No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Last Cast

3Visit Scotland Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Main street, , , Bridge of Earn, PH2 9PL
We are a small family run hotel, which offers a warm, friendly and relaxed atmosphere. Sharon and Keith took over the establishment in March 2008 and since then have undertaken a refurbishment of the 6 en-suite bedrooms, bar and lounge areas. The pub offers a comfortable lounge area for relaxing and the main bar is a traditional village locals’ bar (come along and join in the banter!) with open fire for cosy nights to be enjoyed over the winter period. The bar area has two wide screen TVs with Sky Sports available and a very up to date digital juke box with every musical taste catered for. Both areas offer a wide selection of beers, spirits, malt whisky, wines and soft drinks. Guests can choose either Room Only or Bed & Breakfast. The Last Cast is located in the picturesque Bridge of Earn, it has easy access to the M90 motorway and sits 4 miles to the south of the city of Perth. Bridge of Earn village sits 4 miles to the south of the city of Perth and is an excellent location for visitors to the area to access several good golf courses for those keen on the sport. There are too many courses to mention but King James VI 18 hole course on an island in the river Tay is only 5 miles away with 27 holes over moorland and parkland. 10 miles away is the legendary Gleneagles with 4 courses and St Andrews – the home of golf – is only 25 miles from here. Kinross, Auchterarder, Drumoig, Carnoustie, Blairgowrie, Milnathort and Dunning are also nearby. None of the aforementioned golf courses are more than 30 miles away. Fishermen have an abundant choice for rod and reel. The Tay, the Tummel, Lyon, Garry, Ericht, Dochart and of course the Earn all boast famous beats providing excellent trout and salmon fishing. There are also a good number of fisheries in and around the area. There are a number of shooting estates in the area but shoots for deer, grouse and partridge need to be pre-arranged. Clay pigeon shooting is also available in the area.
Picture of The Last Cast, Bridge of Earn at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 8 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good, clean accommodation
Very clean and well equipped room. A little noisy from customers of the pub but soon went quiet. Carpet looked faded and there was carpet in the bathroom which is not very hygienic. But the bed was comfortable and warm. TV, alarm clock and hair dryer all supplied. Large breakfast.

Reviewed by
Morag G

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Last Cast Bridge of Earn
We were made very welcome and had a very comfortable stay with a very good cooked breakfast. Our room was very clean and pleasantly decorated. I would certainly recommend the Last Cast for a short stay. It is not a big establishment.

Reviewed by
H Grey

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last Cast
There was a little problem over what was booked beforehand, but this was soon sorted out by the owner. Dinner was taken along the street at the Village Inn, breakfast at the Last Cast. Meals were very good all round.
Village is made very attractive by the residents using flower beds and tubs.
A little noisy downstairs in the evening, but it was a Saturday night and the pub was busy.
All in all, well worth the stop.

Reviewed by
J Irvine

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean tidy accommodation. Friendly owners.

Reviewed by
Jane P

From Lincolnshire, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First time in Scotland
Arrived late evening to a warm welcome,actually taken to our room,shown where to go for breakfast and what time and kind of breakfast we required we had three different breakfasts for each of the mornings we were there, all our needs were catered for nothing was too much trouble,all the staff were friendly and informative with directions etc a very enjoyable stay.
Highly recommended.
M.Drinkell and S Skelton

Reviewed by
M Drinkell

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staying at The Last Cast
Clean,comfortable, warm, agreeable surprised to find free WiFi, friendly staff.

Reviewed by
Rosemary White

From Dunoon, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money
We booked this only a couple of hours before we arrived due to a disaster at the accommodation where we were supposed to be staying, thankfully the booking was received and check-in was hassle free. Our room was right above a private function that night (it was a Saturday), but thankfully the noise didn't travel that much and we had a big comfy bed so slept soundly. View onto Main St - we parked across the road and could see the car from the window. Decent shower. We didn't have breakfast so can't comment on that. No complaints, clean tidy room. Good value for money.

Reviewed by
Mark M

From Glasgow, Scotland
Who stayed in September 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Is what it is
I booked a double room through LateRooms, sending additional information that our 8 month old child would accompany us (as she normally does) and that she would sleep in her buggy, if this was a problem then to call me and let me know.
On arriving we were advised that they had no notice that our baby would be with us. I showed them the email I sent through LateRooms, but they said they did not receive it. At that point we did not know if we would need to find somewhere else. We were stood there feeling as though we had done something wrong. However, when the female owner came in, she was fine and showed us to a twin room. She asked if we booked breakfast, I said yes.
Within 20mins, a knock at the door revealed we had been put into a twin room instead of a double which I had booked. This initially had not bothered me as a bed is a bed.
The room was directly above the bar, loud with voices but the Scotland game was on. This was not a problem as obviously we knew we had booked accommodation above a pub.
After returning to the property after going out shopping and for dinner, we were advised we had not booked breakfast and this would be an additional £10 charge. I insisted that LateRooms had advised the room came with breakfast, however, on checking my email from them, nothing was mentioned about breakfast, so I agreed to pay for the breakfast in the morning.
To be honest, I didn't think the music from the pub would have been quite so loud, it was more like a club than a local bar (which we have stayed above before) The music went off at 12.30am, and the place was silent by 1.00am. It did not stop us from sleeping as we were awake anyway but the 'thump' 'thump' was a bit annoying.
It was only us for breakfast the next day. No high chair made it awkward for us to eat. The breakfast was fine.
We weren't rushed out and had a chat with the staff regarding the booking and the noise etc. The pub had 2 parties going that night and it had been their busiest night in some time. Not much you can do about that.
We had a good sleep and the place was clean, the shower was good, and it was spacious enough. The location was good for Perth centre, which was our reason for going.
As my title says, it is what it is, its a bed above a pub. If none of the above bother you then it will be fine. Don't go with any children. It was stated there was no family room, but we didn't need that, as the baby doesn't need a bed. I was a little disappointed by the instant almost defensive reaction we got when we arrived but it didn't make my stay any worse.

Reviewed by
L DRUMMOND

From Glasgow, Scotland
Who stayed in September 2012

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.