Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > South East England > Essex > Colchester Hotels > BEST WESTERN The Rose And Crown Colchester
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN The Rose And Crown Colchester

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
East Street, Colchester, CO1 2TZ
The oldest Hotel in England’s oldest recorded town. The BEST WESTERN Rose and Crown Hotel, originally a 14th century posting house, lovingly restored to a modern day hotel. Nine executive rooms featuring flat screen LCD televisions, air-conditioning, laptop charging safes and premium quality fixtures and furnishings. Alternatively, choose from the historic oak beamed rooms in the original house, or the more contemporary rooms in the main building. All rooms have an entertainment system and either Wi-Fi or Internet data port. The Oak room restaurant has been recently refurbished and offers a contemporary setting and great casual dining, a favorite with the locals and guests alike. Have a pre-dinner drink in either the hotel lounge or enjoy the Tudor Bar/Brasserie with its more traditional foods and ales. The hotel is within walking distance of Colchester Town centre (15 minutes) and accessible to all the historic sights of East Anglia. The BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown in Colchester was awarded Best Small Hotel in Essex.
Picture of BEST WESTERN The Rose And Crown Colchester, Colchester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 34 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ok
Avoid any room around 216, including 216

Reviewed by
m richmond

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

.
.

Reviewed by
D Collins

From Basildon, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Returning Guest
Second visit in 3 months. Still delighted by it's charm.
I could not get to sleep because of the noise of a fan or an electrical appliance nearby, so I contacted reception at midnight and was, without fuss, give another room to sleep in for the night - leaving my belongings in the original room which I returned to in the morning to shower and dress.

Reviewed by
Ralph Washington

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very convenient in Colchester
This was ideal as a base for sightseeing. Everything was as it should be, shame there was a wedding reception at the hotel which meant that parking was tight

Reviewed by
John Y

From Orpington, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Full of Character
A very pleasant stay at a comfortable Hotel full of Character and History.

Reviewed by
Ralph Washington

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

If you don't mind staying in a pub, then it's ok for a business trip.
I was disappointed that this hotel turned out to be a pub with accomadation. I was given a good room in the "executive block", which was better than I expected. Clean and good facilities. The main pub was very old and suffered from Big Screen TV and Burgers. Breakfast service was slow.

Reviewed by
Philip COZENS

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable
Very clean and tidy hotel, staff very accommodating

Reviewed by
Steve Sutton

From Stowmarket, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel itself is excellent rooms have character that match the building and surroundings very good value, only minor negative is that we were above the kitchens and the nose of the extraction systems interrupted sleep in what was a very comfortable bed. Would use again but choose a different room.

Reviewed by
K Shokar

From Gillingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm but cosy
A very nice hotel situated about 15mins drive from the town...the staff were all very pleasant and its good to finally stay in a hotel where i have no real issues. The only thing is the rooms get very hot with the heating but probably easily rectified!

Reviewed by
Jon S

From England
Who stayed in October 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely old building
This is a historic inn - lots of character. But with history comes those features you'd expect eg creaky floor-boards, uneven stairs, draughts etc.
It's a great place to stay if you want history, not so great if you're a light sleeper and you want a good night's sleep as you'll hear every movement in the next room (and maybe the room next to that as well).
Food was served in the bar only (Sunday evening) and was fine.
Staff were friendly and helpful (especially the receptionist in the morning who chased up my taxi booking relentlessly.

Reviewed by
Janet H

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next