No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Parkgate Road,Ledsham , Chester, CH66 9PB
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa is set within 27 acres of woodland and gardens, yet only 6 miles from Chester city centre. The hotel is a perfect location for guests staying for leisure or business. It is literally just minutes away from Deeside Industrial Estate, Ellesmere Port and Chester Business park, as well as the M56, M53 and 20 minutes drive from the M6. Equally, the hotel's tranquil setting and proximity to Chester, the beautiful Wirrall countryside, North Wales and the Cheshire Oaks shopping outlet makes this ideal base for those wishing to explore the area. The major cities of Chester, Liverpool "The Capital of Culture 2008" and Manchester are only short drives away. From here you can visit any of the major attractions, sporting and musical events taking place in the region.

Our leisure club provides opportunities that are second to none, with the latest equipment and a team of fitness and beauty professionals. Try a few lengths in our 18m pool or unwind and re-engergize in the aromatic steam room or sauna. For food lovers we have The British Grill, our newly refurbished 2 AA rosette restaurant offering classic British dishes, with a twist.

Free wifi is available in all public areas, meetings rooms and guest rooms.
Picture of Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa, Chester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 36 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel staff where very nice and happy to help. But I would not stay again due to prices of food
Room was ok not as plush as the front area but had everything I needed. The staff where great and the leisure facility's where great well worth a visit. The down side I ordered a burger which was well over priced and ask how I wanted it cooked :( bad mistake the meat had fat, gristle and cartage in it not what I would expect from a hotel at £16 should have gone to macdonalds as that's expected for £3 a meal. Also when I checked out they charged me £3 to use my card and £3.15 for a small bottle of coke! Room was reasonably priced but that out weighs the price for everything else. Would not stay again!!

Reviewed by
S Davies

From Cwmbran, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel with helpful staff.

Reviewed by
Edward Matson

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Two night break to Chester Zoo
The hotel was lovely. Very clean and a 10 min drive from Chester Zoo. Great location. The size of the room was fine and there were plenty of towels. Hairdryer was not very good but all other room facilities were great. The pool was warm and facilities in the changing area great for a family. The food in the restaurant was nice but not outstanding. The price of food here was too expensive for the quality of food consumed, therefore we popped to Brewers Fayre (2mins from hotel) on the second night. Reasonable and not too far. Would come back to the hotel in the future. Lovely anf very friendly staff!!!

Reviewed by
L Williams

From Carmarthen, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly recommended
Beautiful grounds and a lovely country hotel close to Chester Zoo. My daughter and I were thoroughly welcomed by all the staff, who I found friendly and helpful. Will definitely return.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth Q

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Recently returned from a short midweek stay and would certainly visit again. Never ate at the hotel but fellow guests spoke very highly of food and service.
We had a great room which was perfect and staff were both friendly and chatty, only gripe is the pool opening hours for the young ones but I appreciate this is a health club as well.
Will definitely return. Thank you.

Reviewed by
Mark G

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would have preferred a buffet breakfast and they should be able to provide for the price they charge

Reviewed by
RONALD HARRIS

From Glenrothes, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

worst ever stay at a mcdonald hotel
food was very poor and service was terrible
when we complained all we got was a shrug of the shoulders and told they would deduct it off the bill.there was an earing lying on the bedroom floor from when we arrived till we left on leaving we handed it to the receptionist and she said she would have a word with housekeeper. our bed was never made properly the top cover was spread over and that was it

Reviewed by
william mclean

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice location
Very nice good.Hotel in lovely grounds. Food was good.

Reviewed by
Charles King

From Salford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very clean and cot was ready very impressed !

Reviewed by
Angela O

From Ashbourne, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

poor catering ream
Friendly receptionist on checkin
Rooms comfortable
Restaurant awful over priced for what you got
Were forgotten several times
Extremely disappointed.
Tried to complain and was told comment on guest quesyionaire

Reviewed by
P Netscher

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next