No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Buck House Hotel

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
High Street, Bangor On Dee, , wrexham, LL13 0BU
We are close to Wrexham and Chester and many tourist locations, also convenient for those visiting Wrexham Industrial Estate. The village itself is set by the River Dee (good for fishing), is ideal for many short walks, or enjoy a day at Banger Races. Meals are served in one of two lounges, or a full à la carte menu is served in the restaurant. The restaurant seats up to sixty people and is available for private parties or weddings. The restaurant can be expanded with a marquee to hold up to 100 guests. While you are waiting for your meals, you will be able to see how teapot happy Kath has become, or if your interest is history One of the lounges contains an enormous and unique collection of teapots, the pictures on the wall have many facts about Bangor years ago. To accompany the fine foods the staff will be pleased to offer a good selection of beers, wines and spirits. There is also a good bar/games room to enjoy a game of pool, darts, dominoes, the locals always give a very warm welcome. There are six bedrooms all with shower en suite, colour T.V., radio/alarm and tea/coffee making facilities. For convenience each room has a direct telephone line, also full central heating.
Picture of Buck House Hotel, wrexham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 20 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
75% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice hotel
Very relaxed atmosphere with really friendly staff. Top quality food with a lovely breakfast. Amazing value for money, we will definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
Phil P

From Ellesmere Port, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely weekend
Family run pub and rooms.lovely beds.very welcoming .breakfast cooked to order.any order taken.pretty village.

Reviewed by
e newton

From Dewsbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not bad for the money
I stayed one evening and staff were generally helpful. Room was as expected although I didn't appreciate the hairs in the bed ( obviously not changed from last guest) but as it was a twin I slept in the other. Restaurant staff and lady who cooked breakfast were lovely. Generally for £35 a night...it was OK

Reviewed by
Claire B

From Blackwood, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could Be So Much Better.
I arrived early and was allowed to have my room 2 hours before normal booking in time, which I thought was excellent.
The room was very basic but let down by little things. The bed spreads were stained, the headboards on both single beds were very insecure. Having to boil the kettle on the floor because the lead from it to the mains was stretched.
The evening meal, average at best, I thought was over priced. It didn't help when I was told the the plate was "hot on that side but ok on the other", I would have preferred it all to be hot. Breakfast more than made up for this, delicious.
I have to agree with other comments that the noise from the bar could be bothersome, and I also agree that's it is a pub, not a hotel.
Would I return ? Probably not I'm afraid to say. Would I recommend to a friend? Only if there was nowhere else.

Reviewed by
Nick D

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

over night
comfortable and pleasant

Reviewed by
John S

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Buck house experience.
on arrival ,car parking was good behind the Pub. I would describe Buck House as a Pub. rather than an hotel . Though very busy because of the "races" I was attended by a pleasant young man who after a short wait was able to show me to my room. Though small ,the room was well equipped & warm with a comfortable bed.

Reviewed by
N jONES

From MORECAMBE, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel is in great location friendly & helpful staff good value for money excellent food. Friendly locals.

Reviewed by
N DEVEY

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Book somewhere else if you can !
When I arrived at the Hotel the greeting was hardly friendly. I was shown to my room and a registration form was left for me to complete, although it wasn't made clear that they wanted me to do this, or even where to hand it in. There were 2 twin beds in the room I was given and the bed covers on both were extremely dirty, with stains on both. There were soap dispensers above the wash hand basin and in the shower, but both were empty. The towels had been cleaned with bleach, so that the colour had long since faded away.
On the plus side, the lady that greeted me at breakfast the next morning, couldn't have been friendlier and went out of her way to my breakfast the only pleasurable experience of staying at Buck House.

Reviewed by
David D

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bangor races
Ideally located in Bangor and good value for money.

Reviewed by
M Reid

From Penrith, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly welcome.
Arriving late, we received a warm welcome and despite it being after last food orders we were well fed and watered. The quality of the food was excellent.

Reviewed by
Clive Matthews

From Hexham, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next