No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - OLDE DUNCOMBE HOUSE

3Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
OLDE DUNCOMBE HOUSE, GARSTANG ROAD BILSBORROW, Preston, PR3 0RE
Olde Duncombe House is a family run guest house. We are situated alongside the tranquil Lancaster canal in the village of Bilsborrow, which was originally known as Duncombe village.

Although not much is known about the history of Olde Duncombe House, it is believed to date back to the 1500's.

At one time we understand that some of Bonnie Prince Charlie's men slept in the attached barn on the way back from the Battle of Preston. This has now been converted into living accommodation.

Olde Duncombe House is well situated and very accessible to many local tourist attractions.The market town of Garstang is only 4 miles away. Blackpool, Lancaster, Forest of Bowland and the South Lakes are all places of interest and within easy reach of Olde Duncombe House.
Picture of OLDE DUNCOMBE HOUSE, Preston at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 23 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

book direct
Better value to book direct, i will next time, and the restaurant opposite is amazing third time for food first stay here, will be booking again.

Reviewed by
paul pemberton

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Stay
Stayed for 1 night in October 2014, lovely welcome and was shown to room which was a nice size. Breakfast was offered at a reasonable price and was very good.

Reviewed by
S Maymond

From Burnley, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly welcome from the owner. Easy check in. Lovely breakfast!

Reviewed by
Stuart M

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

character accommodation
Finding my room looked out on to canal boats was an added bonus to the comfortable, well equiped room. Had the most enjoyable stay walking the local area anf along the canal path.

Reviewed by
J Whitehead

From Shaftesbury, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellence in b&b
Me and my wife really enjoyed our stay, had a wonderful welcome by the landlady explained everything, room was great the only problem was the fridge kept waking us up but apart from that it was great inc the breakfast

Reviewed by
nigel kalasy

From Thornton Cleveleys, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Extras
We booked this b&b for a valentines supprise only to find that it was in the middle of 2 hotels both offering b&b for £31 cheaper as there is also an extra charge of £6.50 each for breakfast which is quite a shock when you book bed and breakfast!!!. also room temperatue cannot be adjusted as the radiators were set to cool and the room was chilly at night so much so I could put my bare back on it and not get burnt.room was basic if not overpriced as guys thatched hamlet is cheaper inc jacusi bath.

Reviewed by
g walker

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable rooms. Would definitely stay again. A must
Lovely breakfast. Very clean lovely rooms. Short walk from a night out in guys court

Reviewed by
H Shaw

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fantastic bed and breakfast retreat
our first stay at Olde Duncombe house, was excellent, Jayne and beth were so welcoming, and nothing was to much trouble, the room was excellent, and the offer of breakfast in your room was a lovely touch, full breakfast was superb, will be staying again at Christmas this year, excellent value for money, would certainly recommend this lovely place to stay thanks again to Jayne, looking forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed by
noreen g

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely,friendly and inviting B&B,wouldn't hesitate to stay there again,if in the area.

Reviewed by
E Robinson

From Paignton, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Home from home.
lovely clean accomodation, very polite and attentive staff, nothing too much trouble, bath room lovely, clean and everything provided, was good quality from the soap to the hand cream and towels.
The bed was so large and comfortable, and the breakfast, well what can i say you get your money worth, excellent all round, will definatly be back.

Reviewed by
roger brewster

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next