No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Thornton Hall Hotel and Spa

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Neston Road Thornton Hough, Wirral, CH63 1JF
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa is one of the regions' largest Spa Resorts, Yet each of our 62 bedrooms and suites have the atmosphere of an intimate hotel. Each bedroom offers Free Super Fast Fibre Optic Wifi, New Smart TV's offering a huge selection of channels plus interactive services as well as Sky Sports 1, 2 & 3.

Our award winning Spa which is one of the finest in the region offers state of the art fitness equipment, 20 metre swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi, steam room & two outdoor Hydro Spa Pools. We also boast 11 spa treatment rooms in our holistic & clinical Spas offering anything from a relaxing massage to IPL. Our newly renovated Mud Rasul & Snow Cave along with the leisure facilities are available complimentary to hotel guests. The Hair Spa is open 7 days a week along with the Nail Bar.

We have various dining options from our award winning 3 AA Rosette Lawns Restaurant to The Times Brasserie. Lounge meals and room service options are also available.

Nominated - World Spa Awards 2013

"Best Spa Award Winner" 2012 Liverpool Lifestyle Awards - HQ Hotel Open Golf Championship 2014 & Ricoh Womens Open 2012

- Free "Super Fast Fibre Optic WiFi" throughout hotel - Free car parking - Just 20 mins from Liverpool & Chester - 20 Mins from Royal Liverpool Golf Club - 15 mins from Wallasey Golf Club.

Liverpool One shopping district, Cheshire Oaks and Blue Planet Aquarium are a 15-minute drive from Thornton Hall. Chester Zoo, Liverpool and Everton Football Clubs, and Deeside are all 20 minutes' drive away.
Picture of Thornton Hall Hotel and Spa, Wirral at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 59 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wonderful again
Excellent stay again, superb spa.

Reviewed by
M Saunders

From Newtown, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would stay again

Reviewed by
David K

From St Albans, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wonderfull stay
Fantastic experiance,great spa,great room,fantastic food and a lovely setting.Overall would have no hesitation in giving it a rave reveiw.

Reviewed by
GARY G

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was clean and comfortable, the staff were polite and friendly and the food was fantastic.

Reviewed by
S Freeman

From Hatfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last minute getaway
We booked an hour before our arrival & were pleasantly surprised! The hotel & room were lovely & the spa was awesome! We spent the majority of the next morning in the outside jacuzzi where you could order drinks if you wanted to. Perfect for a romantic escape. We'll definitely be coming back!

Reviewed by
J Terry

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel is situated in a lovely country setting.The hotel itself is beautifully furnished and dinner and breakfast are served in an old oak building.The room was spacious and well equipped.The standard of the food was very good and with excellent service.There is a spa and swimming pool at the hotel and I was able to enjoy a jacuzzi outside.The pool is i a lovely setting and massages and beauty treatments are available.

Reviewed by
Sandra N

From Camberley, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not what I expected :(
My boyfriend and I wanted a really special night away, especially that my boyfriend has been fighting a disease and not been very well for over a year. So we booked Thornton hall as it was not to far from we're we live, we knew that the place to go to get married was the Thornton hall. The hotel is lovely to look at and the gardens are so well looked after. To us, this was the place to stay we're we would experience luxury as we don't have luxury. Unfortunately, this was not what we expected. For are £180 per night we got a very basic room wich was clean but but old fashioned with few light fittings loose but ok. Went for breakfast in morning and floor was flooded outside are room wich seemed like a drain was blocked. At breakfast they told us we never paid but we did. We had to sit in a over crowded room for breakfast. Recieved tea and coffee but with no milk, had to ask for milk twice until we got it but are drinks were no longer hot. Boyfriend went for breakfast but were no plates, no bread left for toast. Breakfast area needed to be twice the size and a bit more organised. On the possitive side, me and my boyfriend enjoyed eachothers company but we will not be returning and we will not be getting married here either. Hotel was like the travel lodge.

Reviewed by
Rebecca L

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a bargain!
Were looking for a place to stay on our way back from a holiday in N. Wales and feel like some luxury. Boy did we find it! Thornton Lodge had that rare knack of being outrageously plush with non of the posh exclusiveness that makes us commoners feel out of place. The staff were friendly and efficient, the food was wonderful and the beds were comfortable. We couldn't have asked for more but the incredible value for money sealed the deal. Thanks

Reviewed by
Roger Wortley

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Much needed R and R
fter a traumatic few months my wife and I needed a spot of rest and relaxation and we certainly found it here. Our room was clean and comfortable, though the mattresses could do with replacing soon.
The staff were super, especially the cleaning lady who told us how to get to Ness Botanical Gardens. The Spa was great and after a day spent walking the area it was great to have a swim and sauna. We certainly hope to go back.

Reviewed by
W Fell

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely hotel, friendly staff and fantastic food.
Food is expensive and drinks not included in dinner allowance so did spend more than expected as drinks quite expensive but is 4* hotel and so can be expected I suppose. I felt menu choices were quite limited and side orders of vegetables and potatoes were extra but not listed nor mentioned on menu as extras. We did have some noisy neighbours about 3am and their was wedding on. We also got woken by service staff from 8ish chatting loudly as the linen stores were right outside our room, despite do not disturb sign so lie in went amiss!

Reviewed by
D Stevens

From Wallasey, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next