You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - BEST WESTERN The Rose And Crown Colchester

3

East Street, Colchester, CO1 2TZ

Price From 154.70 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (16)

56% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • A Chalk

  • August 2016

Over night stay

Staff were excellent.

Very helpful when my safe wouldn't work with all my personal things in it, was quickly resolved & I enjoyed the complimentary breakfast the next morning

  • T KEEBLE

  • August 2016

Maintenance Issues.

On arrival I was told that the twin room I requested was actually a double (I was with my father).

Credits to the hotel they re-arranged this accordingly and said it was down to Late Rooms.com not clearly providing the 'twin or double' option. Only problem with the room was severe plumbing issues. The waste pipe seemed to be blocked, meaning that when one drained out the water in the wash hand basin it gurgled up into the bath tub and all the stagnant water smells that went with it.

  • Alfreda P

  • July 2016

We were not informed at booking or at the reception that there was a party that would be very noisy and would go on until just after midnight, this was unacceptable.

When I rang at 11pm to the night porter he was unable to help... Our room was very hot, the towel rain in the bathroom was so hot we were unable to touch it, we could not find where to turn it off so went to reception and was told to go to the fusebox near the top of the bathroom door and turn the fuse off. Flying Ants in the room opposite and the night porter was hoovering at 1am. I will be listing my complaints today with Head Office and the Hotel manager as no one was available during our stay.

  • Alan B

  • May 2016

Very pleasant hotel with history

Lovely hotel full of history.

Nice spacious room, excellent shower facilities. Fantastic food. Good selection of types of drink. Plenty of parking. Would have been nice to had a bit more to read about the hotel that itself advertises as the "oldest hotel" in the "oldest town". Only drawback was the language of some of the bar's clientele. I don't mind swearing and I am not averse to it in specific circumstances, but sometimes it goes over the top, especially when other diners had children with them. Suggest that the management monitor it a bit more.

  • L Pearson

  • December 2015

Very pretty hotel.

very polite and friendly staff. only stayed one night but would definitely return. If u was super picky the room was very warm.

  • Kate W

  • December 2015

The hotel perfectly captured the history of Colchester. However the noise from the "disco" did not.

The hotel was clean, the chambermaids brilliant and the the hotel building's history interesting and welcome warm.

However it was not mentioned when making the booking online that the hotel was hosting a disco until midnight and we were not emailed until 2 days after our initial booking. This left us with no choice but to endure the disruption to our nights sleep as we were on tight budget and could not afford to rebook at another more expensive hotel. I did email the hotel to state this and how they should of mentioned the disruption expected and they replied with apologies and they would mention this to their promotions department to see if disruptive events could be highlighted on their website for future bookings. The so called "disco" sounded like a house music club night with bass lines reverberating around the hotel till midnight. Even though the hotel had moved us to what they described "away from the festivities where we can" (I dread to think the night guests nearer to the function room had to endure) we were still disturbed by the noise of the disco and the rowdy and festively merry guests attending it.

No offer was made by the hotel to compensate for our disturbed night and when I enquired about breakfast - which is not included in the price of the stay - the chance to offer us a free breakfast to make up for our noisy night was ignored. The overall feeling we had that the hotel was happy to make money from a loud and noisy function at the cost of its paying guests - which is surely the hotels main function - its guests after a decent room to sleep in for the night. I would never stay at a Great Western Hotel again as they obviously believe the comfort of their guests is of less importance to those 'partying' at their establishment. So the offers I have seen on Trip Advisor etc regarding discounts for any further stays would be useless. As it would seem is this hotel if you require a decent nights sleep.

  • rebecca p

  • September 2015

Beautiful place, overpriced breakfast

Over all had a very lovely stay.

We had the four poster bed and spa bath room. Staff were brilliant, very freindly and helpful. Breakfast was over priced, a standard fry up being nearly 12 pounds. If visiting again I would ask for a room at the back of the hotel as all night all you can hear is lorrys on the busy road. But I would definitely stay again as was pleased with customer service and it's not far from the town.

  • j shepherd

  • August 2015

excellent

having read some of the reviews i was a little concerned but came with an open mind.

Check in was friendly and quick. Room was excellent quality, comfy bed and a newly refurbed bathroom . I eat in the bar in the evening, service was good and attentive, and the food was of a good standard presented well and very tasty. And to the people who moaned that every thing creaked, well I am 55 and I creak this building is many years older so expect creaking floors and doors and low ceilings etc its all part of a very very old building.

  • Terence B

  • August 2015

Good, with a few irritations

Very clean hotel with good service from everybody.

Not in the centre of town but about a mile away. Good size rooms and nice sized bathroom. Well decorated with an old world charm. However, it is surrounded by three roads and in the summer with the windows open it can be a bit noisy. The hard rock function on the Friday night did not help at all. The breakfast is expensive at £10 for a continental and £12 for the full English. The coffee at breakfast is the weakest coffee in the world and the very thin sliced white bread is not good at all. In conclusion, this is a nice hotel to stay in if you do not mind noise and you enjoy weak coffee and thin toast. I have stated that I would not return to this hotel and would not recommend to a friend. I would like to qualify this by saying that we would try somewhere else next time, probably out of town as there are alternatives. However, if you did stay at this hotel you could do a lot worse!

  • Caroline w

  • May 2015

Every where was very creaky - even in the bedroom every where you walked it creaked.

The hotel was lovely though apart from the creaky part. The room was nice - good value for money. Although me and my partner wasn't pleased about the customer service .. We waited a while to be checked in & the women was very snotty -No politeNess or smiley welcome. . That was our only down side.