Reviews - Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel and Spa


Parkgate Road,Mollington, Chester, CH1 6NN

Price From 150.71 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (83)

59% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • P Brown

  • September 2015

Overall the HOtel was over priced for what it was needs a update to charge them prices.

The hotel needs a big refurbish and a good clean, The Photos of the Hotel tell a different story, I booked this for our first anniversary and was very disappointed, Food and drink very over priced.

The whole time we was in he hotel there was a awful smell inn which they told us it was the drains made in very unpleasant when we was in the pool not very clean either.

  • Tim R

  • September 2015

Nice hotel, no complaints

Room was pretty reasonable, stay was relaxing.

Breakfasts were very nice. Didn't try out the facilities though.

  • Gary Watt

  • September 2015

Birthday break.

Our stay at the Mollington was only for one night.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. however the room that we were given had seen better days. Very clean and comfortable but very dated, and tired looking. Hotel is in a great location and has easy access to Chester and the surrounding area. Could do with the rooms having a good refurbishment.

  • Sarah m

  • August 2015

In need of some work

The hotel and restaurant staff were pleasant enough but the room we were in had very thin walls.

Throughout the night the pipes made a noise everytime someone in a nearby room used the toilet. Also the bed was not comfy. This together with the constant noise of the pipes meant we did not get much sleep at all. The hotel itself looks like it could do with some work - particularly replacing carpets which were threadbare in places. The food in the restaurant was good, but pricey (£16 for a salad with a few bits of chicken in).

  • Marie L

  • August 2015

Needs updating

The best things about this hotel are the location and the quality of the food.

Hotel is very tired and run down in places. Not comparable with other four star hotels.

  • Kate P

  • August 2015

Mixed experience.

We had a room on the road side of the hotel, it was small, noisy and not as clean and fresh as I would expect from a 4 star hotel.

However on raising my issues with the manager I was immediately offered a room on the grounds side of the hotel that was of a higher standard and quieter. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. This is a pet friendly hotel so we were able to take our dog, however there was a charge of £15 per night for the dog, which I feel is a bit steep, I am not sure what this charge covers. The walls are very thin and we could hear the T.V. and conversations in the adjoining rooms. The hotel is generally a nice place to base yourself with easy access to Chester and the surrounding area as well as North Wales. The food at the hotel was excellent.

  • Gemma R

  • July 2015

Rooms need refurbishment

The hotel staff & reception were good.

The breakfast in the morning was delicious. You could get fruit (a good selection, not just melon), cereal, breads, pastries and then all the hot stuff, bacon & eggs, including hash browns. Our room was very tired, the bathroom was clean but there were odd stains on the bedroom carpet. if the rooms were updated I would definitely stay again. Great central location to Chester, shops, bars & restaurants. 5 minutes in a taxi.

  • L Roe

  • June 2015


All about the hotel was nice although in need of decorating

  • Robert K

  • June 2015

Scruffy hotel

In dire need of refurbishment.

Tired, dated decor. Carpets need replacing throughout. Laundry left in hallways overnight. Chipped and worn varnish and paintwork throughout. We paid £129 without breakfast for one of the worst looking rooms I've ever stayed in. We complained and were moved to a family room. Much bigger with nice view over the garden but dust everywhere, cold, shower head broken and in desperate need of modernisation. Same calibre of accommodation that I'd expect to pay £40 for in Blackpool (with breakfast). Sort it out. Wouldn't cost much to replace some furniture and paint/varnish throughout!

  • Kristine M

  • April 2015

Lovely welcoming staff ensure a comfortable stay

All staff were very welcoming and friendly which was a good start.

Although they did not have a family room they generously gave us two rooms with an interconnecting door so our children were nearby. Sadly the amount of staff on hand that evening was down to a minimum so we had to wait about half an hour for our bar food. When it arrived though it was very nice. The hotel was obviously once quite a grand place but it is now looking very tired especially the carpets and bathrooms. However, everything was clean and comfortable.