No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Edinburgh Capital Hotel

3Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
187 Clermiston Road , Edinburgh , EH12 6UG
A warm Scottish welcome awaits you at the Edinburgh Capital Hotel. With great views across the west of the city, our hilltop location enjoys a tranquil location without taking you too far from the sights and sounds of Edinburgh.

Modern, bright and fresh interior is complemented by free WiFi and substantial car parking, smart and flexible event space, comfy and spacious guest rooms and an extensive leisure club.

Whether your stay is business or pleasure, Edinburgh Capital Hotel is the perfect choice for a memorable visit to Edinburgh.
Picture of Edinburgh Capital Hotel, Edinburgh  at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 151 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would recommend to everybody
Fantastic time in Edinburgh, food was great staff very friendly fully recommend

Reviewed by
K Davis

From Shoeburyness, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shame about the creaky floorboards

Reviewed by
ALISON M

From Weston Super Mare, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

.
.

Reviewed by
Andy R

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice hotel, poor location.
Nice hotel, let down by isolated location. £15 for taxi one way to city centre. Staff very good and facilties adequate. Breakfast was very good. Overall, an ok hotel but must have car.

ManagementResponse

Thanks for taking the time to highlight that our team provided you with a positive experience, disappointed that you mention our location as a negative as we clearly mention our location online and reflected in our room rate. Many of our guests use the local bus service for quick hassle free access into the City Centre and at £1.50 each way represents value for money. Kind Regards, Simon

Reviewed by
m mcauley

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

breakfast
We arrived for breakfast. We waiting to be seen. We were sat at a table. It was not explained to us how breakfast worked.the waiter was rushing around like a mad thing. We wandered about to get our breakfast. There were no eggs, bacon or sausage on the main breakfast area. There was no juice in the juice machine, no bread for toast. No service at all. The bread was topped up with brown bread only.I asked for white but it never appeared. The waiter was still rushing around getting no where fast. The whole experience was really bad.

ManagementResponse

Obviously your feedback makes for a extremely disappointing read, as you can see from the majority of other feedback the level of service described by you falls well short of our usual high standard, please do accept my personal apologies for this, I will personally follow through on this with the breakfast team. Thank you for your detailed feedback. Simon and Team

Reviewed by
k bourne

From Rotherham, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect for a romantic weekend break :)
Visited with my girlfriend - Staff friendly and efficient. Room was large, quiet area, regular bus into town with parking and decent friendly health club pool / gym. Waitress should have been sent home with an uncontrolable cough - at t he very least have got dosed up on daynurse!! Food a real steal - excellent for 10 for 2 courses before 7pm. Been for business 8 years ago, has been very well refurbished. Will return if in the area again!

ManagementResponse

Thanks for sharing you detailed feedback, and I am glad that you noticed the refurbishment since your last visit, also pleasing to read that you took advantage of the early dinner option and that the Leisure Club and staffing in general were all to your liking. Hope to welome you again in the near future. Regards, Simon and Team

Reviewed by
Alistair G

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

last night of a long business trip
Warn welcome at reception, room as expected.
Food good, staff very friendly.
Breakfast good.
All good.
Just what I needed ahead of a long drive back home.

Reviewed by
Mark Efford

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay in Edinburgh
Good. Location, brilliant food, lovely to have a swimming pool. Room could have been a little warmer.

Reviewed by
ALISON M

From Weston Super Mare, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Hotel, Good Location
The hotel was booked after new year and was very good value for money. Good location on a Bus Route for the city centre. Didn't use the restaurant & bar much as it seemed a bit unatmospheric , but was there to see Edinburgh so that was fine. WiFi free and good, also Pool was nice. Staff Friendly - would go again.

Reviewed by
David B

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good
Value for money at the price we paid and would stay again at the discounted price but myself and husband felt that the regular price would not be value for money. All the staff were very good.
Recommendations : towels in the spa area at all times. I appreciate the hotel was busy but being told to bring your dirty towel ( I say dirty because house keeping had not changed them at that point)down from your room to use after a swim or work out in the gym is not practical, if at home you would take a clean towel with if you went swimming. Kind regard Mrs Mary Oakes
Carpets in hall ways go do with a clean.

Reviewed by
J Oakes

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next