No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Trafford Hall

Not Classified  Hotel Ratings explained
Ince Lane, Wimbolds Trafford, Chester,
Trafford Hall is a magnificent grade II listed Georgian Manor house, situated in 14 acres of award winning gardens and surrounded by the beautiful Cheshire countryside just 5 miles from Chester City Centre. If you are seeking a personal and friendly experience then Trafford Hall is the perfect venue for you.

The bedrooms are located adjacent to the main house and all of our rooms have full en-suite facilities. There is free off-road car parking for guests.

By choosing Trafford Hall for your stay day you can be sure that while you enjoy the beautiful surroundings we are doing our utmost to protect and respect the environment in which we all live and work. All profits generated by accommodation, weddings and events at Trafford Hall are reinvested into the charitable work carried out at the hall as well as the development of our environmentally friendly facilities.
Picture of Trafford Hall, Chester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 43 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
60% recommended this accommodation to a friend 67% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap and cheerful, ok for one night.
Friendly staff, loads of parking and a cosy room. The rooms could do with a lick of paint and a smarten up, but fine for one night. The kids were horrified at the prospect of no TV, but we played monopoly and had a good night! To sum up I wouldn't stay again, it was just a bit too basic and hostel like. A few changes could be made cheaply which would really improve the place.

Reviewed by
L Clark

From Wigton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Faulty Towers
The impressive facade is completely misleading.We were shown outside the main building down a gloomy wooden walkway past a series of shabby Butlins style cabins, to our own cabin.We could not open the door so the helpful reception man came to do it for us.We then couldn't lock it from the inside and by then as I was tired I asked for another room.The rooms are very basic and there was no bedside table for my bed!On the plus side the full English was great!

Reviewed by
J SCOTT

From Yelverton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review
The Accommodation at Trafford Hall is in the grounds to the rear of the main building. At first the rooms seem to be converted stables. My room was very clean and had everything for a short stay, except a TV which was seemed odd. (Take a laptop and DVD's if you have a long stay.
When it was explained to me by the very helpful staff that Trafford Hall is a charity that runs courses. Between courses the let the rooms. I had booked an early breakfast for 7am, but it never arrived. There is a bar with tv in the main building and local facilities are not far away.
Would I stay again? You get what you pay for!

Reviewed by
M Whelan

From York, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

family room without twin/double bed is not a family room!
The room was not as expected. Firstly, there was no double bed or even twin beds. Instead there was a bunk bed and a single bed, which were all fixed to the wall so could not be moved together. The décor was quite dated and the mattresses were fairly thin foam. We were housed in the stables which had heated up quite a bit in the hot weather - and there were no fans to be had. The bathroom was cleanish, but had a disabled shower in it with a weight limit of 15 stones, which is a bit unusual. The breakfast was decent, and the setting is lovely. However, given that the room essentially had a youth hostel feel about it, I did not feel the £78 was justified - whereas I had thought we had gotten a good deal based on the pictures I had seen.

Reviewed by
Susanne R

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The staff we're exceptionally helpful. However it was tremendously hot and the family rooms really were unsuitable and very little sleep was had.

Reviewed by
Helen Lilley

From Gateshead, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great place if on a budget
The welcome when we arrived was friendly and very helpful
The rooms are very basic but were good for what we needed
all the staff were very helpful
The breakfast was good had a lot worse in more expensive hotels

Reviewed by
Glenn T

From Pontefract, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very basic accommodation
The rooms are very basic cabins with no amenities such as a TV. There is no bar or restaurant on site ( apart from breakfast) The walls are very thin . It is not really a hotel and shouldn't be classed as such.
If all you need is a bed with breakfast it does that vey little else

Reviewed by
Chris S

From Woodbridge, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely scenery
Stayed with my teen daughter prior to going to a music festival. The bed I had was very old and worn which meant a very restless night. The room and bathroom was acceptable for the money and the breakfast was delicious. Lovely staff but I gave up waiting to be served at the bar. All but for the bed...a perfect stay.

Reviewed by
M D

From Swansea, England
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel in beautiful surroundings
My partner and I enjoyed a nights stay at this beautiful hotel before visiting the zoo the next day. The room was basic, without tv or phone but had everything we needed. The room was clean, the bed was very comfy and the room was perfect for us as it was so peaceful due to being surrounded by the stunning gardens. We didn't eat at the hotel as we arrived later but we enjoyed a walk around the gardens before sitting out in them enjoying a few drinks. The staff were fantastic, very helpful and friendly. We would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
R Mckenna

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No follow up care after item stolen
This is a beautiful house in a tranquil location. Unfortunately it was the small detail in customer service that let it down, souring the end of our stay. Our room was very basic which we expected bearing in mind its economical cost, but the tea making facilities hadn't been washed from the previous occupant and the toilet/sink area was dirty. On our final night, we entrusted a special bottle of champagne with the receptionist who kindly left it in the bar's fridge with our details attached. We went to retrieve it a few hours later and were blankly told it wasn't there. We were told 'not to worry' and given a bottle of cava (on ice) as a substitute. The cava was not the problem, what we were unhappy with was the lack of effort to find out who could have taken it and that fact that we were told "not to worry" about it, "have the cava instead". This was 3 weeks ago and we haven't had a single follow up or a simple apology!

Reviewed by
Hannah J

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next