No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Alma Lodge Guest House

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
125 Alma Road, , , Plymouth, PL3 4HQ
Located overlooking the small golf course at Central Park, Alma Lodge Guest House is nearest b&b to Life Centre. Five mins walk to Brittania Inn (Weatherspoon's pub) therefore ideal if you are tired after a long car journey and also near Argyle FC. If you need to hire a car, Hertz Car Hire is 3 mins walk away from us. We are only 10 mins walk from train station and 15 minutes walk into City Centre and University (and also on a regular bus route into the City Centre/University). We are only 3 miles from HMS RALEIGH. On direct bus route to Raleigh. Ideally situated for Dockyard and also on bus route to Derriford Hospital. Central Park has a picnic area and lovely play area for children. Facilities at the new Life Centre consist of a family leisure pool with flumes, also a 10 lane, 50m swimming pool, a diving pool, (where you might be lucky to see Tom Daley training). Also indoor bowls centre, 12 court sports hall and squash courts, innovative climbing zone, dance, soft play and creche and a gym (150 stations) and group exercise classes. Plymouth is historical, with its Mayflower Steps in the Barbican (where the first American settlers set sail from England). Scott of the Antartic, Sir Francis Drake and the famous Hoe. We are only 10 mins drive from the historical Hoe (sea front) and Barbican areas, which make for a great day out. Also, by car, you could be at the bridge between Devon & Cornwall within 5/10 minutes from the Alma Lodge Guest House. Ferry Ports to France & Spain are only 10 mins drive away.l For the convenience of our guests, we would like to explain that Alma Lodge is not 24 hour manned therefore check in time is after 4 pm. Please note we are unable to take payment via credit or debit card AT THE GUEST HOUSE, however, you can use card on our secured booking site at almalodge.plymouth.co.uk
Picture of Alma Lodge Guest House, Plymouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 57 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one of the best B&B I have stay in and in a good area for the park for the kids will go back again

Reviewed by
C breed

From Clevedon, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the toilet is in the wardrobe!!! not brilliant for relaxing. we were right on main road so couldnt have windows open and the fan kept clucking when spinning

Reviewed by
k holland

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely B&B
Great location, only took us 10mins to walk into town. Our room was very clean and tidy and had no complaints. Would def stay there again.

Reviewed by
Nicola H

From Abingdon, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight at Alma Lodge
Centrally located in Plymouth this is an excellent B&B we were given a warm welcome even though we turned up at 10 am! Lovely on suite room and good breakfast. Would recommend to anyone who wants to stay in a value for money accomadation in Plymouth.

Reviewed by
Barbara Clayton

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very clean and comfy - great breakfast excellent value for money!!

Reviewed by
T Henvest

From St Austell, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Didn't quite make the grade
We stayed here 6 nights, so we can make this in-depth.
They have 4 Roses but maybe that's one too many. The room was nice, but there was a bed-side table only on one side of the double bed; and the switch for the bed-side light was so placed, that you have to get out of bed to turn it off. The shower/bathroom module was nice, but could do with a deep cleaning, especially in the corners and on the grouting.
Annoying about the breakfast were three things:
1: Breakfast is only served untill 8:30. When you are holiday, like us, it would be nice to have it a bit later.
2. My Wife eats a continental breakfast; after the first morning, this was accomodated, but it would have been nice if the cheeseand ham had been presented on a plate instead of the packs from Iceland simply put on the side-board DIY style.
3. After the first morning, it was obvious that we like a good bit of toast with our breakfast. But every morning, the Landlady brought us one slice each, and when we wanted more, another one slice, i.e. a half-slice each. I'm afraid that only one word comes to mind in this regard: stingy.
As a PS, it should be noted that the daughter was most friendly and helpful. It could be hoped the she will one day be in charge.

Reviewed by
R Bowen

From 63110 Rodgau, Germany
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

guest house was convinient for where I was going, clean and reasonably priced
I was able to park off road the room was quite small with fair sized ensuite with bath and shower
The room was well equiped with drink making facilitys tv and comfy bed

Reviewed by
L Green

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic value for money., Lovely, comfortable stay.
Stayed for one night for theatre visit. Lovely, friendly welcome and choice of clean, spacious bedrooms. Delicious, freshly cooked breakfast. Walking distance to local Weatherspoons (The Brittania- very nice) and city centre. Shall definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
P Sutton

From Barnstaple, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OK for short stay
Satisfactory for our purpose - attending an evening concert in Yelverton.
Directions provided were very unsatisfactory for someone unfamiliar with Plymouth.

Reviewed by
richard R

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcome
When we arrived at alma lodge we were concerned about the security of our motorcycles but the owner informed us we could store them in the garage Which pleased us no end.We enjoyed our stay and the owners were very pleasant considering we were bikers and we would stop there again .

Reviewed by
Gordon S

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of men

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next