No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
SOUTH BADDESLEY ROAD LYMINGTON, New Forest, SO41 5ZB
The Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel and Resort is situated at the edge of the New Forest overlooking the Solent and the Isle of Wight,
in the historical town of Lymington. Within easy reach of the New Forest towns of Lynhurst and Brockenhurst.

Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel and Resort is set within a magnificent Tudor gabled Manor House and estate dating back to the 1820's. The hotel and resort offers 42 individual bedrooms offering modern facilities along with 54 luxury self catering lodges. Offering a full leisure club and spa with indoor and outdoor swimming pools, gym, health and beauty rooms, squash and outdoor tennis courts, pitch and put, putting and bowling green. We can also arrange a round of golf at the Walhampton Golf Course across the road.

Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel boasts modern facilities, wireless internet and broadband connection available in most suites, the hotel is the ideal venue for private dining functions, weddings and conferences, with suites catering for up to 90 people venue. The hotel is also licensed to host civil wedding ceremonies.

For the taste-buds our Waterford Restaurant, overlooking the landscaped grounds and Solent is ideal or choose a more relaxed atmosphere in our newly refurbished Sails Brasserie, with al-fresco dining available during the summer months.

Picture of Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel, New Forest at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 39 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel great, pity about the steak club!
We could not fault the hotel accommodation, reception staff were brilliant and could not have been more helpful. The rooms are really nice and comfortable, excellent size and well maintained.
The pool area is very good. The only down side was the Steak House, food was O.K. but the service was really slow at breakfast and also during the day, We did not eat there in the evening as we felt the prices were high. I had smoked haddock, for breakfast, a supplement of £2.75, very disappointing as the portion was small although the poached eggs were very good

Reviewed by
michael savell

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel with ee

Reviewed by
Bridget O'Neill

From Addlestone, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

definitely will return
Room was good size and clean with large, comfortable bed. Only complaint was lateness of servicing (not made up until approx 3pm). Breakfast was excellent, good buffet, plenty of coffee, lots of choice of cereals, fruit, cheese etc. Cooked kippers and haddock were good but not worth the extra charge. Overall a very pleasant stay, will definitely return.

Reviewed by
Agnes D

From Longfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel staff very friendly. Waitresses struggle with English as a foreign language and offering a professional service. Often having to reminded and prompted.
For a late deal it was a dark and ordinary room with a few mod cons but some taken out such as a fridge.

Reviewed by
C Millar

From Kingston upon Thames, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Low charges, high value
Our hotel room was of showhouse quality - absolutely perfect. The hotel's amenities were excellent and its waterside setting was breathtaking. The service was generally of a high standard but for the drinks in the bar before dinner - perhaps there was understaffing here, as we had to wait some time. All in all, a wonderful stay

Reviewed by
Terry C

From Dunstable, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family leisure break
We have just spent two nights at Elmers court with our children age 12 and 6. We were fortunate with great weather on the first day and so were able to use the fabulous outdoor pool, which was wonderful, and quite idyllic. The family rooms are larger than average, and in good order, with fridge. The following days were not blessed with good weather so we made fulll use of the indoor leisure/spa facilities which we can highly recommend. On the whole we had a marvellous short break in a great location. There are however just a few downsides; there are areas of the hotel (including the paintwork) that would benefit from a good refurbishment, the steakhouse has wonderful food but lacks atmosphere and is pricey. in summary; I think the hotel is worthy of its star rating and its facilities are excellent, its a great luxury hotel in need of some TLC, but I will definately return.

Reviewed by
s lingham

From Rochester, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

small rooms no value for money
They converted a sofa into a bed for the kids and called it a family room very less space to move around also they gave us the worst possible room no views and on groind floor , felt a bit discriminated , very expensive 390 for 2 nights the manager defends reviews by saying its a spa, I fail to agree.

Reviewed by
Anindya Chakrabarti

From Slough, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely venue, great staff, but disabled access needs attention
Despite having confirmed a few days before our arrival that we had been allocated the hotel's accessible room with wetroom shower (booked via Laterooms nine months in advance), something had gone wrong and the room was not available. This was extremely frustrating as we had spent several hours on-line and by phone trying to source a hotel with suitable accommodation and thought we had found the ideal venue.
Staff were apologetic and did their best to rectify matters but it appears that the hotel has only one truly accessible room. The replacement was OK, but the shower had a step up, inadequate handrails, and the floor was very slippery outside the mat and needed using with great care. The ramp provided to access the room was not suitable to allow access by mobility scooter or wheelchair and it is fortunate that my husband can manage to stand and walk a little way.
Having said that, the room was attractive, clean and comfortable. The hotel gardens are beautiful (though again there are access issues) and the facilities provided impressive. Everyone enjoyed the food and service in the steak restaurant where there was plenty of choice for the three vegetarians in our party. The waitress was wonderful, engaging with our party with professionalism and humour. In fact all the staff we encountered were attentive and helpful. Our comments about the problems we had experienced were listened to sympathetically by the duty manager and we were satisfied with the response offered. This is a lovely hotel, and hopefully measures can be taken to improve and expand accommodation for those with disabilities.

Reviewed by
Christine K

From Witney, England
Who stayed in May 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great estate
Really roomy with great facilities.

Reviewed by
Peter B

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

They were stretched at breakfast. There were massive tv screens on all the time. The restaurant lacks atmosphere.

Reviewed by
Nick T

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next