No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Rufford Arms Hotel

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
380 Liverpool Road, , , Rufford, L40 1SQ
A completely no smoking establishment, offering facilities you would find in any cosmopolitan city but with a rural back drop of West Lancashire. Situated 15 minutes from the M6 motorway (junction 27), this hotel is ideally located on the A59 with easy access to Liverpool, Preston, Southport & Manchester. The hotel has a very popular restaurant, which produces a wide range of dishes prepared with local fresh produce. Booking ahead is recommended if you wish to dine as the restaurant gets very busy at weekends. Local attractions in this area included Royal Birkdale golf course, home to the golf open championships; great shopping & theatres in Southport, Liverpool & Manchester. Walking distance from the hotel finds you at Rufford Old Hall, a National Trust property, and Martin Mere wetlands & wild fowl trust - as featured on Bill Oddie's Autumn watch - is only 4.5 miles away.
Picture of Rufford Arms Hotel, Rufford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 8 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a home from home
a lovely hotel with fabulous staff who greet you with a lovely warm welcome. this hotel and its management obviously have very high standards and are keen on their level of customer service and it shows, the food was delicious and served in promt and hot and staff are happy to tweek the menu to adapt to person taste preferences, another example of customer service. the rooms are fresh and clean and very nicely decorated. i felt welcomed and comfortable as a lone lady traveller and will be revisiting when back in the area

Reviewed by
L Grice

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel. Only stayed 1 night as was passing through, wish we could have stayed longer.

Reviewed by
Katie M

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff pleasant and helpful. Room comfortable and clean but key to door quite difficult to insert. Dinner was good especially my vegetarian roulade which was delicious, thank you chef !

Reviewed by
P Smith

From Ulverston, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Little Gem of Lancashire
There is nothing I could fault this hotel for. The staff were friendly and helpful. The accomodation clean and spacious. The food was first class.

Reviewed by
Douglas R

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Premises nice room comfortable spoiled by cost cutting
Room was fine comfortable and clean.....Wifi was really really slow....Food is rather 70s....and quite pricy.
Main issue was heating was only on from 3 until about 10....stayed in winter so room was cols in the morning and difficult to work in room due to dropping temperature. Cleaning staff ket switching off heated towel rail....

ManagementResponse

I am glad that you found your room both comfortable and clean. I'm disappointed to find that you found your room to be cold. If you had let any member of staff know prior to mentioning it upon check out, we could have changed the settings for you. I feel that your comment about our food is quite unjust given that you ate in the restaurant every night of your stay, we are priced very competitively and as can be seen on other review websites, very well received by our guests. We do hope to see you again, and thank you for your comments.

Reviewed by
David C

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly hotel
Friendly staff, clean comfortable room. Felt very safe staying alone. Restaurant very popular in the evening so will definitely eat there the next time I visit my son at Edge Hill!

Reviewed by
Tracey B

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A nice surprise
Having lived in the area many years ago, and remembering the Rufford Arms as fairly basic and non-descript, I booked in expecting somewhere to sleep and not much more. I was very pleasantly surprised; the hotel is very clean, the rooms are nicely decorated, very comfortable (the bed was wonderful), the staff friendly without being obtrusive, the food excellent...locally sourced and beautifully cooked. I think I've found a new favourite place to stay and my old friends in the area may be seeing more of me in the future. Thank you Rufford Arms!

Reviewed by
Jonathan Brown

From Crawley, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great room, food and price
We stayed at the hotel because I was doing a triathlon in Southport the next day and the hotels in Southport were very expensive. The room was clean and had everything we needed with two single beds for our two boys (age 10 and 13) which is much better for us than a sofa bed as they are getting too big to share. The staff were very friendly, helpful and accommodating and found somewhere secure for my bike which was a big help. We ended up eating in the restaurant which was excellent. Southport was only 20 minutes away by car and there were public transport options. All in all would definitely recommend.

Reviewed by
Bill S

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.