Reviews - Devonia Lodge Hotel

3

33-35 Hoole Road, Hoole,, Chester, CH2 3NH

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (20)

80% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • J Swaby

  • October 2015

Cosy stay

Lovely, cosy, stay with pleasant, friendly, helpful staff.

Room was very COSY and warm, Lovely and clean and looked like it was work in progress with decorating quite not finished, but that wasn't any problem to us. Only thing for me was NO full length mirror which a lady likes to use. Breakfast was lovely, piping hot and plentiful.

  • John M

  • October 2015

Value for money

Very poor value for money.

I would expect at least a table and chair for this price. I have paid less for en suite rooms with better facilities.

  • Marina W

  • September 2015

Basic b&b not far from central Chester

You get what you've pad for.

Rooms with the shared bathroom are small and reminds prison cells (both double and single). Hosts are trying to be welcoming, but I experienced much better attitude in other b&bs. Breakfast basic, not exactly the best one. I would not recommend the place, better to pay a bit extra. From the positive sides, good parking facilities.

  • S Head

  • April 2015

Good value.

Located for easy access into Chester.

Friendly staff. Clean and welcoming and overall value for money. Would stay again and would recommend.

  • Elizabeth F

  • December 2014

One night

VERY basic accommodation, but it was clean at least.

I had difficulty finding any room on this particular night,[near Christmas 'party' season] but would not stay here again. It was noisy and the room was sparse.Not even a chair in the room. Poor quality bed, so bad nights sleep.Comparable to youth hostel. I would rather pay a little more and would have done if there had been somewhere else.

Response from hotel

It’s always such a shame when guests don’t come and complain when they feel something is wrong and that they would rather create a spectacle on review sites! But like everything in life we have to take the rough with the smooth. I always think if something was only worth scoring a 1 out of 6 then surely you would say something at the time. Whilst we know we aren’t a quirky boutique hotel we are in fact a very friendly, family run B&B (of over 50 years) with a cosy newly & tastefully decorated lounge bar. We take

great exception that you would compare us to a youth hostel, we also get VERY good comments for our breakfasts. For you to give it 1 out of 6 is very puzzling. As we are a small B&B we feel that offering a guest a single room with use of a bathroom shared by one other room and a full English cooked breakfast plus a choice of cereals, toast, juice, tea or coffee, free parking and WiFi for a total of £40.00 is outstanding value for money in Chester. All beds are of a good standard and mattresses inspected regularly.

You also mentioned that it was noisy, on this particular night. We had a family of 7 staying in 3 different rooms with a very young baby. They used the bar when they came back from their meal and were laughing and joking which causes a certain level of noise but they were never raucous as their own baby was asleep upstairs in the room next to yours. The bar closed at 10.30pm. As you were at a works Christmas party we’re not sure what time you came in but we are on site 24/7 to be there for any problems guests may

encounter. We also spoke at breakfast as you were the first of 17 guests down that morning so you had a perfect opportunity to speak to us in private, such a shame!

  • Aaron H

  • December 2014

Devonia Lodge Hotel

Wonderful hospitality, grateful for the room; will definitely stay again in the future.

Thanks again

  • Keith C

  • November 2014

City Break

Close to the city centre with ample parking.

Staff friendly & helpful. Room clean and spacious. Good breakfast and plenty of eating places both around the hotel and in the city centre.

  • Kim M

  • October 2014

Great experience

Great space in room and very comfortable bed.

Full English breakfast a must and great serving. Shared bathroom extremely clean and well serviced

  • Peter L

  • October 2014

A good place to stay

I enjoyed my stay at Devonia Lodge.

The room was a good size and for excellent for the price. Breakfast was delicious and the owners made me feel very welcome.

  • K Granger

  • October 2014

Clean and comfortable accommodation.

Excellent breakfasts. Very welcoming hosts.