No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel and Spa

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Parkgate Road,Mollington , Chester, CH1 6NN

This 4-star country-house hotel is set in nice grounds, 1 mile from Chester city centre. It has an indoor swimming pool, a sauna, gym, hot tub, squash courts and spa.

Mollington Banastre has free parking, Free WIFI and a Spa. The Garden Room Restaurant looks out over the gardens and offers modern cuisine. The lounge bar and the informal Brasserie in the Health Club serve afternoon tea, light snacks and drinks. The hotel is 5 minutes from Chester Racecourse.

Rooms at Mollington are elegantly decorated and offer work desks, some with garden views. All rooms have an en suite bathroom, flat-screen TV with Freeview, free WIFI and tea and coffee facilities.

Well located for the M56, Chester, Mollington Banastre Hotel is also 5 minutes’ drive from Cheshire Oaks Shopping Outlet where guests receive an additional 10% discount. Ellesmere Port and Chester Zoo are both under 10 minutes drive.
Picture of Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel and Spa, Chester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 153 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
66% recommended this accommodation to a friend 68% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overpriced and tired, in need of a lot of attention to justify the cost
We booked 2 rooms at the hotel for a family weekend; one for ourselves, our toddler and our baby and one for my parents. We specified the age of both children on booking.
On arrival, we were directed to our family room which was on the first floor. The only lift available was far too small to fit our pram into (it barely fit my husband and 2 year old in) so we were forced to leave the 2 year old alone on the landing whilst my husband ran back downstairs to help me lug our baby up stairs in her pram. Not impressive,
The room had a separate room off it for the children, complete with 2 single beds. Not a lot of use for my 8 month old. We discovered that the cot bed we'd requested had been placed in my parents' room despite them having put us in a family room!
The toilet in our bathroom barely flushed; the one in my parents' room didn't flush at all. Everything was tired- even the loo roll holder fell off the wall when getting toilet paper. There was one tiny window in our room which only opened a crack, leaving us cooking on a hot weekend. The mattress had seen better days and sagged dreadfully in the middle with both of us on.
The king size bed in my parents' room had been made up with a double sheet so was very uncomfortable as it just rolled up.
The swimming pool was nice with a good selection of toys for the children to use and nice soft clean towels provided as you arrived. The changing rooms however were a nightmare; most of the locker doors were broken and hanging off the hinges, which was a joy when in charge of a crawling baby. Most of the showers didn't work; those that did didn't come warm. The shower gel dispensers were empty as were the holders for damp kit bags.
Dinner was below par too; very slow service, a waitress who responded "I don't know" to every question and made no effort to remedy her ignorance. The food was mediocre at best. Breakfast was slightly better although I did laugh when someone asked for more eggs because the ones available were so rubbery they bounced!
All in all I have absolutely no clue how this hotel holds on to its rating. We complained on departure and the staff could not have cared less. I'm sure 25 years ago it was very much the place to go but I don't think anything has been updated or even given a lick of paint since.

Reviewed by
Rebecca W

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never again!
The whole experience was very disappinting. The hotel was tired and the room was horrible. Decor was dated, the furniture threadbare and the bathroom was not clean. The mattress was thin and old. The lighting was poor, carpets stained, the room was not pleasurable to be in and we couldn't wait to leave. The food was also poor. The evening meal was horrible. My pasta did not have the sauce as described on the menu. When I asked for some Parmesan to give it some flavour, the cheese that came back was a cheddar. The breakfast is a buffet style which looked unappetising and was edible at best. The toaster had broken and we had eaten half our breakfast before they made some from the kitchen. The staff were useless, walking around quite aimlessly. The reception staff were friendly however.
The full price was supposed to be £180.00 for the room and it was 4 star. We booked it as a special offer deal at £89. It most definitely is not 4 star or worth £89 let alone its full price!

Reviewed by
D Smith

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good and comfortable

Reviewed by
R Lewis

From Wallasey, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

4 Star rating?
Disappointing in some aspects - the bedroom had flaking paint on the skirting and no proper window catch. I had to ask 3 times for coffee at breakfast the first morning and was eventually served (deliberately?) vile tasting liquid. The pool area could be cleaner and it would help if overshoes and wet bags were provided in the dispensers. On a positive note, the reception staff were most helpful. I would stay again if the hotel was redecorated and all facilities kept up to standard.

Reviewed by
Brian E

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not Good :(
Whilst the hotel is in a lovely location that is a far as it goes. We paid £68.00 for a room that you could not swing a rat in, the room was very like a premier inn room which we pay £29 for !! We found the hotel to be quite dirty, wallpaper peeling off walls, dirty windows etc. We also found that a couple of the staff were quite dishevelled in appearance. We did not eat at the hotel but did have a couple of drinks in the bar at the end of the night, we had a fright when we noticed a mouse running round in the dining area, the bar staff played this down by saying " well we are in the country" When we were checking out in the morning the receptionist tried to charge me more than I owed and it took three members of staff to sort the issue out over ten minutes !! On a good note the pool was nice.

Reviewed by
gail smith

From Cannock, England
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brook Mollington - Good Experience
I arrived late (1030pm) but had rung ahead, to ensure single room was kept. I was given Room 6, which was a spacious double (upgraded, no extra charge). Free wi-fi worked well, kettle/tea/coffee all good (PLUS FREE BICCIES), room and big bathroom immaculate, comfortable bed, view ou onto lawnms and trees, courteous staff. I was very happy with my brief one-night stay. Good value in a large and smart hotel, from what I saw. I didn't use the dining room.

Reviewed by
brian c

From Devizes, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel, friendly staff. Would defiantly stay again! Nice pool with good facilities :)

Reviewed by
A Bryant

From Aberystwyth, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brook Mollington banastre cannot call itself a spa hotel at all.
The whole hotel smells and feels damp and is in serious need of a refurbishment.How it can give itself four stars is beyond me.The so-called spa part of the hotel is an out of date small swimming pool and tiny jacuzzi,the changing rooms are disgusting and showers a health hazard.I would seriously recommend not staying there at all as it is a disgrace.

Reviewed by
L Fletcher

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel was in need of updating and was not the 4star country house hotel I expected. However the food was nice and the staff Were nice. They were a little busy in the restaurant which led to us having to wait a while between courses but the waiter was great.

Reviewed by
katy g

From Thornton Cleveleys, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money!
Booked the family offer with a nights stay in a family room with tickets for Chester Zoo for £165. I read the reviews after booking and must admit felt quite anxious, however, had no reason to be. We arrived with our two young children an hour before our check in time. The lady at reception was lovely and said our room was ready and checked us in. We were in room 19, and it was more like a suite!! It was huge and the kids were well impressed! Lovely big bed for me and hubby, area with settee and tv, and alcove with 2 single beds for the kids. The bathroom was really spacious and very clean! We decided to take the kids down to the pool, and again staff there very helpful, showed us all the facilities, and they even provided arm bands for the kids (even though we had our own). Pool was lovely and warm, with 2 shallow ends for the kids to play. The only couple of points I would say was the hotel decor probably needs modernising and updating a little bit, (but this didn't effect our stay) and the bacon and sausage at the breakfast could have been better - but overall, a good hotel, lovely staff - and great value for money! Would book again!

Reviewed by
B Fowler

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next