No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Trafford Hall

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Ince Lane, Wimbolds Trafford, Chester,
Originally built in 1756, Trafford Hall offers a collection of eco-chalets set amongst 14 acres of woodland. The chalets are less than 14 minutes’ drive from the city of Chester.

Inside, each of the cosy rooms at Trafford Hall features a bathroom with a shower, complimentary toiletries, fresh towels, linen and a view of the vibrant gardens.

Close to a number of golf courses, the nearest is Sandfield Golf Driving Range and Golf Course, just an 8-minute walk from the chalets.

For food, shopping and entertainment, The Grosvenor Shopping Centre is a 13-minute journey by car.

From the hall, Chester Racecourse is less than 6 miles away. Chester Zoo is just an 11-minute journey in the car and Gulliver’s World Resort is 19 miles away.

The city of Liverpool is also 31 minutes’ drive away.
Picture of Trafford Hall, Chester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 50 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
58% recommended this accommodation to a friend 64% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic but nice!
We only stayed the one night as a break from kids, the room was basic but had everything we needed, a shower and a bed!
Shower got nice and hot, and my g/f loved the fact this is a charity run B&B so liked that the money went towards something useful.
Breakfast was also nice, and everything was well cooked.
The price is great, we had no problems at all, would stay again.
Thanks!

Reviewed by
Dave M

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Check it out first!
This is excellent accommodation if you know what to expect before you go and have decided it is what you want.
Don't arrive in the dark in both senses of the word'dark'.

Reviewed by
Frank T

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely, friendly and great value for money.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth F

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An interesting place to stay with the philosophy of equal access to all enjoying the countryside.

Reviewed by
e myles

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dont Judge A Sausage By Its Skin!!
You may think your staying in the grand Georgian mansion that the website suggests....but don't be fooled. That is there to lure you in. The reality is you will be put in the glorified stables at the back..well thats a bit harsh. Lets say Butlins bronze style portacabin accomodation. No TV in room ( the hotel has one communal TV in bar) Sky not included!! If your after a bargain basement no frills room only stay..then go ahead. But if your looking for a more relaxing enjoyable experience..look elsewhere!!!

Reviewed by
Neville F

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cob webs everywhere no tv beds pushed together to make double. No evening meal breakfast not till 8. No bar no atmosphere at all.

Reviewed by
J Beale

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap and cheerful, ok for one night.
Friendly staff, loads of parking and a cosy room. The rooms could do with a lick of paint and a smarten up, but fine for one night. The kids were horrified at the prospect of no TV, but we played monopoly and had a good night! To sum up I wouldn't stay again, it was just a bit too basic and hostel like. A few changes could be made cheaply which would really improve the place.

Reviewed by
L Clark

From Wigton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Faulty Towers
The impressive facade is completely misleading.We were shown outside the main building down a gloomy wooden walkway past a series of shabby Butlins style cabins, to our own cabin.We could not open the door so the helpful reception man came to do it for us.We then couldn't lock it from the inside and by then as I was tired I asked for another room.The rooms are very basic and there was no bedside table for my bed!On the plus side the full English was great!

Reviewed by
J SCOTT

From Yelverton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review
The Accommodation at Trafford Hall is in the grounds to the rear of the main building. At first the rooms seem to be converted stables. My room was very clean and had everything for a short stay, except a TV which was seemed odd. (Take a laptop and DVD's if you have a long stay.
When it was explained to me by the very helpful staff that Trafford Hall is a charity that runs courses. Between courses the let the rooms. I had booked an early breakfast for 7am, but it never arrived. There is a bar with tv in the main building and local facilities are not far away.
Would I stay again? You get what you pay for!

Reviewed by
M Whelan

From York, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely setting, basic accommodation, but great breakfast
Trafford Hall is in lovely surroundings and offers very good customer service at the reception desk. Accommodation is fairly basic albeit our room was ensuite. The breakfast was the best part of the stay.

Reviewed by
Tom Y

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next