Reviews - The Howard


32-36 Great King Street, Edinburgh, EH3 6QH

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (65)

98% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Louise S

  • January 2015

Relaxing stay at the Howard

Really enjoyed our stay at the Howard.

Felt very relaxed. Bed was very comfy and the room was quiet. The hotel is a short walk from Princess St so was a very convenient location. Butler service for tea and coffee was a lovely touch and had the bonus of a freshly brewed coffee or loose leaf tea instead of a tea bag or sachet of instant. Breakfast was of a high quality and plentiful. Staff were polite and friendly.

  • p townsend

  • January 2015

Fantastic value and great experience would use again

I am a frequent traveller and this is probably the best hotel I have stayed at in the UK for size of room and value for money.

I booked what was called a small double, it was huge, character full and the little touches, free tea and coffee. Room service for all of stay, chocolates on pillow, free wifi were all welcome.

  • S Davies

  • January 2015

A hotel of excellence!!!

The only & best place to stay for business or leisure.

Excellent location & walking distance from bars, restaurants & Edinburgh castle.

  • K Kane

  • January 2015

Highly recommended!

We booked the Howard Hotel at the last minute for a one night stay in Edinburgh.

A very welcoming hotel, excellent accommodation and very pleasant staff. All in all a delightful experience!

  • A Farquharson

  • January 2015

Really enjoyed our stay here.

Excellent staff and very comfortable hotel.

  • Catriana H

  • January 2015

Old world charm and decadence

If you like personal attention and the comforts of a bygone age, then the Howard is for you.

Centrally located, you can leave your car and either walk to the shops and restaurants nearby, or take a taxi or bus a bit farther afield. Butler service is offered and available although we found this disorganised. We enjoyed a delicious cocktail made by a charming young barman, when we returned to the hotel after our meal.

  • Peter Doyle

  • December 2014

Just brilliant and keep up the great work

Another great stay at perhaps the best hotel in the UK

  • Georgi D

  • December 2014

The Howard

Great service, fantastic atmosphere and outstanding food.

I've spent the last 2 weeks there and will come again.

  • Christian Winstanley

  • December 2014

Excellent place to stay in Edinburgh

From start to finish The Howard surpassed all expectations, from the location, to the room, to the outstanding customer service.

  • Christiane Z

  • December 2014

Excellent service

We would like to thank everybody at The Howard for their kindness and excellent service.