No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Howard

5AA Assessed Town House Hotel Ratings explained
32-36 Great King Street, Edinburgh, EH3 6QH
Recently voted one of the top 25 city hotels in the world by Tripadvisor - The Howard is a gem of a small hotel. The Howard is often described as "The most discreet 5-star hotel in Edinburgh". A distinct attention to detail together with the personal touch will ensure you feel special. A Georgian retreat in the city centre of Scotland's capital city.

Every guest has a Dedicated Butler who will tend to your every need – from unpacking your bags and serving afternoon tea in the Drawing Room to co-ordinating your social itinerary and serving a three-course dinner in your suite, so that you can totally relax.

Our eighteen individually characterised rooms (some bathrooms even have freestanding roll top baths).

Dining at The Atholl is an experience full of decadent pleasures. You’ll enjoy dinner, which will be meticulously prepared by our dedicated team of chefs, and attention to detail in this warm & exclusive Georgian setting. Alternatively dine in the comfort of your own room. Select your meal from the a la carte menu, & your dinner will be served to you by your dedicated butler.

The hotel reserves the right to pre authorise the credit card used to guarantee the reservation 24 hours prior to arrival.
Picture of The Howard, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 53 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Howard (Edinburgh) Impresses
The free room upgrade went down a treat for this our third anniversary. What a room! The decor reminiscent of Georgian splendour so impressive. The staff courteous and genuinely caring, from ice bucket delivery to extra glass of wine (Latour) at dinner. We enjoyed the chef's tasting menu which entertained taste buds for 3 hours! Four stars!

Reviewed by
Peter S

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My stay at the Howard
I was very surprised / pleased with my whole experience staying at the Howard . I had no idea when I booked it that I had reserved rooms at such a nice, well run establishment. The service was excellent, the room was well appointed, with a wonderful bathroom. The staff were over the top pleasant and helpful. I would very much recommend the Howard to friends and family.

Reviewed by
M Dunn

From Alaska, England
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All round Great Hotel, Location, Room, Breakfast, Staff all Great

Reviewed by
M Bell

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel is beautiful and very well presented. Special touches make all the difference. Food and service excellent.

Reviewed by
c bartley

From Livingston, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent find
A last minute booking therefore got there smallest room but it was all we needed, excellent service, breakfast was lovely had it delivered to our room, butler even parked our car! 24 hour room service too

Reviewed by
A Carr

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A hidden gem in Edinburgh's New Town !
Fantastic hotel with excellent staff and most importantly ,first class service .
Our room was very well appointed with views over great King Street ,and was very quiet ,with beautifully draped curtains ,and the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in , away from home .
The bathroom was large and the toiletries of a high standard ,which was a treat .
The breakfast was exceptional with a good choice of menu.
Would definitely like to stay here again - a different world with good old fashioned service and style !

Reviewed by
Fiona Dishington

From Nairn, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

woop woop!
Loved this hotel, had old world charm. Great location , not too noisy at night. Butlers couldn't do enough for you. Love the complimentary green tea 24 hrs a day woop woop. Amazeballs shampoo and conditioner. Only down side the porridge for breakfast was watery but good service. Alan & Jane x

Reviewed by
A Dennis

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not quite what we thought it would be
Really beautiful and sumptuous, especially the bed and bathroom. But there were some odd things.
We asked for a twin set up but it had not been done so they had to come in while we were out. We ordered room service (waiting in the lounge was taking too long and it was late) and it took ages. We asked for tea at 9AM (they do a butler service rather than facilities in the room) but it never arrived and we had to ring. We did not ask for room service for breakfast and while I waited in the dining room for my son to join me, he was answering the door in our room to our breakfast. By the time it was all sorted, my food was cold and my egg with a hard centre. There was a bit of black mould in the shower too. Nothing major on any of these things as far I am concerned but annoying, all the same.

Reviewed by
Sarah K

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent City Centre Hotel
Perfect for all our needs.

Reviewed by
John Myers

From Prudhoe, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The most enjoyable stay we have had in Edinburgh. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and the hotel had an understated sense of individuality that immediately put you at ease. A definite recommendation to anyone seeking an oasis in the heart of the city.

Reviewed by
R Dorrington

From Bourne, England
Who stayed in June 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next