No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Trinity Lodge

12 South Frederick Street , Dublin, D2
Situated in the heart of Dublin, just beside Trinity College, this family-owned and operated 4-star lodge offers excellent en-suite
accommodation in an authentic Georgian townhouse. Established in 1997, Trinity Lodge is one of the finest examples of Georgian-period
accommodation available in the center of Dublin and is comprised of 3 beautifully restored original Georgian houses. The Lodge is a splendid
craft of Georgian elegance and contemporary style.

High-speed wired internet access and Wi-Fi wireless internet access are available in all rooms and common areas.

Trinity Lodge has 26 spacious and well-appointed air-conditioned rooms. Family rooms are also available and they can accommodate up to 6 people.
All rooms are en-suite with shower or bath and have tea/coffee making facilities. Most of our Deluxe Twin Rooms have 2 king size beds.

Breakfasts are served every day in the spacious dining room, and are prepared using only organic products. Guests can choose from the buffet
breakfast a selection of organic fruits and yoghurts, cheeses, cereals and pastries, or hot breakfasts including full Irish breakfast,
omelettes and eggs benedict.

Perfect for business and leisure travelers alike Trinity Lodge has a unrivaled location as Grafton Street, Temple Bar, O'Connell Street, the
city's museums and theaters are just a few steps away. Aviva Stadium, RDS, Grand Canal Theatre, IFSC, Dublin Convention Centre, The O2 Arena
are also all within easy reach.
The air coach (airport bus) and the Dublin city bus tour leave from right beside the lodge. The LUAS network is 5 minutes away.

Setanta Car Park is located just beside the hotel and our guests avail of special rates during your stay:17.50 Euro/24 hours or 7 Euro overnight 7pm-9am, no booking necessary."

Picture of Trinity Lodge, Dublin at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 10 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dissapointing
There was no air conditioning or fan in the room on a day that was 27 degrees celsius.
After a very warm night and difficulty sleeping, I just managed to catch some sleep from about 7am but was awoken at 10am by a call advising me that breakfast would be finished soon! I did not request this call and found it highly patronising. Again, I was just about to leave and close the door of my room at 12, I heard the phone ring. I rang in to answer it, only to be 'advised' that check out time was 12!!! not 2 minutes after 12! ridiculous. The staff seem to think it's acceptable to treat guests like children.
I then had to catch a flight exhausted as the only sleep I managed was disturbed.
Will never stay again!!

Reviewed by
AOIFE H

From Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Anne-Belfast
I was booked into the hotel for 1 night, with 2 teenage girls. The purpose of the trip was to celebrate a birthday, and go shopping. Location was excellent, 5-10 minutes walk from Temple Bar St Stephens Green, and all shopping areas. Parking right beside the hotel with 50% off for hotel guests. The room was excellent with 2 king size beds, Staff were very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was excellent, with staff encouraging us to order off the menu if we did not see anything we liked. I would highly recommend this hotel and hope to stay here again,

Reviewed by
ANNE D

From Belfast, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Far better places to stay for the same money
We paid £95 for one double room for one night. We both love Dublin and have been many times. Our room (12) was pokey, had very little if any natural light,looked out onto a air conditioning unit and the bed was not comfortable. At various time during our stay the walls and ceiling literally shook with the vibration of showers being used in other rooms. This was very loud and woke us up at 2a.m,6a.m and 9a.m (terrible nights sleep despite several Guiness on board !) The staff were not interested and simply agreed it was a problem. The other issue was on arrival I was told I could not check in without the card I had used to book the room. The room as paid in full in advance to secure the cheapest rate however I do not use the pin number (only internet). The receptionist could not compute this and although I had the card she refused to book us in until I produced another debit card. Given there is no mini bar or hotel bar I far from agree with this policy. Dublin/Ireland is an amazing place-this place isn't. If you are looking for a sound base and a good night sleep after the amazing night life of Dublin then try else where.

Reviewed by
N Morris

From Darlington, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant welcome. Room basic but clean. Good central location in quiet street.
For no frills accommodation, Trinity Lodge is fine.The single room was basic but comfortable and clean and above all it was quiet given how centrally the hotel is situated near Grafton Street and Trinity College. At the right price, would be happy to stay again.

Reviewed by
Michael Deasy

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Location
Trinity Lodge sits right by Trinity College and very close to Grafton St. The hotel is more than one building. One of them sits above a restaurant so be careful where your room is. My room was two floors above the restaurant and didn't cause any noise. My husband and I stayed with our 4 and 5 year old in room 14, family room. It was nice and large and the beds were comfortable. Wasn't the cleanest room and the bathroom door didn't lock. I would say it's an adequate room with a superb location, it's 3 star European but a 2 star American. We didn't spend a lot of time in the room or facility so it was adequate for what we needed.

Reviewed by
M Bernacki

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Huge room, tiny bathroom
A very off the wall Hotel experience which is no bad thing. They are slightly different in that the hotel is a few converted large terrace houses. They are done very well and in good taste. There is however no bar or communal area for eating/drinking. Your breakfast is left outside your room in a paper bag. Evening food is no issue because you are right in the middle of Dublin. The only real gripe is that the room was enormous (with 2 double beds) but the bathroom was tiny and a bit rough round the edges.

Reviewed by
Andrew H

From Swindon, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not impressed with breakfast for 3 of us arriving outside bedroom door in 3 brown paper bags with frozen solid orange juice, bruised apples, & cold iced buns.

Reviewed by
J Symonds

From Hereford, England
Who stayed in November 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location otherwise just ok
Good spot with Grafton Street, Temple Bar, O'Connell Street and Trinity College all an easy walk. Hotel facilities adequate rather than good, with shower room particularly disappointing. Room rates too high for what was provided.

Reviewed by
richard p

From Plymouth, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Trinity lodge is more like a guest house than a hotel
The first impression you get is that you do not feel you are in a hotel! no proper welcome, smelly corridors and tired decor.

Reviewed by
Reza D

From London, England
Who stayed in September 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Towel in shower, half drank cup of tea left on side. Bed unclean.
Room seemed dated and not as per photo.

Reviewed by
Thomas Brady

From London, England
Who stayed in September 2012

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.