No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Kings Guest House

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
14 Eaton Road, Handbridge, , Chester, CH4 7EN
The Kings is a family run, friendly Victorian guest house in a prime position, just a short walk from Chester city centre (5 minutes) via a pleasant stroll over the river via the Roman Bridge Gate and 5 minutes by Taxi to the Station. Other attractions are also close to hand, like the racecourse (1 mile) with its many events and the Zoo only a 10 minute drive. With the Welsh border 2 miles, and Liverpool and Manchester only a 40 minute journey away, we can offer a perfect base for the business person and tourist alike. For the Shopaholics amongst you,as well as just a 10 minute stroll to the numerous shops in the City centre, including the famour 'rows' the Cheshire Oaks shopping outlet is only a 15 minute drive or a bus journey for those wishing to use public transport. The Kings has recently been refurbished; achieving 4 stars, and prides itself on the clean high quality rooms it offers plus the full English breakfast it provides. We also offer ample free off-road parking for peace of mind during your stay. Children are welcome and a cot and high chair can be provided at no extra cost. Free WiFi available.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 94 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good

ManagementResponse

Thank you so much for leaving such a great review.

Reviewed by
Guy Gower

From Crewe, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Experience
Our daughter was graduating from Chester University, and we needed somewhere to stay,we found Kings, on a website, and I could not be happier that we did,Phil and Pauline,made us welcome from the start,the room was lovely, very clean and cosy and they,helped make a special occasion even more special, Thank you both.

Reviewed by
M Davis

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wa
Arrived late after horrendous journey, but owners had no problem with having to stay up and wait for us to get there. A warm welcome on eventual arrival. We had booked a room for three and were really surprised how big the room was. There were three single beds and a double which were well spaced and the room was lovely and warm. Breakfast was good, dining room was spacious with traditional feel. Excellent value for money. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
N Holmes

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Bed and Breakfast
It was very clean and warm with an excellent breakfast, and would recommend it.

ManagementResponse

Thanks for leaving such a great review. We're so pleased you enjoyed staying at the Kings.

Reviewed by
l lougher

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was clean, comfortable and guest house in a really good location. Owners were really pleasant and accommodating. Breakfast was great and service really good too. Owners also advised us to book direct next time, although price was reasonable and excellent value we could have saved about £15.

ManagementResponse

What a great start to our day! Your review is the first thing I've read this morning. Thanks for leaving such a great score & comments.

Reviewed by
Vikki L

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Value and Position
Rooms a bit on the small side, basic but very clean and well kept. Very friendly and breakfast was good, very good value for the money. Great position to walk into Chester.

Reviewed by
Philip S

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb Value for Money
Couldn't find fault. Excellent hotel

Reviewed by
Dave H

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Kings Guest House Chester
We had a warm welcome from Phil who took us up to our room. The room was really nice, very comfortable and pristine. The location of the Kings was great as it was a 5 minute walk to the river and town. The breakfasts were very tasty and there was a lot of choice too. We ate at a local pub on the first night by Phil which was fantastic value for money. All in all it was a great stay, Phil and his charming wife were lovely hosts and we will definitely be back!

ManagementResponse

We are so pleased you enjoyed staying with us and thank you very much for your kind review. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Reviewed by
A Cooke

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Chester
Very nice stay in good accomodation with a pleasant welcome from owners, would definetly stay there again

ManagementResponse

Thank you for taking the trouble to leave these lovely comments.

Reviewed by
Neil Durkin

From Hereford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What more can I say?
Excellent overall - accommodation, hosts, food and the wife just loved the dining room decor!

ManagementResponse

Your kind comments are very much appreciated and we hope you will pay a return visit to the Kings very soon.

Reviewed by
M Burns

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next