No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Devonia Lodge Hotel

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
33-35 Hoole Road, Hoole, , Chester, CH2 3NH
Devonia Lodge is situated in a prime location in Hoole on the main approach road (A56) into Chester. We are only a few minutes walk away to many banks, restaurants, bars and shops and just 10 minutes walk from the Railway Station and 15 minutes walk to the city centre of Chester. Originally 2 banker's houses, Devonia was built in 1856 and has been run by the same family for many years. The business was opened in 1964 by Vivienne Holding when the current owner was just 2 years old and will shortly celebrate its 50th year in 2014. Our business focus still remains the same as it did back then and that is to offer our customers excellent value for money, warm friendly service with a good standard of accommodation in cosy comfortable surroundings that is ideal for single travellers, couples and families alike. We also welcome business guests. We have various types of rooms to suit all budgets and are committed to a continual upgrading plan for our rooms and communal areas to give maximum satisfaction to our guests. We have recently opened a small intimate bar within Devonia called Stuteley's Cafe Bar, it is also open to non residents and is proving popular as an alternative chill out bar. We are currently working on a snack menu which will be available by the summer. We have a large beer garden to the rear of the property and a good sized car park free to all our customers. There is also free Wi-Fi available for all our guests to use which covers the bar area and all bedrooms. Chester is an exciting and vibrant city and is full of things to see and do including Chester Zoo, Chester Cathedral, Roman Amphitheatre, Grosvenor Museum and of course the world famous Rows with all the wonderful boutique shops, bars and restaurants. Or if you prefer a slower pace why not take a walk through the park down to the River Dee for a boat ride and an ice-cream and watch the world go by, and all this is just 15 minutes walk from Devonia Lodge.
Picture of Devonia Lodge Hotel, Chester at LateRooms
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 27 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

City Break
Close to the city centre with ample parking. Staff friendly & helpful. Room clean and spacious. Good breakfast and plenty of eating places both around the hotel and in the city centre.

Reviewed by
Keith C

From Welwyn Garden City, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great experience
Great space in room and very comfortable bed. Full English breakfast a must and great serving! Shared bathroom extremely clean and well serviced

Reviewed by
Kim M

From Rathfarnham, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good place to stay
I enjoyed my stay at Devonia Lodge. The room was a good size and for excellent for the price. Breakfast was delicious and the owners made me feel very welcome.

Reviewed by
Peter L

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and comfortable accommodation. Excellent breakfasts. Very welcoming hosts.

Reviewed by
K Granger

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little guest house
Spent three nights very comfortably. Mark and Maria (owners) and Shaun (who greeted us on arrival) are very friendly and helpful, The guest house is on the A56 which is quite a busy road, and our room (No 6) is at the front. It appeared to be a family room as apart from the double bed it also had a single. We weren't disturbed by the traffic and slept well. All in all we enjoyed out stay.

Reviewed by
Theresa M

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Chester Races Stay
Situation of accomodation for the races was very good and the price we paid was also very good.
The only thing i would have liked to have seen in the room was a full length mirror. As most guests stay there for the races, i guess they would like a full length mirror to check their appearance before leaving for the races or generally on a night out in Chester. There was plenty of room in our room to provide one.

Reviewed by
KAREN LEWIS

From Cannock, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor shower
Shower in shared bathroom not working otherwise OK

Reviewed by
Gary M

From Washington, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very warm and friendly hotel. Situated in a prime location for city centre. The rooms were clean and modern. Enjoyed the beautiful breakfast. Well worth a visit..

Reviewed by
Alan Bucknall

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good value for money in a nice location.
This hotel offered excellent value for money with a warm friendly atmosphere. I stayed here for 4 days on business. The room was pretty basic with a shared bathroom but for £35 a night with breakfast I wasn't expecting much more. The couple that run the place were very friendly and the breakfast that I was served in the morning was delicious and not shy on the portion and delicious. It was in a convenient location a short walk from Chester railway station and about 10 mins from the city centre. It was in a lovely location with little cafés and bars just round the corner from the hotel. Overall this place exceeded my expectations based on the amount of money that I paid.

Reviewed by
Adam K

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great for a weekend stay
Devonia Lodge was ideal for us to stay overnight before the Chester Half marathon. It's within walking distance of the city centre and has its own car park for us to leave the car for the day. The room was clean, tidy and had plenty of space. We required an earlier breakfast on the Sunday which wasn't a problem (the full English breakfast was really good but there was also cereals, toast, oats, etc...).
All in all I'd happily recommended Devonia to anyone needing somewhere to base themselves when visiting Chester,

Reviewed by
J Baker

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next