No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Old Rectory Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
North Walsham Road, Crostwick, , Norwich, NR12 7BG
Set within 3.5 acres of beautiful landscaped gardens The Old Rectory Hotel is the perfect location for a short break, business trip or relaxing holiday. Just 4 miles north of Norwich its rural location ensures a tranquil setting away from the bustle of inner city life but still within easy reach of local amenities (0.5 miles) and direct transport routes to Norwich (4 miles) and local tourist attractions. There are 16 rooms in total. All rooms are ground floor and en-suite, many of which offer views of the gardens. In the main hotel there are 12 spacious and well equipped rooms including a luxury four poster room and family suite. There are a further 4 double rooms in the cottage building set within the grounds. Guests are invited to relax and unwind in the stunning landscaped gardens which feature ample patio seating and a superb out door heated swimming pool in the summer months. Evening meals and breakfasts are served in one of two fully air conditioned restaurants which offer a Table d hote and Al a Carte menu. Each menu offers excellent home cooked food from fresh, locally sourced produce, wherever possible. Lunches and packed lunches are available on request. The Old Rectory makes the perfect venue for private dining for parties both large and small. There are two function rooms including a stunning conservatory restaurant with high vaulted ceiling and views of the gardens. It is suitable for all manner of private functions including, conferences, parties, weddings and seminars. The famous Norfolk Broads are just a short drive away, with the popular tourist destination of Wroxham just 2 miles north and the picturesque riverside village of Coltishall just 1 mile away. There are walking and cyling routes nearby not to mention countless tourist attractions. Norwich city centre (4 miles), offers a shopping metropilis with a vast array of restuarants, pubs, music venues, cafes, bars, and historical sites suitable for families and couples alike.
Picture of The Old Rectory Hotel, Norwich at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 27 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Faultless
I was pleased to see biscuits and hot chocolate in addition to usual complimentary tea and coffee in the room. The bathroom was modern and had complimentary toiletries. (The big chains are cutting corners to save money but not here.) The bed was big and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. Parking was free.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth H

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quite pricy given the location and quality of rooms

Reviewed by
monika s

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We have stayed at this hotel before. We only stayed overnight at our last stay. Excellent service and staff.

Reviewed by
Judith Woods

From Stone, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfy Bed
Having driven for over 6 hours during the day I was hoping for a good night's sleep and that I had, the bed was particularly comfortable and made all the difference.
My only critisism was that the restaurant was a bit spartan and bleak and needed a little more attention and flair.

Reviewed by
Nicholas M

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really enjoyed our stay. Very friendly staff and the food was excellent. The grounds around the hotel were beautiful. Would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
Ray Burgess

From Carlisle, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First class service and accomodation.

Reviewed by
m dobbs

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Good, the bad but definately not ugly!
Hotel accommodation was very clean. Large room with a superb comfortable huge double bed. Room service a treat with made beds, fresh towels and topped up refreshment facilities each day. Nice welcome and friendly helpful staff. Cooked breakfast average. Served so quickly that it was obvious the hot food had been cooked earlier and kept warm. As such it lacked a little freshness. Breakfast staff were young, inexperienced and appeared to be working untrained. Lots of small mistakes all forgivable and didn't really spoil our stay. Dining area very dingy and old fashioned. The alternative dining area in the conservatory was lovely but used for functions at weekends. Altogether a pleasant stay and great value for money. Would return.

Reviewed by
Stephen Coates

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

beyond excellent
The hotel, accommodation, food , staff. , Location, and grounds. Was faultless. Absolute perfection. They couldn't help you enough. The staff and owner were very pleasant and friendly but totally professional through out. Would highly recommend it to anybody wanting a relaxed and friendly holiday or short break. And although we didn't take our dogs, they are pet friendly too!! And the food isall home ccooked buy a trained on the premises chef. And his puddings are to die for .loved the whole experience. Well done to all of them.

Reviewed by
Helen Knowles

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our Stay
No real complaints at the price

Reviewed by
stephen p

From Hornchurch, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good quality and value.
Hotel is modern and clean with helpful cheery staff. Food is good, not over pretentious or mean on quantity. Only problem was the other guests and the lack of room sound proofing. But have a few drinks before bed and isn't a problem anymore. I recommend this hotel for any Norwich short stay.

Reviewed by
A Macovich

From Westerham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next