Reviews - The Lansdown Grove Hotel



Price From 170.09 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (57)

82% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality



  • September 2015

The Lansdown Grove Hotel

The hotel was faultless and staff very friendly.

The problem we encountered on a two day short break was the actual communication from late rooms and the hotel. Having booked and paid through late rooms the night before, upon arrival we were again asked for our bank details and were charged full amount upon authorisation. Having arrived in the evening and spending a considerable amount of time at reception explaining that we had already paid for the accomodation, we further had to make contact on our mobile phone to late rooms to try to clear up the matter.. The following morning we had to speak to reception again followed by a trip to the to confirm that no further monies had been taken from our account. The hotel staff were not apparent of the procedure with late rooms with regards to payment. Therefore our 2 days short trip was mared by us having been constantly in touch with both hotel reception, late rooms and our bank. As you can appreciate our frustration and disappointment which should have been a pleasant short stay. Upon leaving the hotel and on instructions from our bank were given a written receipt to say that no futher money had been taken and the hotel were liaising with their head office. As stated the hotel was superb it was the booking in procedures between the hotel and late rooms were the problem, i believed that upon arrival at the hotel we only had to give our booking ref no, which was not the case. I would not want to go through this experience again with any hotel anywhere due to lack of communications.

  • Michael S

  • August 2015

Friendly hotel

Very friendly and helpful staff

  • d hilton

  • August 2015

The Lansdown Grove Hotel

Lovely hotel and staff.

  • Peter M

  • July 2015

Lansdown Grove

Excellent hotel situated close to Bath City centre.

Very friendly staff. Large room with outside terrace. Very clean.Excellent breakfast menu.

  • Kerry H

  • July 2015

Great hotel for a short break.

Stayed for one night to celebrate our 5th wedding anniversray.

Very warm welcome on arrival and great info and map supplied to help us find our way around Bath and the sights. Room was a good size with en suite. Very comfy bed. A few cosmetic updates needed but nothing major or to spoil our stay.

Parking on site for us was a must and the charge of £5 for 24 hours was not unreasonable, but maybe free parking would be more appealing and a selling point of the hotel. The hotel is in a lovely spot at the top of one of the roads leading directly out of the city centre. It is quite steep and took us about 15/20 minutes to walk. Not a problem for us but may be an issue for older, less able or families travelling with young children. The bus stop outside or reasonably priced taxi ride would alleviate the problem if walking not an option. We didn't have an evening meal at the hotel (although the menu choice looked lovely) as once we walked in to the city, we decided to eat there before heading back up. Breakfast was good. Again, a good selection of hot and cold choices. Service was friendly and quick and food hot and well cooked. We didn't have much cause to bother the staff but go the impression that anything we asked for would have been catered for if possible, infact, the morning we checked out it was pouring. Having not packed umbrellas, Jane kindly lent me one to wander down to the Roman Baths before we headed home. Without this, I would have been soaked.

The hotel is a beautiful old building and yes, perhaps in need of a little update to the decor. But it's a fab location and very clean. The garden terrace would be beautiful on a warmer, sunny day. We would definitely stay here again. Guests seemed on the whole, quite a bit older than us but this didn't matter to us.l

  • G Kennedy

  • May 2015

Need a bit update but overall great stay!!!

Hotel need to update bathoroom and some of the comom areas, bed is a bit noise and soft.

Could easily became 4 stars!!. But we had a great one night stay. Staff was really friendly and helpful. Great breakfast and parking facilities. About 10-15min walk to the city center. We would stay again!

  • Ray T

  • May 2015

Classy and grandiose lodging at the top of the town

  • Peter Brandon

  • May 2015

Great old fashioned quality service. Thank you!

My wife and I went for the weekend, - the hotel was lovely, - just an old fashioned quality gem.

The service was excellent, the room was large with bay windows. The breakfast was plentiful, and with great personal service, polite, efficient, friendly. There is a restaurant and bar. The hotel is a short walk from the famous Royal Crescent and Circus, and about 15 minutes downhill walk to the amazing centre of Bath. This is a super country style hotel just like they used to be. Thank you!

  • S Mealing

  • May 2015

Beautiful Hotel

Beautiful old building at the top of the hill a few minutes walk from the centre of Bath.

Very classic interior design, makes for a beautiful stay. Staff were very polite and professional. My only complaint would be the extra charge of £5 per day for parking in the hotels own car park. This charge is well advertised, however I feel a little unnecessary for what is not the cheapest of hotels. You pay for the quality you receive, is it too much to provide a free parking space too?

  • C Hadley

  • February 2015

Toilet cistern

After flushing the toilet cistern, there is an audible drip that doesn't stop.