No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Great Northern Hotel London

5Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Pancras Road, London, N1C 4TB
Great Northern Hotel - The Worlds First Great Railway Hotel - Opened 2013 after 40m GBP refurbishment An exquisite boutique hotel in heart of Kings Cross St Pancras the new centre of London and gateway to Europe and the North of England and Scotland - 91 rooms - 3 room types - Couchette/Wainscot/Cubitt - each with double Hypnos bed/ Egyptian cotton linen/high ceilings/abundant natural light/free 500Mb Wi-Fi/Loewe flat screen HDTV/free movie-music library with 72 classic/new/adult movies/20 audiobooks/6 playlists by leading DJs/ bespoke handcrafted Benchmark/Fratelli Boffi furniture/Farrow-Ball colour/Lefroy-Brookes bathroom/Malin and Goetz products /Nespresso machine/mini-fridge with free water/walk-in shower/roll top bath/complimentary Pantry - home-cooked cakes/tea/coffee/newspapers on each floor - An iconic building magnificently refurbished/91 luxurious bedrooms exquisitely re-designed - Integrated into new Kings Cross Station/18 metres from St Pancras International/trains direct to Brussels-Paris-Lille-Europe and Heathrow-Luton-Gatwick/6 London Underground lines intersect beneath - Plum/Spilt Milk Restaurant - simple classics beautifully cooked/elegant yet relaxed surroundings - GNH Bar - Classic continental bar open to Kings Cross concourse/fine breakfasts/mouth- watering light bites/cocktails till late Plum/Spilt Milk dining room/meeting place serving simple classics exquisitely cooked in elegant relaxed atmosphere/floor-ceiling-windows and hand-blown glass light fittings GNH Bar - separate destination bar open to concourse of Kings Cross Station/unrivalled breakfasts/mouth-watering bar bites from lunch to midnight/glamorous cocktail bar till late
Picture of Great Northern Hotel London, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 44 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Design over practicality
The hotel is a beautifully designed hotel with friendly staff and comfortable rooms. However the comfort of guests is compromised by having to walk down a long corridor to the "pantry" to make a cup of tea (in an expresso cup) - the only way to make a cup of coffee in the room was via a coffee maching that was awkward to get at in a cupboard and there was no milk available in the room. There was no accessible mirror in the bedroom for me to dry my hair. It's the little things in a hotel that make you want to go back and I feel that the style has overtaken the guest's needs here - I'd rather have a kettle than electric blinds (although they were fun for two minutes)!

Reviewed by
Sharon O

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Northern Hotel London
I love this hotel. Small room but quiet & fairly luxurious ...would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Karen T

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel
Lovely atmosphere, great staff, great room

Reviewed by
D Lowe

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointment
I was very relieved that I only had to stay one night in my Superior Double room which was rather "snug" and "bijou". The room was very clean and impeccably presented but the space allocated was too little. The bed which was only a Double and not a Queen or King size only just fitted the room and the door to the ensuite had been made into two glass doors which were difficult to negotiate alongside the bed. There was very little hanging space for clothing and for two persons completely inadequate if they were staying anymore than one night. There was a hanging light from the ceiling over a small table in the room and my partner and I must have collided with it at least three times each as it was at head height. The reception area was impossible for anyone with luggage and in fact I broke an expensive vase which I purchased in Budapest and was carrying in a shoulder bag. This happened while trying to negotiate the narrow double doors from the reception area to the front of the building. The doors slammed against the bag and shattered the vase. I will not be staying at this hotel again as I can find more spacious and convenient accommodation at other nearby hotels for the same tariff as charged at the Great Northern. I will also be informing my Friends and colleagues of my decision and the reasons for my decision.
Thank you.

Reviewed by
J Sistron

From Gateshead, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

convenient for catching eurostar
easy, spotless, perfect location for an early morning eurostar trip.

Reviewed by
D Ellison

From Witney, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend stay at gnh
Lovely rom. And the hotel seems just like new
First floor cocktail bar excellent and great service & drink now from the French bartender.
Pantry is a great idea & works well too
Recommended!

Reviewed by
robert taylor

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

celebration night out before eurostar the next morning
Great hotel, perfect for enjoying the area, our rooms were fantastic, the rooms were very comfortable and the double glazing ensured a perfect nights sleep. This is ideal for the Eurostar as only a minutes walk away. We also enjoyed a drink at the end of the evening outside and even met the owner Jeremy, who was a great guy and bought us a drink. Well done G N H!

Reviewed by
Sean D

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Northern Hotel
The hotel is recently re fubished and very comfortable and convneinet if arriving by train or departing early...

Reviewed by
Geoff L

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was beautifully furnished although very small.

Reviewed by
H Keightley

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worse Frount house staff imaginable
The worst service I and my partner have ever experienced.
Average hotel, good location but sheer horrible frount house staff
Avoid

Reviewed by
E Coates

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next