No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Cardinals Hatt

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Callington Road, Hatt, Saltash, PL12 6PJ
The complete dining, bed and breakfast, accommodation, wedding, conference and party venue in Saltash, Cornwall.
Picture of The Cardinals Hatt, Saltash at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 57 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Arrived to find a lovely lady on reception with a big smile & very helpful, we arrived a bit early so left cases in reception & had a drink in the bar, lady came & told us our room was ready about 5 mins later.
Room very basic but very clean, cannot comment on the food as we were meeting friends for our meals, bar staff very pleasant & helpful.
All round a very pleasant weekend.

Reviewed by
John S

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap and extremely basic and photos deceiving
Went to visit friends in launceston with my 14 year old daughter and stayed here for one night. Having looked at the photos of the superior rooms (the only ones available to view) I imagined that even the basic room I was in would be of good quality I was quite surprised as the basic rooms were outside the main building in rows, they desperately need updating and repainting it was clean but looked grubby due to the age there were no curtains on the frosted glass front door or bathroom and toilet windows so not only did it feel exposed the morning sun shone into the bedroom early in the morning making it difficult to sleep!! The price was £40 for this basic room only, which admittedly is very cheap but it's not a late rooms deal they are always priced at £40! Felt cheated that I had not got the bargain I thought by booking through late rooms, and if I had realised the original cost was £40 I would have expected the below average room I got. Quite disappointed :(

Reviewed by
Amanda B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My short stay
Without a car it is either taxi or a bus to Hatt village with a walk along the main road back to the Cardinals. There is no pavement, only a gulley or grass verge. basically the accomodation is 'motel' style but very pleasant. I felt the room was a bit sparse without pictures on the walls. A light outside shone in through the patterned glass door at night. There was only one chair, so a guest would have to stand.

Reviewed by
R White

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good breakfast and restaurant meal. good access for wheelchair
There was a mix up with our booking, not sure if it was the hotels or late rooms error but it was resolved. It did cause some upset to my elderly mother.

Reviewed by
C Dallow

From blakeney, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charming hotel just outside the city
We stayed for one night at the Cardinals Hatt on the way back to Brighton from Truro. We chose the hotel because it was close to Plymouth and had read online that it was a highly rated place, though most of these were in reference to the restaurant.
The hotel itself was very nice - tucked away in the countryside off a main road. It looked idealic from the outside and the rooms, which were in a chalet style, were situated around the back away from the road. The hotel had several amenities including a bar, restaurant, lots of free car parking very close to the rooms and an outside barbecue area. The bar and restaurant were very stylish and all the staff were friendly.
The room itself was nice, light and spacious. It had the usual amenities of a desk, flat-screen television, tea/coffee facilities and wardrobe. The toilet and bathroom were separate which was a nice touch. There was also a bath, which I find rare in hotels these days. The room was clean and well kept.
We had a great stay.

Reviewed by
W Franklin

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic Room Accommodation
We found the accommodation basic but very clean and given that it only cost £40.00 we felt that it
was very good value. The only grudge that we had was that there was only a very small
mirror in the bathroom, a larger one in the bedroom perhaps, would have been very useful, and
the bath was very old and has been converted into a shower, but I expect this will be renewed
at some point.

Reviewed by
r thompson

From wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

motel with a hotel feeling to it
Lovely views from our room, comfy clean beds with crisp white linen, good restaurant, totally enjoyed my stay after a days sightseeing. Ideal country location, easy to find on the outskirts of Plymouth. Great value.

Reviewed by
kerry a

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not the room we booked
We booked a double room but were put in a standard twin. The price paid was the normal price charged by the provider and not discounted.

Reviewed by
Martyn B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cardinals Hatt
This is the ideal stop to explore devon & cornwall. The rooms could be upgraded but they are clean and comfortable . The resturant and breakfast is excellent, the staff are lovely ,we will be booking again.

Reviewed by
kevin woodfield

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Can be better.
Myself and partner decided last minute to go down south and on arrival booked a place to stay. The price was reasonable and its location to get to surrounding arreas was suitable for what we wanted. O ly critique is the cleanliness of the bathroom. Moldy and the shower head needs changing as the water is dripping down the cord instead of coming out the shower head. Room also smelled a bit funny but after opening the doors and windows for a couple of hours the smell faded. All in all I would stay there again as the basic room for 40 pound is the size of a king size room in my opinion. Very spacious.

Reviewed by
David M

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next