No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Thainstone House Hotel and Spa

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Inverurie , Inverurie, AB51 5NT
Set in acres of private garden and lush meadowland, Thainstone House Hotel has been lovingly designed to provide superb levels of hospitality. In the very heart of rural Aberdeenshire, you find yourself in an oasis of tranquillity, a majestic Palladian Mansion where you can relax in luxury as our friendly staff make you feel immediately at home.

Whilst today Thainstone provides the ultimate in four star luxury, it is impossible to escape its impressive history. In the 18th Century, the Jacobites put Thainstone to torch, however James Wilson of Thainstone escaped the fire and fled to America, where he later put his name to the American Declaration of Independence.

*Please be advised the Leisure Club at Thainstone House Hotel & Spa will be closed from the 17th August to the 1st September for an extensive upgrade. Treatment will be rooms closed till 9th September*

Under new ownership in the 19th Century, the present mansion was redesigned by renowned architect Archibald Simpson, who was responsible for shaping much of the present day city of Aberdeen.

Now considered a great property Thainstone enjoys elegant furnishings and restful décor, perfectly complementing the excellent facilities you would expect to find in such a hotel. With many original features and exceptional standards of service Thainstone House Hotel & Spa is renowned for offering 'luxury in the heart of rural Aberdeenshire'.

*Please Note* The sauna at Thainstone House Hotel is currently out of action until further notice due to refurbishment.
Picture of Thainstone House Hotel and Spa, Inverurie at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 35 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
62% recommended this accommodation to a friend 65% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

breakfast was poor quality. porrige had to be sent back.

Reviewed by
R Aitken

From Clydebank, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Over night stay
Very enjoyable stay with no hassle, food and rooms very good and plenty of amenities which I did not get a chance to use but had good look around and will use if my stay is of a longer period next time

Reviewed by
Peter Sweeney

From , UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very comfortable and relaxing atmosphere

Reviewed by
R Aitken

From Clydebank, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel with good potential but needs more work
The hotel is conveniently located not far from a main road but far enough to be quiet. The public spaces were varied and comfortably furnished with a fascinating collection of photographs of the colonial past hanging on the walls (tiger shoots etc). There is a small swimming pool just big enough for swimming lengths (10-12m?).
We found some staff a bit offhand on occasion, more interested in their own conversations than keeping guests happy. Others were helpful and attentive.
The room was smallish with a service road right outside the window. Our room had a locked connecting door to the next room which meant that we were woken by the telly next door and then periodic conversations between the occupants of the next room. Given that the hotel was not busy, it would have been easy to provide better spacing between occupied rooms.
Our experience of this hotel was similar to experiences of others we`ve had with internet booking: we were allocated the less favourable rooms, even though the hotel was not busy.
The breakfast was, at best indifferent.
The hotel has extensive grounds which were slightly run down and the approach road has speed humps with eroded surfacing which resulted in some alarming crashing noises from our car even when taken very slowly. Don`t even attempt it with a low slung sports car.
This was not a cheap hotel, even at Late Room prices and we left feeling disappointed at what we hoped would have been a much more enjoyable experience.

Reviewed by
John P

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was tiny for the price, but clean and bathroom was also very clean. Bar was very welcoming with good food served.

Reviewed by
IAN B

From Dingwall, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Winter break
Our room was clean and comfortable although the bathroom was chilly as the small towel rail was not sufficient to heat it properly. We assumed that refurbishment was on going as the stairway and corridor were clearly long overdue for painting and new carpets so that part was disappointing for us. However the food was fabulous and the staff excellent.

Reviewed by
M McLeod

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rooms let down the rest of the hotel
The entrance, staff and surroundings are lovely but the actual room was dirty, had marks on the wall, the hair dryer didn't blow out hot air and the tv had bits falling off it. With a bit of tlc the place will be wonderful.

Reviewed by
Nicole R

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A wonderful country retreat
I had a 1 night stay here on business. Staff were very welcoming and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. I had to leave before breakfast and was offered pastries & coffee at an ungodly hour! Staff checked some travel details online for me and although trip was for for business I enjoyed a leisurely swim and spent time in the Spa. Left feeling really chilled.

Reviewed by
V Walker

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice friendly staff! Food was Nouveaux Cuisine (small portions; pretty pictures on a plate). second night went into Inverurie to get a large Angus steak at a fraction of the price.

Reviewed by
R Hooper

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent aletrnative to extremely expensive hotels in Aberdeen itself.
A beautiful building with extremely attentive and welcoming staff, will be staying again soon

Reviewed by
Russell Blything

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next