No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Metro

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
3 PORTLAND STREET , SOUTHPORT, PR8 1LL
The Metro, a contemporary boutique hotel, is located on the corner of Portland Street and King Street, just off Lord Street, Southport’s main boulevard. It has recently reopened after an extensive renovation.The Metro is a bright, elegant and sophisticated establishment where people can enjoy excellent affordable food in a beautiful setting. The wonderful front walled garden area is a must for al-fresco dining.

The Chefs have created a sublime menu to compliment the stylish surroundings. Everything that can be sourced locally has been and everything is made in house, from the bread rolls fresh from the oven to the tempting desserts whipped up in the kitchen.The attention to detail is superb, from the beautiful décor to the delicious food. Everything is cooked individually and fresh to order.

The All Day Dining Menu is available seven days a week, with a special offer Table D’Hote Menu available Sunday through to Thursday and the chic A La Carte Restaurant open Friday and Saturday. Visit to see for yourself; we promise you won’t be disappointed.
Picture of The Metro, SOUTHPORT at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 28 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
The Metro is well worth staying in. Great location. Friendly, helpful staff, whatever their role. Good quality modern throughout - in the public areas and in our room. All you need for a very short break as we had or a longer holiday. Comfy bed and pillows, bottled water, tea, coffee etc. Good TV. Only one hair though. Grr. The Metro has a restaurant and offers everything from bar snacks to several course meals, with a sorbet between first and main course. You can eat in the bar area, in the restarant or outside at the spacious patio area where there are plenty of tables and chairs. Plus a gently bubbling pond full of well-cared for fish. Very relaxing listening to the water while having an al fresco meal.
We had lunch outside and dinner in the restaurant. Good food each time. And very reasonably priced.
If you're planning on visiting and staying in Southport...try the Metro.

Reviewed by
Margaret W

From , UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mid week break
We stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed the break, the staff were attentive and kind, the food was excellent and nothing was a bother, we will be returning to the hotel in the coming months.

Reviewed by
robert w

From Paisley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Delightful stay
A really pleasant hotel with high standards of decor, customer service and cleanliness.

Reviewed by
Diana H

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Metro, Southport
Room a little on the compact size but clean and well stocked. Staff very friendly and helpful. Full English breakfast very tasty. No car park and limited time (2hr) road parking, apparently some all day parking nearby.

Reviewed by
Peter D

From Lytham St Annes, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely one night stay. Room was spotless. The only thing that we would complain about is that there is only a continental breakfast included in the £90 room charge. However we would definately stay again as would also like to have an evening dinner and drinks there which we didn't do on this occasion. The staff were all very polite and the room was spotless!

Reviewed by
Gary D

From Widnes, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was very small and the bathroom smelt of damp. The bathroom light was a sensor and so it switched itself off if you didn't move! Continental breakfast included which consisted of cereal, croissants and fruit only (no protein so hungry again an hour later)! No offer of toast. Our towels were changed whilst we were having breakfast and we hadn't even used them and this was obvious. We were in our room having a rest and getting ready to go out in the afternoon and a lady came in! No idea why as the room had been cleaned that morning. Very strange. Not good value for money overall and wished we had stayed in a b & b rather than a hotel.

Reviewed by
M Jones

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the metro
Excellent in all aspects. Would very happily stay there again and most definitely recommend The Metro.

Reviewed by
r gibson

From Troon, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Peace and Quiet
Stayed here over the Easter weekend. The Metro is situated right near Lord Street so was perfect for a stroll in the evening. Being situated just one block away gives you the peace and quiet we really wanted.
The Metro is a stunning hotel with gorgeous rooms that are both spacious and beautifully decorated.
We opted to go for a full English breakfast which was an extra £2 each. We would have paid an extra £20 for it. The breakfast was delicious and you can have it tailored to your own requirements. Perfect end to a perfect stay.
Can't wait to return.

Reviewed by
Susan C

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great place to stay
The hotel is very modern, with great service and very close to all the amenities in Southport. The meals are very nice and very reasonably priced. Parking is a little difficult and free parking is difficult to find but doesn't change the fact the metro is a nice place to stay.

Reviewed by
s kenney

From new moston, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This is how it should be done
Comfortable room, lovely food, excellent service

Reviewed by
c rogers

From Hitchin, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next