Reviews - The Cardinals Hatt


Callington Road, Hatt, Saltash, PL12 6PJ

Price From 83.64 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (67)

70% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Duncan R

  • November 2015

A great place to stay

I arrived at the Cardinals Hatt at 8.45pm after a long drive.

I asked if the kitchen was still open and was told that it was open until 9pm. I ordered my meal and it was it's usual excellent quality. Bearing in mind that this was a very quiet Monday evening and there were only 4 other people in the restaurant who were finishing off their meals when I arrived. I am sure that the kitchen would have been cleaning down and not expecting any further customers that evening. There was never any question of the kitchen being closed or a reduced menu and my food was served from very friendly staff. This is the third time I have used the Cardinals Hatt and each time I have found everybody very friendly, the food to be excellent and the rooms are good. They even serve cask ales which is a bonus to me, especially in a hotel. Overall they offer excellent value for money and I would have no hesitation in recommending them.

  • B Wilson

  • November 2015

Nice and quiet

Perfect spot for a quiet holiday without city hassle

  • M Lengthorn

  • September 2015

This is not a Hotel as advertised, this is digs for builders, car park full of vans.

Overpriced accommodation with horrendous decor, the room I stayed in had beige wood chip wallpaper, a nylon carpet that was sticky it stuck to your feet so couldn't walk around bare footed, cheap lumpy mattress, and dangerous showers that fall apart whilst in the shower.

The staff were not interested especially the manageress who I complained to regarding the broken shower head, she had a couldn't care less attitude and was not interested. I had booked the room for 3 nights and it wasn't cleaned during my stay in that room. This is the first review I've ever left regarding the many years of travelling around the country for my job, and it's a real shame that this first review has had to be a very dissapointing one.

  • Ray Jones

  • August 2015


Planned a 2 night stay but checked out after 1 night due to very poor standard of room.

Hotel itself was beautifully appointed but outside the chalet type rooms were a real let down. There was a notice in the bathroom stating that the water was not fit to drink, there were no headboards or valances on the 3 single beds and the bases all had stains on them. It was obvious from the number of vans parked outside that the majority of rooms were let to contractors. It was a non smoking room but there was a pile of cigarette stubs right outside the door to the room. The room rate of £80 per night certainly did not reflect the standard of accommodation. We spoke with other guests who also expressed similar views. However, the Manager dealt with our complaint in a professional manner and refunded the 2nd night and also offered us u complimentary breakfast. She explained that the rooms were due to be refurbished.

  • James P

  • August 2015

Not what I expected or anything like what is advertised on their website

It was clean but very very basic.

But the beds were old and really worn, the bathroom was simply bizarre (no taps for the bath) and tiles & shower curtain looked like they'd been put up by my 4 year old. This all said the staff were lovely and the girl and guy in the bar were really helpful and nice. Clearly doing the best they could. But essentially I wouldn't pay half of the £90 I paid. Sorry.

  • C Bermingham

  • August 2015

nice hotel, great prices

The room (cabin) was clean and quite

Hotel had good food at very reasonable prices

Staff were very helpful

  • Susan S

  • August 2015

Convenient for cross channel ferry

Good location for anyone travelling to or from Plymouth cross channel ferry.

The accommodation is motel type & is in need of an update.

  • P Morrison

  • August 2015

Not a good experience

Arrived at just after 9 pm to be informed that the kitchen closed at 9 pm - not even offered a sandwich tho hotel information States kitchen open all day.

Given keys to room but not made up from previous guests. No hot water for shower. Not very clean and green mould and damp patches on walls. Did not stay for breakfast.

  • B Webb

  • July 2015

3 night stay room only

Book the 3 night stay through late rooms thought it was B&B but checked as on line not clear on price of room only.

Found it turns out to be room only and the adult breakfast was £9 per adult was a bit steep really so went to local Diner True

  • nigel oliver

  • June 2015

university visit

good value accommodation for the purpose of our visit.

the staff were helpful and gave us advice on where to park in Plymouth. Breakfast was good plenty of options.