No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Kings Hotel

3AA Assessed Metro Hotel Ratings explained
139-141 Kings Road , Brighton, BN1 2NA
Located on Brighton's seafront close to the West Pier, the Kings Hotel is perfect for the business or leisure traveller. Originally 3 regency town houses we are now a modern hotel with a vibrant and cosmopolitan atmosphere. Many of the hotels 90 bedrooms are seafacing. The K Bar is perfect for relaxing during your stay and you can also utilise the FREE WIFI available during your stay. Located five minutes from the famous Lanes shopping area, Brighton Conference Centre and the city's busy nightlife, the Kings really is the perfect place to stay.

There is a small car park at the hotel, charged at £15.00 per night and available on a first come first served basis. See reception on arrival who will advise you of availability. If no spaces available you will directed to on-street parking near the hotel or the Regency Square NCP car park which is a few minute's walk away. The hotel is fully non-smoking.

The Kings Hotel is a pet friendly hotel, but charges will apply'
Picture of Kings Hotel, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 237 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
69% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excelent
N/A

Reviewed by
Christopher Coston

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brighton weekend
OK, average hotel, overpriced at £135 per night, but perfect position on sea front, short walk to The Lanes

Reviewed by
Sally O

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfectly comfortable room, in a slightly dated hotel (looks like something from the 70's, though the rooms have been partly modernised with wallpaper etc).
Good location, polite staff, comfortable bed.
Dislikes: no mixer taps in the washbasin (though the shower was great) and easy / ready access to wifi would have been appreciated. Also should have a safe room with tags for guests wishing to leave baggage outside of check-in/check-out times (as opposed to an open access area near the front door)
All in all, perfectly comfortable hotel, but definitely not worth the last minute rate I paid.

Reviewed by
S Singh

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mediocre
Good location, nice room but noisey. No plugs on near the bedside of the room so could not use any electrical appliances such as laptops etc. No parking after requesting it, hotel does not make clear that you have to get there at 9.00am to get a space.

Reviewed by
S Rehman

From Dagenham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotter than a sauna
Slightly unhelpful reception desk staff - long queues
No parking - parked in underground multistorey up the road £20 for 24 hours
Room on fifth floor with no air conditioning - very very hot day but the room was even hotter than outside. Had both windows open and borrowed a fan from reception but made no difference - didn't sleep at all. Rooms lower down weren't too bad (our daughters had a room on the third floor)
Breakfast was lovely - scrambled egg and smoked salmon

Reviewed by
Amanda M

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel itself is fine, but I would've thought with the amount I paid, that there would've been day trips included with the price. They only served breakfast, no other meals, most of my spending money went on two meals everyday for a week.

Reviewed by
P Bishop

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great sea view .. Shame about the dual carriage way in front!
Nice hotel in great position,but rooms with spectacular sea views are very noisy as busy main road beaten hotel and promenade.
Nice view of the pier as mentioned on website. Shame it burnt down .
Decoration, carpets, lighting etc all very tired . Wifi not working in rooms and no power sockets bedside for phone charger etc. had to unplug the kettle.

Breakfast was just OK but confusing menu that lured you into two courses but second one was extra! Didn't eat dinner in restaurant as was empty but it was Monday night.
Hotel as a whole Would need huge investment to reach a higher standard.

Reviewed by
john f

From Stroud, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shabby room & surroundings for the money
Hotel would be fine if it was £40 a night, but we stayed in hotel du vin the night before for less money snd it was amazing. We paid £145 to stay in kings and that is a complete rip off for the quality of the hotel. Looks like it hasn't had any renovations since the early 80's.

Reviewed by
Kevin C

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Kings Hotel Brighton
After booking my break, I foolishly read other guests' reviews and many had given the hotel seriously negative comments to the extent that I lost sleep the night before. We personally found most of the comments unfounded. Our room had a pleasant sea view and was clean and tidy. The staff were all polite and the food good, although I thought the bar was expensive. Parking nearby was a problem but easily overcome if one takes a case with wheels, as the Regency car park was convenient enough. Not the best hotel ever, but nowhere near the worst.

Reviewed by
Colin R

From Bridgwater, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Damp curtains, musty smell, bad shower
In short, the room smelt musty, the curtains wre damp from a leak and the showers had one setting very hot. No apology from reception. I would not recommend staying here.

Reviewed by
Nicholas Green

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next