No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Edinburgh Capital Hotel

3Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
187 Clermiston Road , Edinburgh , EH12 6UG
A warm Scottish welcome awaits you at the Edinburgh Capital Hotel. With great views across the west of the city, our hilltop location enjoys a tranquil location without taking you too far from the sights and sounds of Edinburgh.

Modern, bright and fresh interior is complemented by free WiFi and substantial car parking, smart and flexible event space, comfy and spacious guest rooms and an extensive leisure club.

Whether your stay is business or pleasure, Edinburgh Capital Hotel is the perfect choice for a memorable visit to Edinburgh.
Picture of Edinburgh Capital Hotel, Edinburgh  at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 130 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for what we paid
This hotel is away from the city centre which is what we wanted, but only ten minutes by car to the west end. Huge room with big windows, very comfort able large bed. Furnishings a little tired and bathroom clean but dated. Staff were pleasant and helpful. The poor and changing rooms were clean and of good quality. Breakfast was fab, buffet style and catered for all tastes. Dinning room again a little tired but clean and pleasant views. Will go back.

Reviewed by
J Jamieson

From Ellon, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great for parking
Great to park and leave the car. Local buses were great into the town centre. Room was very comfortable and clean. Breakfast was excellent if a little busy. Dinner was ok basic food ok but lacked the finishing touches to make it great.

ManagementResponse

Dear Tracey, Thanks for the detailed feedback, pleasing to read that you found our location and ample parking to your benefit, and that you enjoyed the breakfast, not great to read that the menu was noted by you as “basic” however we do have three menu options with the restaurant, bar and early promotional menu on offer. Thanks again and hope to welcome you back. Regards, Simon

Reviewed by
Tracey E

From Brecon, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business stop over
The hotel reception and bar area is lovely and clean with a modern feel.
The hallways and rooms felt dated and in need of modernisation.
Room was generally clean except the bathroom silicone.

ManagementResponse

Dear Richard, Pleased to read that you enjoyed the look of both the reception and bar, disappointed to note your comments regarding dated hallways and bathroom silicone, we have a rolling maintenance plan in place and I will certainly review why the silicone has been missed. Thank you for the detailed feedback. Simon

Reviewed by
Richard H

From Bracknell, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel, good value
This hotel is in a quiet area, easy transport links to city centre. Rooms spacious, good breakfast, nice pool area. Be warned - very hard bed and pillows, and tiny bath. Also, a lot of squeaky floors and noise in corridors.

Reviewed by
Eleanor P

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Value
Will stay again at these prices

Reviewed by
Reg Edwards

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Edinburgh capital
Me and my girlfriend spent the night in this lovely hotel, staff were nice enough rooms were spotless and food was spot on, had gym and swim were facilities were kept upto standard, would definitely go back.

Reviewed by
g Stewart

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

it was a pleasure to stay here
the staff were very nice to all the guests that they were serving,i asked for an iron for the room and it was brought down strait away,the room was spotless and the meals were good .

Reviewed by
a manson

From Lanark, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff, lovely views of Edinburgh
Our room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The views from the restaurant are stunning, definitely worth visiting any time of year. Staff were friendly, welcoming and very helpful, throughout the hotel.

Reviewed by
Katie F

From Winchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Capital Hotel
Hotel is quite a bit out from centre of city (it's in the Haymarket area). Although this was the case we used the 26 bus which you could get right outside the hotel and was a great service!! The hotel itself was lovely. Rooms were very clean and spacious. We used the leisure facilities and the pool was lovely (and even better it was heated!!).
We had originally booked room only but when we arrived we decided to have breakfast for the following morning which cost £20. I thought this was ridiculous for what you got- very overpriced!!
Overall, I probably wouldn't visit this hotel again (only because of its location). If I could move this hotel to the centre of Edinburgh this would be an ideal hotel!!

Reviewed by
K McLaughlin

From Alexandria, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very clean friendly modern hotel

Reviewed by
E Winstanley

From Blackpool, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next