No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel and Spa

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Parkgate Road,Mollington , Chester, CH1 6NN

This 4-star country-house hotel is set in nice grounds, 1 mile from Chester city centre. It has an indoor swimming pool, a sauna, gym, hot tub, squash courts and spa.

Mollington Banastre has free parking, Free WIFI and a Spa. The Garden Room Restaurant looks out over the gardens and offers modern cuisine. The lounge bar and the informal Brasserie in the Health Club serve afternoon tea, light snacks and drinks. The hotel is 5 minutes from Chester Racecourse.

Rooms at Mollington are elegantly decorated and offer work desks, some with garden views. All rooms have an en suite bathroom, flat-screen TV with Freeview, free WIFI and tea and coffee facilities.

Well located for the M56, Chester, Mollington Banastre Hotel is also 5 minutes’ drive from Cheshire Oaks Shopping Outlet where guests receive an additional 10% discount. Ellesmere Port and Chester Zoo are both under 10 minutes drive.
Picture of Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel and Spa, Chester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 153 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
66% recommended this accommodation to a friend 68% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Value

Reviewed by
Rachel H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly
Hotel staff were very friendly and couldn't find faults would recommend to family and friends

Reviewed by
s todd

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very disappointing
Really disappointed, we booked one night for accommodation after a wedding thinking it was quite pricey but it sounded really great on the website, included free tickets to the zoo and would be a bit of a treat. However the accommodation simply wasn't four star standard and in the end the perks seemed as if they were only offered to distract us from the quality of the accommodation. The bathroom was terrible, the shower head didn't attach properly and I couldn't get any hot water from it. The advertised free wifi didn't work. The room was not well lit. Surfaces were dusty and there were crumbs on the carpet as if it hadn't been hoovered. In the morning there was litter on the public landing and in the garden outside the breakfast room. And to top it all off, when we checked out the receptionist had no interest in whether or not we had enjoyed our stay whatsoever! We didn't try the swimming pool in the end because we just wanted to get out of there. I left comments on departure which needless to say haven't been followed up, despite the leaflet saying that they check them daily. Certainly won't be going there again.

Reviewed by
Emily G

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired hotel but good location
Positive: This hotel is in a great location
Negatives: Tired hotel in need of a revamp, not value for money, staff were unhelpful and slow on reception

Reviewed by
T Wedd

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

.
.

Reviewed by
M Thomson

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice, No complaints
We had a lovely few nights at this hotel for my girlfriends birthday & couldn't really complain.
The room was nice & was also clean on arrival & also cleaned with fresh towels etc while we were there, the rooms had tea making facilities with buiscuits and also 2 bottles of water each day which I thought was a nice touch as iv never seen that when staying anywhere before.
The bed was quite hard to what I'm used to but some may prefer that, the pillows were soft & comfortable which is the main thing for me!! There was a shower over the bath which was very powerful & as hot as you could stand do all in all we were very happy with the room
The hotel itself was about 2.5 miles from Chester centre which required a taxi if you wanted to have a drink. We payed £5 there & £10 on the way back so not too bad, the staff were all very friendly & helpfull from our experience & having the pool, jacuzzi etc was a nice bonus to our stay.
The breakfast at the hotel was buffet style & had everything you'd expect from an English breakfast & also had a good continental option, the food area also had some lovely views if you could get near the windows
We only had one drink at the hotel while we waited for our taxi into the city centre which did seem expensive compared to the city centre prices we payed later & if I was being extremely picky I'd say the hotel could do with a little spruce with a few licks of paint etc here & there which to be fair it did look like they were doing along some corridors
All in all we had a very enjoyable stay & I would go back there again

Reviewed by
Simon S

From Brierley Hill, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One day holiday
Ivy all over the windows, road outside was very noisy, cooked breakfast was well done not in a good way and ceiling in the bedroom was leaking.

Reviewed by
Stuart M

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fears unfounded
After reading a few reviews I was concerned our stay might not be up to standard. But it was. We found the staff welcoming and friendly. We booked on a saver option which included a Chester Zoo pass and inclusive breakfast. These worked out well for us, and the following day we utilised the pool and gym facilities (which were available to us all day, had we wished) at no charge. Even towels were included. The rooms were pleasant, and far nicer than the usual Premier Inn or Travelodge type. Bottom line? - I would quite happily book to go there again

Reviewed by
Nicholas M

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Marmite...
The reviews for the hotel seem to take the Marmite approach; either the reviewer loved it or hated it. So with this in mind, I booked a family room for my two teens and I, and when we arrived we were pleasantly surprised. The staff were lovely and very helpful, the room large, clean and airy. The food in the restaurant was excellent, and the manager knew his cellar well. All-in, it was a pleasurable stay and extremely good value.

Reviewed by
Martin O'Neal

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Average
we had breakfast both days we stayed and it was lovely I especially enjoyed the cold buffet selections . We didn't have lunch or dinner there however we did have a drink and I thought at £10 for 2 drinks it was a bit steep. There was no air conditioning in the room and the towel radiator was on full and we were not able to switch it off. The temperature was uncomfortable and both me and my partner struggled sleep because of this. The distance from the town was ideal as it only took around 5 minutes to get there. I would stay again in a cooler month as the rooms were too uncomfortable with the summer heat unless air conditioning was introduced to the rooms.

Reviewed by
clare s

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next