No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Finnygook Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Crafthole, , , Torpoint, PL11 3BQ
Completely renovated in October 2009, the atmosphere is relaxed and welcoming, combined with a light and fresh décor. There are no pool tables or fruit machines, just newspapers and books to read as you enjoy a real log fire. You could even re-discover the art of conversation! There are also five bedrooms, most en-suite, ideal for coastal walkers or for short breaks to explore this beautiful corner of Cornwall. Here at the Finnygook we have five simply decorated rooms, most en-suite, all providing a comfortable place rest your head and recharge your batteries. When it comes to location, the Finnygook Inn is incredibly privileged. Perched above the south east Cornish coast in the picturesque village of Crafthole with stunning views of the river Lynher estuary with the Tamar as a backdrop. In the other direction it is only a short stroll to huge views along Cornwall’s south coast. A great way to work up an appetite or even walk off too much lunch!
Picture of Finnygook Inn, Torpoint at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay...
Accommodation was very nice as was the food and drink. The only slight criticism was the manager could have been more attentive to us, granted it was very busy the night we stayed.

Reviewed by
paul b

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed for one night to attend my sons passing out parade at Raleigh which is a 10 minutes drive away. The staff were very friendly and helpful - the food was excellent. The view from the library/dining room was fab - which made the stay even more enjoyable - I wish we had stayed an extra night - would thoroughly recommend it!

Reviewed by
F Mclinn

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room for Improvement
Room for Improvement.
Staff are friendly and a good breakfast provided each morning.
Evening meals were disappointing as all the meals we ate over the 3 evenings in which we stayed were decidedly average especially considering they were a little over priced for a pub. Happy enough with the room, but a couple of the drawers were broken, and I had to use a plastic bag to hold the shower head in place!

Reviewed by
Alan Howse

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very welcoming staff & relaxed atmosphere, great stay, beer good, food good. Cheers

Reviewed by
C Moore

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

quick break
good value quick break. single use of double room with private bathroom (not en suite) but en suite rooms available for extra cost. good full english breakfast. room a little noisy from bar until closing time but ok if you want to join them.

Reviewed by
A DAVIES

From Truro, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great getaway
Good value for money, food excellent, staff helpful and friendly,a bit noisy at night but then it is a pub so we expected that. I'd stay here again.

Reviewed by
Mary K

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Location for a short stay
The location is very good. Close to beautiful coastal walks, small beach and nice views.
The staff also seemed to be fine. Helpful and attentive. Food fairly priced and good quality.
However, the room we booked in was just o.k. Bit stuffy, can't keep the windows open as the kitchen exhaust was close to it and the smell coming in to the room.
It was not ensuite but had a private bathroom just outside the corridor. Bathrobes were provided so we were o.k. as we were just staying there for a night.
The most annoying part was the music noises coming in from the bar, till late night. It was on till about 1.30 am and could hear it in the room continuously. Finally had to wake up, get dressed go down the bar and let them know to slow it down or switch it off. The bar was closed, but still just two people in the bar had the music on. After mentioning it, he did slowed down which I was still able to hear in my room. Put my ear plugs on and tried to sleep.
I would not stay here again despite of the location especially in the same room. Probably other rooms may be bit quieter.

Reviewed by
S Patel

From Stratford upon Avon, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Finnygook Inn fabulous location, excellent food and great value for money.
What a wonderful find the Finnygook Inn was. Clean, welcoming, super food and all in a fabulous location.

Reviewed by
S Joiner

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A nice break in Cornwall
Woulod recommend

Reviewed by
Ray H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Non Event
We were disappointed on arrival, due to our room being allocated to someone else who had walked in off the street, spent the rest of the evening looking for alternative accommodation. not the enjoyable break away we were expecting,!! feel we should of been advised that although we had reserved the said room, there's no guarantee it will be there when you arrive, not impressed, not likely to book with lateroom.com or Finneygook Inn.

Reviewed by
Jason C

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next