Low Gingerfield Farm B&B

4

Aske, Richmond, DL10 5EY

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Excellent

All reviews (12)

92% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • K Gaydon

  • October 2014

Really enjoyable stay

An excellent place to stay.

A friendly welcome, a large, well equipped room and plenty of choices for a hearty breakfast. Highly recommended.

  • D Spann

  • June 2014

Lovely location

Loved the setting of the b and b, on a small farm, very scenic but with easy access to richmond .

The hosts were very friendly and welcoming, the tea and cakes on arrival were a welcome touch. Our bedroom, blossom, was lovely, very spacious and well equipped with bottles of water, sweets, chocolate bars, tea, coffee, etc. Only downside was the hosts were having birthday dinner for a family member that evening, so we didn't feel we could be downstairs and so chose to be in our room out of their way,, and although they weren't raucous by any means, we could inevitably hear voices and them departing at 10.30 pm. I realise to some people this wouldn't bother them,but it did take an edge off an otherwise perfectly pleasant stay, as I deliberatey chose a 2 bedroom b and b over a hotel as I was specifically seeking peace and quiet. I'm sure we were just unlucky with the timing, and this probably won't occur with anyone else's stay.

  • Barbara Anne M

  • June 2014

Welcoming

I chose this B&B from the pet friendly accommodation list and they were brilliant.

I arrived with two heavy crates with a cat in each. Gillian was determined to help carry. The bedroom was comfortable, clean and beatifully decorated. The view out of the bedroom window was stunning. I would have no hesitation recommending it to friends.

  • Luka E

  • October 2013

great escape

Nice warm country setting

  • Richard C

  • September 2013

One to remember

The house which the B&B occupies is a lovely old farmhouse which has been tastefully modernised and provides excellent accommodation.

The location is ideal for those wanting access to the Yorkshire Dales, nearby towns and beyond, with the B&B situated in a rural position, enjoying beautiful views. Our stay was relaxed and we were made to feel very welcome by the helpful and friendly owner, who was more than accommodating. Overall a great place to stay and one we would definitely recommend.

  • Stephen E

  • September 2013

Fabulous stay, what could be better than tea & cake on arrival??.

Jill couldn't have been a more welcoming host. Lovely room, fantastic views & a really relaxing atmosphere. Would definately stay there again

  • Emma S

  • August 2013

Lovely stay - will definitely be returning! :-)

We loved our stay at Low Gingerfield Farm.

Gill, the owner, couldn't have done more for us. We had a lovely warm welcome with tea and cakes in the sitting room after being shown to our room. We stayed in 'Blossom' - it is a huge room, with a large double bed - so comfortable - which is very modern in decoration. There were added homely touches, such as a plant, and little ornaments and such. Gill brought us fresh milk for our tea and also provided chocolate bars for refreshment :-) the room also had a dressing room which led onto a large bathroom with a double shower. Breakfast was plentiful and Gill asked about what we would like the night before. The whole stay was very unique. The Farm itself is located a little outside Richmond - this wasn't a problem for us. We walked into Richmond, which took about 20 minutes at a very lazy pace, although most of the way there wasn't a footpath so not ideal for walking at night. We got a taxi back which cost £5. We had asked Gill for recommendations on where to eat, which she gave and didn't disappoint - we ate at a lovely italian called La Piazza. It was in a prime location for exploring the Yorshire Dales. Absolutely gorgeous. Although the house was rather old, all the rooms were decorated modernly, and was very homely. All in all, a lovely stay :-)

  • Helen H

  • August 2013

Perfect getaway, so relaxing, peaceful and friendly!

We stayed at this B&B with our 8 month old baby for one night.

We loved it. On arrival we were warmly welcomed with a pot of tea and home made cake!. We stayed in the Willow room and found it so cosy and snug. It was perfectly clean and decorated traditionally to a high standard. The bathroom was traditional in style with a shower. The bed was very comfortable. The farm house is so gorgeous, peaceful with amazing views of the rolling hills. If you're into animals the farm has horses, sheep, chickens (with chicks!), a cat and a dog, all so cute and friendly. The host Gill really makes the place, she Is so warm and friendly and keen to make sure you have everything you need. It's just like staying with an old friend. As we were with our baby, Gill suggested we might like to pick up a local take away and sit in the lounge with the real log fire for our evening meal, a great idea we would never have thought of or thought would be an option when staying in most B and B's. But it felt like nothing could be too much trouble. There was Italian, Chinese and Indian all available within a short drive. She was also helpful in suggesting local pubs we might have liked to try for an evening meal. We decided that staying in was a perfect idea as our baby lay asleep in bed while we sat downstairs within ear shot eating pizza and drinking wine in front of the fire, just what we needed. Much less stressful than attempting to eat out. I suppose we were lucky there was no one staying in the other room so we had the spacious lounge to ourselves. As there is only two rooms available for B & B there is a real intimate feel without it feeling intrusive, a real home from home feel but feeling very pampered. Breakfast was gorgeous, made freshly by Gill using fresh eggs from the chickens. There was such a range of cereals, fruits, yoghurts and then a full cooked breakfast. We spent the day exploring the local shops in Richmond town centre and drinking cups of tea and eating cake then the next day walking in the hills in nearby Reeth, amazing scenery. I would strongly recommend this B & B to anyone, particularly for a romantic escape for couples with young babies in need of a treat and we will definitely be returning. A real gem!!

  • Amy F

  • July 2013

Wonderful hotel in a stunning setting

This hotel was a a delightful surprise.

I booked it at the last minute to attend a friend´s wedding. A little outside of Richmond, you can reach it in 10 minutes from the centre. It has incredible views across the Yorkshire countryside, and the hotel itself is furnished with a level of care and attention that one rarely gets in hotels today. The owner and her daughter were extremely friendly, asking me when I would like breakfast, offering me a ride into Richmond as I was a little late to meet friends, helping me find a bank and suggesting walks across the idyllic countryside. I couldn´t recommend this hotel enough - perfect for couples looking for a break from the rat race, and, as I understand, shortly to be available for wedding parties as well. A real treat. Just one thing - take cash as they don´t yet have a card machine!!

  • Andrew B

  • July 2013

Very enjoyable stay

Lovely room and an excellent hostess.