No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Lansdown Grove Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
LANSDOWN ROAD , BATH, BA1 5EH
Dating back to 1770, and holding grade 2 listed status, The Lansdown Grove Hotel is a beautifully preserved, stone-built Georgian building , tall and elegant with high ceilings and ornate, intricate plaster work, believed to be one of the oldest hotels in Bath. With delightful views over the Georgian part of the city and the wooded hills beyond, The Lansdown Grove is in a superb location being just 15 minutes walk from the centre of Bath with all the magnificent historic buildings and stunning architecture it has to offer.

The Hotel boasts beautifully refurbished public areas including comfortable lounges with adjacent bar, and a spacious and elegant dining room offering a choice selection of mouth watering dishes each evening from both our "table d'hote" and "a la carte" menus . We are also blessed with having some beautiful gardens within the Hotel grounds including a secluded and relaxing patio area and garden terrace. Free Wi-Fi access is also provided throughout the Hotel.

All our bedrooms are comfortable, tastefully decorated and contain everything you would expect from a modern establishment, including en-suite bathrooms, TV, telephone, radio, hairdryer, Wifi access and facilities to make a hot beverage.
Picture of The Lansdown Grove Hotel, BATH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 66 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would recommend
Very enjoyable stay, staff were curtious, room was spacious, and clean.

Reviewed by
R Carter

From Amsterdam , Netherlands
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would stay again.
I was pleasantly surprised with the hotel. I reserved a small double room and the room was huge. The hotel is showing signs of age but is clean and the staff are great. All in all a grand old hotel which is excellent value for money, full of character, much better than a soulless new build.

Reviewed by
Lisa E

From Taunton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent, just what we needed.
The Lansdown Grove was a great stay. My girlfriend and I stayed for two nights. The hotel is located at the top of the main hill/road which takes you down into the main city center. The walk down from the hotel only takes 10 minutes. It is also a 5/10 minute walk from The Crescent. Our room was at the front of the hotel which had a great view of bath. The room in general was very clean and tidy with a bath and shower. It has everything we needed for a short stay. Our sleeps were great, no background noises. I would definently stay here again and I have recommened the hotel to my colleague who is planning a few nights stay in Bath.

Reviewed by
Chris Hatt

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1 night business stay

Reviewed by
Guy B

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel customer service was generally ok and the staff were very friendly.. The service for evening meal was a tad sloppy and the food a bit bland. This hotel desperately needs a makeover. It's looking very dated in a 1990's way and the paintwork and decoration is shabby.

Reviewed by
Michael L

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really poor breakfast
Working hard to present a big old hotel in good condition. Whilst a bit fusty (carpet on the walls of the lift!) our room was a pleasant surprise. Large, good decor and linen. Parking is very tight with a large famy car. Then to breakfast ..... really poor. Worst example of a full English I've encountered for a long time. Despite this the stay had to be classed as good value for money.

Reviewed by
Martin G

From West Malling, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 day stay
Hotel is a good base for walking down to Bath or there is a bus service right outside.

Reviewed by
John K

From Tring, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location excellent hotel
Easy to find. Convenient parking near the City Centre. Friendly and helpful staff throughout our stay.

Reviewed by
J LAUDER

From Barry, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A friendly helpful greeting at reception and despite arriving earlier than planned room was made available very promptly.
We had an ambassador room, which was spacious and well equipped. Unlike some previous reports no problem with either wifi or tv reception. Ok the room opened out to the secondary car park which made it easier for transporting our luggage to our room but as for previous comments about the view we were not expecting to come to bath and spend the time looking out of our hotel window.all in all a pleasant stay and would return in the future.

Reviewed by
D reade

From Bridgend, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Suited us
Would certainly recommend the Ambassador rooms which we had, and we were also pleased that the hotel managed to fulfil our requests for adjoining rooms and a reserved parking space. The staff were friendly and helpful and, whilst the hotel is a steep walk back from the centre, there is a bus service which stops right outside for anyone who finds it too much.

Reviewed by
John T

From Dorchester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next