No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Howard

5AA Assessed Town House Hotel Ratings explained
32-36 Great King Street, Edinburgh, EH3 6QH
Recently voted one of the top 25 city hotels in the world by Tripadvisor - The Howard is a gem of a small hotel. The Howard is often described as "The most discreet 5-star hotel in Edinburgh". A distinct attention to detail together with the personal touch will ensure you feel special. A Georgian retreat in the city centre of Scotland's capital city.

Every guest has a Dedicated Butler who will tend to your every need – from unpacking your bags and serving afternoon tea in the Drawing Room to co-ordinating your social itinerary and serving a three-course dinner in your suite, so that you can totally relax.

Our eighteen individually characterised rooms (some bathrooms even have freestanding roll top baths).

Dining at The Atholl is an experience full of decadent pleasures. You’ll enjoy dinner, which will be meticulously prepared by our dedicated team of chefs, and attention to detail in this warm & exclusive Georgian setting. Alternatively dine in the comfort of your own room. Select your meal from the a la carte menu, & your dinner will be served to you by your dedicated butler.

The hotel reserves the right to pre authorise the credit card used to guarantee the reservation 24 hours prior to arrival.
Picture of The Howard, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 46 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Classy with class

Reviewed by
Raymond Holroyd

From Carnforth, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel & Great Location
After enduring an awful night in another hotel in Edinburgh the night before The Howard could not have been more different. A wonderful building in an excellent location. Only 5 minutes walk to George Street and so much more peaceful than Princes Street. The room was perfect and the friendliness and attentiveness of the staff was faultless. I think our room was a deluxe double judging by the size and amenities. Tea, coffee, shirt ironing and many other services are provided free by a butler. Breakfast was very good and a large selection of choice. If you can ever find this at a discounted rate then I'd recommend it highly and hope to return next year.

Reviewed by
jonathan c

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First class stay, couple of nights away with my wife for a theatre break. Superb room/suite very comfortable bed and excellent butler service for all your needs, only thing I would prefer would be a refreshments tray in room so you can make your own coffee etc, probably shouldn't feel guilty about ordering tea at midnight but I did and therefor went without.

Reviewed by
Norman B

From Montrose, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent service very let down by the room
When we booked for the stay at the Howard we were expecting top service with a timeless 5 * room but we were only met with the good service. The room was very pain with had nothing that set it apart from a 4* room which we could of went to for a lot less money. As we booked the luxury double we though that would entitle us to a lovely bathroom with the free standing bath tub as u see on photos but again not the case, the only thing that we really enjoyed was the breakfast brought to the room the food was lovely with a good choice on the menu however we will not be staying again.

Reviewed by
James O'sullivan

From Shildon, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous old fashioned service and staff including your own butler!
The Howard is a dream find if you are looking for a very personal hotel with wonderful old fashioned service. Butlers are on hand to deliver tea, coffee or a small Scotch to your room at any time of day or night. It's a brisk 5 minute walk from shops and a 15 minute walk from Royal Mile in a lovely quiet location. My spacious bathroom had the most wonderful rolled top cast iron bath with ample hot water. The breakfast menu was extensive, fresh fruit platter and full Scottish breakfast served piping hot.

Reviewed by
J Sanders

From Caerdydd, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old World Charm
The hotel was a delightful olde world experience in the centre of Edinburgh. A real pleasure.

Reviewed by
K Hutchinson

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A quiet oasis
The hotel was a charming and a quiet oasis within easy walking distance of central Edinburgh

Reviewed by
K Hutchinson

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Howard certainly can hold its head high as the top 5 star hotel in Edinburgh.

Reviewed by
Christopher McGregor

From Livingston, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fun trip
Staff were great very warm and helpfull and pleased to help
Food only had breakfast food was fantastic

Reviewed by
s doyle

From montrose, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect
We'll be back..........

Reviewed by
Jules H

From , England
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next