Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Scotland > Central Scotland > Stirling > Cumbernauld Hotels > The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort -QHotels
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort -QHotels

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
1st Andrews Drive Cumbernauld, Glasgow, G68 0EW
The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort is a four-star hotel, spa and golfing resort which is set within 400 acres of woodland in Cumbernauld, Central Scotland, close to Glasgow, Edinburgh and Stirling.

The hotel has a tranquil spa offering 5 fully air conditioned beauty rooms offering you an exciting selection of treatments for face and body with a relaxation area for some extra quiet time following your treatments. Besides the comfort of the opulently appointed Health Club including gymnasium, swimming pool, sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi, you can also enjoy the irresistible 18-hole, par 72 golf course designed by Steve Ballesteros and Dave Thomas that makes The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort one of the most notable hotel and golf resort's in Scotland.

The Grill Restaurant is bright and vibrant offering a great selection of food in outstanding surroundings. The Grill enjoys stunning views of the golf course and the Campsie Hills, we also have a covered terrace for those warm evenings. Due to the popularity of the restaurant, pre-booking is always recommended in order to avoid disappointment on your arrival to the Restaurant.

The 148 luxurious bedrooms brim with the subtle tones and touches that will make your nights sleep the best ever! Satellite flat screen LCD TV, free internet access, complimentary refreshments and luxury bathrooms with baths and walk-in power showers are among your calming creature comforts.

Amazing places to visit include capital city Edinburgh, Falkirk Wheel, Stirling - with its towering monument to William Wallace- and Scotland’s international shopping capital, Glasgow. Trains run regularly to Edinburgh and Glasgow from local train station Croy, just a 5 minute drive away. The nearby A80 connects to all major motorways connecting Scotland’s largest cities. We are also only a 20 minute drive from Glasgow SECC which has many exciting events throughout the year.

The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort have just received a silver award in the Green Tourism Business Scheme.

Free car parking for all guests. Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel including all guest bedrooms.

We know how to treat our guests. That’s why they voted us the Which? UK Hotel Chain of the Year
Picture of The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort -QHotels, Glasgow at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 80 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel! A little overpriced and not overly impressed by the 'superior double room'. Room and bathroom were clean and tidy.

Reviewed by
P Kelly

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Walk 500 miles.
Once again, using LateRooms.com, we found that we were given the room the furthest away from the main hub of the hotel. No doubt the room no one wants. For an extra £6 we could have booked direct with the hotel and given a room more local to the main area. Our room was at the extremity of the building and anyone having difficulty with walking would have found this very difficult to go to reception, spa, restaurants and the car park.

Reviewed by
M Holmes

From Inverness, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing stay
We booked this hotel for a spa break, my mother and myself had a lovely relaxing stay and would book another break. I would also recomend it to friends and family.
The room was spotless and very comfortable. No complaints with customer service, staff were very helpful and friendly. Spa treatments were bliss, good value for money.

Reviewed by
L Differ

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay
We were sorprised at he level of service in the check in and check out and breackfast.
Only complain is the type of music. Should be melody or softer music, not beat sounds at that time of the morning.

Reviewed by
Jack Bowden

From Staines upon Thames, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Totally Relaxing
The Westerwood is to be recommended for every aspect of this magnificent hotel. Staff food, rooms and settings were exquisite. The staff went beyond the call of duty to make you welcolme

Reviewed by
S Brankin

From Dundee, Scotland
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel but aspects of customer service require attention
A slightly frustrating stay, in that whilst the overall standard of the premises is high and its location with lovely views to surrounding countryside is relaxing and enjoyable, there were a couple of issues which arose which marred my experience. Quality of service at front-of-house was excellent both at check-in and check-out. When I checked in I agreed pre-authorisation of my payment card to enable me to charge goods and services to my room and during the course of evening I visited the bar and had a glass of red wine which I charged accordingly. I was asked by the staff if I had pre-authorised and advised that I had. However, some time after I had returned to my room I was telephoned by an employee from the bar area challenging alleged non-payment of my bar bill because I was not authorised to charge items to my room. This was done without the employee having first checked my authorisation status with hotel reception and I was understandably cross about this. It was only after I had had my evening disturbed and advised the employee firmly that I had pre-authorised expenditure and to refer to reception to sort it out that I was left in peace. In my opinion, no way should the customer have been the 'first point of call' and unnecessarily disturbed without checking the full facts first! When I checked out the following morning I saw that the expenditure had correctly been allocated to my room account and settled this accordingly I took the opportunity to explain what had happened and received a nice apology and was assured that the matter would be investigated.
With regard to the accommodation, it was beautifully clean and furnished to a very high standard. Frustrations which arose were curtains that were difficult to close fully to eliminate light penetration into the room, a small hole in one of my bed sheets and consistent noise overnight from the hot water system flow emanating from roof space above which disrupted my sleep pattern even through I wore ear plugs. On the plus side, the bed was very comfortable and the breakfast buffet decent enough (although personally I prefer a cooked to order service for freshness and quality). Service in the restaurant area where it was served was very efficient and polite.
For its class and aspirational customer experience values, I was slightly disappointed overall; there is no questioning the overall high standard of facilities and premises, but as my primary objective was to enjoy a peaceful evening and a good night's sleep it didn't quite hit the spot, and some retraining in relation to telephoning customers for settlement of bar accounts is most definitely in order!

Reviewed by
Andrew M

From Lichfield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All Good For Me
Arrived after a 5 and a half hour commute and found the staff very polite and friendly. The room was great and really quiet. Breakfast was spot on and served early enough so that I could get to the office for 8am. Would stay here again for sure!

Reviewed by
Scott F

From Dudley, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing
A welcome oasis after a long trip on the bike, check in was quick and easy, our room was to a good standard and very quiet, the extra internal doors stopped any chance of corridor noise disturbance. Brilliant powerful shower. The restaurant was welcoming, with a varied menu and pleasent helpful staff, and the breafast was equally as good. All in all I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Reviewed by
Caroline M

From Ballymena, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The staff in the hotel was first class and yes I would recommend this hotel to family & friends

Reviewed by
Graeme Duffy

From Wick, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel
What we loved , the facilities, the comfy bed, the beautiful views over the golf course to the hills, the delicious menu in the bar and grill, the friendly bar staff.
What annoyed us . The incredibly long walk from our superior room to the spa, trying to get into the jacuzzi which was constantly full of hen parties. The waiting staff who didn't know what our meal was served with incurring additional cost in ordering side dishes.

Reviewed by
E Kerr

From Kilmarnock, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next