No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Edinburgh Capital Hotel

3Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
187 Clermiston Road , Edinburgh , EH12 6UG
A warm Scottish welcome awaits you at the Edinburgh Capital Hotel. With great views across the west of the city, our hilltop location enjoys a tranquil location without taking you too far from the sights and sounds of Edinburgh.

Modern, bright and fresh interior is complemented by free WiFi and substantial car parking, smart and flexible event space, comfy and spacious guest rooms and an extensive leisure club.

Whether your stay is business or pleasure, Edinburgh Capital Hotel is the perfect choice for a memorable visit to Edinburgh.
Picture of Edinburgh Capital Hotel, Edinburgh  at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 129 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reasonable hotel for the money but sound was a problem
The hotel itself is ok, the lobby is very modern but the rooms although clean are a little dated. Sound it a probelm the person above seemed to spend the whole night taking stroles around the room. 12, 3, 4, 8 o;clock, the sound about was very you could hear every footstep, creeking floor and even draws being opened, so little sleep was had. I reception on check out who said they were sorry but no offer of reduced price or even free breakfast. Took the shine of the stay

ManagementResponse

Dear Reviewer, Very sorry that the guests above your room disturbed you from having a peaceful nights sleep, and that this ultimately lead to your overall dissatisfaction. I will certainly speak to the reception team regarding the way your verbal feedback was dealt with. Regards, Simon

Reviewed by
C Philpot

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

poor customer service, noisy room
design of hotel means many rooms come off one central hall- so noisy with doors slamming and people coming and going. No atmosphere in bar- football playing over speakers throughout bar area but only one small TV on wall.

ManagementResponse

Very disappointing to read your comments regarding the atmosphere in the main bar area during the football, we do have a additional lounge area at the front of our restaurant or opposite reception should football not be your thing. As noted by you our room corridors do have bedrooms leading from them. Thanks for the feedback and your custom. Regards, Simon

Reviewed by
Jonathan T

From , UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Edinburgh Escape
Absolutely beautiful rooms which were cleaned daily!! All the facilities were brilliant from the gym and pool area to the bar and restaurant staff. Everyone was really friendly and helpful and even though the hotel is a little way out of town it was very cheap and easy to get the bus in, allowing us both to enjoy the Scotch Whiskey tours!!!!!

ManagementResponse

Dear Reviewer, Clearly we have delivered to you a pleasurable experience whilst staying with us, pleasing to read that the team were all helpful and that the Leisure Club gym was well used. Also great to read that you managed to sample hopefully several nips during your tour. Kind Regards, Simon

Reviewed by
L Banyard

From Liskeard, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

enjoyed our stay

ManagementResponse

Dear Ian, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Edinburgh Capital Hotel and thank you for sharing your feedback. Hope to welcome you back in the near future. Regards, Simon

Reviewed by
Ian D

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great
Great lovely weekend

ManagementResponse

Dear Reviewer, Can’t ask for much better feedback than full scores and to know you had a “Great lovely weekend”. Many thanks, Simon

Reviewed by
J Browell

From Blyth, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good value for money
had a slight hicup re dining but management fixed this

ManagementResponse

Dear Karen, Thank you for the feedback and rating, unfortunately despite our best efforts “hiccups” can and do happen, clearly the management team recovered your satisfaction on this occasion. Thanks for sharing. Regards, Simon

Reviewed by
karen m

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wedding
On arrival we saw that there was a wedding, we checked in and went straight into Edinburgh centre, on arrival back we settled in our room, roughy around 11:00 o'clock (pm) we were staying in room 118 directly above the function room, was very very noisy, ideally we could of been given a room higher up, and somebody attending the wedding could of stayed in that room as they wouldn't of been in the room when the noise was going on, additionally when we rang down to complain and ask to be moved we were told the hotel was full and that the dj would be asked to turn it down, on ringing again to check whether it would be turned down we were told that it would be on till 1am, so basically because we had already payed via late rooms there was nothing we could do!!!!
We were not warned of this on arrival and check in, additionally if I was to choose to stay in Edinburgh again I would not recommend this hotel firstly because if this experience and secondly because of the distance and price in taxis £12 one way this is not a central hotel at all, and should not be displayed as one either!!!.
On the plus side is the hotel is local to a bus station and is very prompt, but not ideal when your dressed for a meal n drinks going into the centre.

ManagementResponse

Dear Reviewer, Thanks for the feedback, we do have a procedure in place for pre allocating wedding guests into the rooms directly above the function room, regrettably on this occasion we have not carried this out successfully, I will personally speak with my Reception Manager and re train the team in this procedure. You make reference to the hotel being out of the city centre, I would like to think this is reflected in the price, and as noted by you a 10 min taxi ride and you’re in the city centre. Thanks for your feedback and please do accept my apologies for your dissatisfaction on this occasion. Regards, Simon

Reviewed by
D Simmons

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good location
Would use hotel again, lovely rooms, polite and friendly staff and in a good location

ManagementResponse

Dear Reviewer, Thanks for the feedback, disappointed that despite your comments of a “lovely room” and that you would visit us again, your overall score came somewhat short of the mark. Look forward to welcoming you back and hopefully seeing your score move upwards. Thank you, Simon

Reviewed by
R McGovern

From cumnock, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very pleasant short break
The hotel is in need of some refurbishment. However, this can be overlooked as the customer service is first class. All the staff are so very friendly and welcoming, nothing is too much trouble. They are a credit to the hotel.

ManagementResponse

Dear Mandy, Appreciate your comments regarding the need for some additional attention in ways of refurbishment, we do have a rolling plan in place in regard to maintenance and will continue to uplift the hotel over the next year, absolutely delighted to read that the team have made up for this with their service, they really are an asset to the hotel. Kind Regards Simon

Reviewed by
Mandy M

From York, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

With a room for 3 nights being worth over £600, and we had a major discount, no quality sacrificed
We booked the hotel for it's location in Edinburgh, and after seeing the major discount, saving us over £500, we were extactic to find such a gem. The room didn't faulter on quality, and our stay was very comfortable with the feeling of luxury. I recommend this hotel highly for it's quality of stay, the staff customer service and the overall feel of the hotel. Although we didn't spend a lot of time within the hotel itself, when we were there, we were not disappointed.

ManagementResponse

Dear Amy, Thanks for choosing to stay with us and thanks for the glowing feedback, the team will be delighted by your comments. Hope to see you again. Regards Simon

Reviewed by
Amy W

From Huddersfield, England
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next