free WiFi and substantial car parking, smart and flexible event space, comfy and spacious guest rooms and an extensive leisure club.

Whether your stay is business or pleasure, Edinburgh Capital Hotel is the perfect choice for a memorable visit to Edinburgh.
Picture of Edinburgh Capital Hotel, Edinburgh  at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 150 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Was left a little disappointed
Booked an overnight stay with my girlfriend following Tough Mudder in Dalkeith. I paid £135 for the room and had high expectations. On arrival I needed a shower and unfortunately it made a continuous loud screeching noise due to the pressure. The room was nice and clean, though not much of a view. Our room included breakfast and we went down around 9:20. We were told to wait and a table would be set for us. 30 minutes later (and it wasn't busy) the girl came back and asked if we were waiting on a table... Then realised she had forgot about us. To be fair, she seemed to be the only member of staff on at the time.
They were the only real issues. On the plus side, as mentioned the room was nice and clean, plus we used the leisure facilities, the pool, sauna and steam room which were well maintained and the staff members were all welcoming and helpful.
Would I go back....? Maybe if I was able to get a room with a better view and a slightly better deal.

Reviewed by
N Fraser

From Scotland
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money for modern bit of luxury
I booked this new modern hotel to ensure i got sleep - which would not be gauranteed during the festival season! The accommodation and facilities lived up to my exceptation too. Even though this is not based in centre of Edingburgh it was easy to get to £1.50 on the bus which runs every 15 minutes just around the corner from the hotel. We went to the Tattoo and caught a bus back at 11,25 pm, it was so easy. Leon our waiter was excellent nothing was any trouble at all. He got us times of the buses and reassured us it would be easy to return by bus even late at night. It saved us a fortune.

Reviewed by
Eileen Munson

From Barry vale of Glamorgan , UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ok, stayed in better the night before in aberdeen for half the price
the room was ok and suited our needs for our one night in edinburgh. although only one light worked in the bathroom which made it very dark. went out into edinburgh on the sunday night on returning to the hotel we wanted to enquire about breakfast for monday morning but there was nobody available at reception or the hotel bar to ask so we didnt bother.

Reviewed by
t barlow

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect City Break
Good quality hotel, perfect location for a short drive into Edinburgh City Centre, would definitely use this hotel again, excellent facilities and great value for money.

Reviewed by
D Watt

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. There is a bus stop closeby from which buses run in to the centre of Edinburgh every ten minutes.
We were in a room that was facing the main road and you could hear traffic quite clearly but it did not spoil our stay.

Reviewed by
June B

From England
Who stayed in July 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A quality hotel
The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in!

Reviewed by
Garon Willis

From Tavistock, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

review
good hotel with lots going on, staff friendly hotel in good location

Reviewed by
R Hair

From Buckie, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal
Great hotel, good leisure facility, good parking, good standard all around. An out of town hotel in a nice setting. TIP - A rear facing room is quieter away from the front road noise.

Reviewed by
John L

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money- ideal for exploring Edinburgh
My boyfriend and I stayed at the hotel for one night only however within an hour or two in the hotel, my boyfriend said he wished we could book a longer stay. The staff were eager to please and went out of there way to help us book events for the following day despite problems with the hotel printer. The food was enjoyable and well priced and the restaurant itself was clean and immaculately presented. We loved every minute of our stay.

Reviewed by
Gemma K

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnight stay
Staff were excellent, hotel was good apart from corridors which could do with a revamp, the bed was the comfort we have ever had which was great. The food was nice and the prices were food value for money, overall a very nice experience.

Reviewed by
gary h

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.