No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Birkdale Guesthouse

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
87 Liverpool Road, Birkdale, , Southport, PR8 4DB
The Guesthouse was fully refurbished in 2010. The result is a spacious and relaxing building which will provide you with a comfortable and relaxed stay. We offer 5 well presented ensuite rooms, which have flat screen TV, WiFi, a hospitality tray, free off road car parking, and a guest lounge with TV. As well as the usual double and twin bedrooms, we can offer a family suite and an M2 pack disabled room. In addition the building complies with all the most recent stringent saftey & sound insulation regulations so you will not be kept awake by another guests TV! Whether you are an individual traveller, a couple or family, golfers, business people or a tourist we can offer you a comfortable and relaxed stay. Whether on business or on holiday, start your day with one of our terrific full English breakfasts, sourced from local suppliers. If you have special dietary requirements please contact us and we will try our best to provide you with a tasty start to the day. Our location is great. We are only 5 minutes outside Southport but we are away from the bustle of the city centre but within easy reach of all Southport's amenities. We are 3 minutes' (yes really only 3!) walk from Birkdale village centre, which has a great selection of restaurants, bars and shops. We have excellent transport links to Liverpool via road, bus (outside door) and train (5 minutes walk to station) and are within easy reach of the M6, M58 and M57. We are located on the UK's own "Golf Coast" and are within 15 minutes drive of 5 championship Golf Courses, with a selection of several other private and municipal courses nearby. Our family suite consists of two separate ensuite rooms which are reached by a single lockable door from the main corridor. This provides you parents with some privacy but ensures that your family is always secure. Our disabled room is situated on the ground floor with great access to the car park, dining room and lounge and a second room suitable for a carer.
Picture of Birkdale Guesthouse, Southport at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 29 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An outstanding Guest House
A genuine friendly welcome,a centrally heated and comfortable room,good kingsized bed,excellent foolproof shower,secure parking,situated close to bus stop into Southport and a few minutes walk to shops,restauarants and Railway Station with trains to Liverpool in Birkdale village.

Reviewed by
M Evans

From Bishop's Stortford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Execellent place to stay
This is an excellent place to stay and very clean. The food was excellent and we was made to feel very much at home. We will be booking again!!!

Reviewed by
Robert Weaver

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent find nothing too much trouble
Great B & B excellent value for money, clean, warm and well equipped and furnished, loads of parking, big shower room. Cannot find fault

Reviewed by
H Langridge

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Spot on in Southport !!
Plain and simple review, ticked all the boxes as it should do. Although we did get a disabled room, which is fine, but the bathroom sink was extremely low, good job I am flexible for my age !!!
Only needed a bed for the night after a game at Royal Birkdale and evening dinner to save driving home which is only 20 miles away. So, what did I need ?
Clean room, comfy bed, good shower, nice breakfast, somewhere to park my cars safely and pleasant hosts. Well, it ticked all these boxes perfectly, so we were very happy and would certainly stay next time. Many thanks and well done.

Reviewed by
S F

From Leyland, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Birkdale Guest House and night out!
Brilliant accommodation and very welcoming hosts. Very polite and informing on the surrounding area! Birkdale Village is a really nice quirky place with good places to eat! Really enjoyed it!

Reviewed by
B Walker

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review of our stay
This is a very well run and friendly guest house. The rooms are of a high standard and very comfortable. The breakfast was excellent and the owners are open and made our stay very enjoyable.

Reviewed by
ROBERT SMITH

From Whitley Bay, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent , fantastic value , very friendly

Reviewed by
Sue S

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Birkdale Gem
Used to live nearby so wanted to revisit the area. So glad I picked the Birkdale as I don't think I could have done any better. Hosts are perfect and went out of their way to accommodate us. Value for money if they done it any cheaper they'd be paying you!! If you want to know anything just ask but they give you lots of info anyway!! Varied guests at Birkdale but all chat away at breakfast as it's so friendly. Would have no problem staying again or recommending to others.

Reviewed by
Eric Turnbull

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A really pleasant overnight stay
We were greeted by one of the proprietors on arrival and shown into a tastefully furnished bedroom. The proprietor was welcoming and offered us the option of a container of fresh milk to use instead of the little UHT cartons standing with the rooms tea and coffee making facilities. We found the bed very comfortable and next morning were impressed by the selection of breakfast options. Our cooked breakfast choices were both very well presented and we really enjoyed the food.

Reviewed by
Mark T

From Pershore, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All you could ask of a B&B
We stayed for two nights and found it a thoroughly enjoyable experience. The room was lovely, the furnishings to a very high standard, the food was excellent and we received an extremely warm and friendly welcome. There is a good size car park, which is an additional benefit. Would recommend to anyone.

Reviewed by
H Ronaldson

From Guildford, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next