No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Thainstone House Hotel and Spa

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Inverurie , Inverurie, AB51 5NT
Set in acres of private garden and lush meadowland, Thainstone House Hotel has been lovingly designed to provide superb levels of hospitality. In the very heart of rural Aberdeenshire, you find yourself in an oasis of tranquillity, a majestic Palladian Mansion where you can relax in luxury as our friendly staff make you feel immediately at home.

Whilst today Thainstone provides the ultimate in four star luxury, it is impossible to escape its impressive history. In the 18th Century, the Jacobites put Thainstone to torch, however James Wilson of Thainstone escaped the fire and fled to America, where he later put his name to the American Declaration of Independence.

*Please be advised the Leisure Club at Thainstone House Hotel & Spa will be closed from the 17th August to the 1st September for an extensive upgrade. Treatment will be rooms closed till 9th September*

Under new ownership in the 19th Century, the present mansion was redesigned by renowned architect Archibald Simpson, who was responsible for shaping much of the present day city of Aberdeen.

Now considered a great property Thainstone enjoys elegant furnishings and restful décor, perfectly complementing the excellent facilities you would expect to find in such a hotel. With many original features and exceptional standards of service Thainstone House Hotel & Spa is renowned for offering 'luxury in the heart of rural Aberdeenshire'.

*Please Note* The sauna at Thainstone House Hotel is currently out of action until further notice due to refurbishment.
Picture of Thainstone House Hotel and Spa, Inverurie at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 36 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
61% recommended this accommodation to a friend 64% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Winter break
Our room was clean and comfortable although the bathroom was chilly as the small towel rail was not sufficient to heat it properly. We assumed that refurbishment was on going as the stairway and corridor were clearly long overdue for painting and new carpets so that part was disappointing for us. However the food was fabulous and the staff excellent.

Reviewed by
M McLeod

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rooms let down the rest of the hotel
The entrance, staff and surroundings are lovely but the actual room was dirty, had marks on the wall, the hair dryer didn't blow out hot air and the tv had bits falling off it. With a bit of tlc the place will be wonderful.

Reviewed by
Nicole R

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A wonderful country retreat
I had a 1 night stay here on business. Staff were very welcoming and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. I had to leave before breakfast and was offered pastries & coffee at an ungodly hour! Staff checked some travel details online for me and although trip was for for business I enjoyed a leisurely swim and spent time in the Spa. Left feeling really chilled.

Reviewed by
V Walker

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice friendly staff! Food was Nouveaux Cuisine (small portions; pretty pictures on a plate). second night went into Inverurie to get a large Angus steak at a fraction of the price.

Reviewed by
R Hooper

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent aletrnative to extremely expensive hotels in Aberdeen itself.
A beautiful building with extremely attentive and welcoming staff, will be staying again soon

Reviewed by
Russell Blything

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel
Stayed for one night for a friends wedding. It's a lovely hotel with friendly and helpfull staff. Getting a discounted price from late booking.com made this good value for money, I do not think it is worth the full price.

Reviewed by
Caroline P

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic overnight stay, very helpful staff
I booked a extra large room but what I got was beyond expectations, huge living room as well as bedroom but the bathroom was very special, double Jacuzzi bath topped the room. Staff were very helpful especially receptionist who could not have been more helpful. Fantastic food, a little expensive but as it was a special anniversary I didn't mind. Like other have said its in the process of being upgraded so a lack of signs to where anything was the only downside but im nit-picking and really enjoyed my stay

Reviewed by
David M

From Ellon, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
We have stayed here previously and were left saddened at the decline from 2 years ago. Room was clean but a bit tired looking. Breakfast was also not as good as I remembered with scrambled eggs being a bit off colour and crunchy (think someone left some eggshells in there!). Partner had House Hot plate which he said was ok - really said it all! Bit disappointed with portion I think with just 1 sausage and one rasher bacon! I should have said something at the time I guess but will just book elsewhere in future

Reviewed by
J Alexander

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel fails to deliver a "style" Poorly sign-posted, dimly lit unremarkable decor despite architectural splendour. Food very standard, breakfast did not match menu. Room small but adequate

Reviewed by
Roger C

From Currie, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

well, it's ok
The hotel has been taken over recently and is being refurbished - which it needed. Has a decent gym, but lots of TVs in it, which you can't plug a head set into. no locks on the lockers -well there may have been but there was no one on gym reception to ask.
Dining room staff helpful and pleasant. nice tasting style table d'hote menu with some really tasty things; a good dinner. Service attentive.
What let it down was the attitude of the reception staff. There is a line between being efficient and being rude. They were close to the latter.
I am sure that the place will be better once the refurb is done, but the reception people need to be more welcoming.
Be aware: you will be charged £2.50 to pay the bill with a credit card! I have never had that before in a hotel and I was unimpressed by having to on this occasion. I will only go back if I have to.
Also note that the hotel does a lot of weddings, so you may get caught up in the crowds etc associated with that sort of event.

Reviewed by
P Davies

From Helensburgh, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next