No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Mount Batten Centre

Not Classified  Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
70, Lawrence Road , Plymouth, PL99SJ
The South West's premier watersports & activities centre
The centre benefits from its unique position close to the picturesque Plymouth Sound,making an ideal base for diving or sight seeing. we can provide you with the perfect waterfront location for any occasion. Conference and event rooms for hire for up to 120 people. Special occasions and themed nights from weddings to birthday parties
We are a residential centre with 23 rooms offering comfortable accommodation for up 60 people making it ideal for activity individuals, groups and conference guests or simply a competitively priced break. Our rates are for bed & breakfast, we can also offer full board rates for group booking (minimum 12 people) which includes breakfast, packed lunch & dinner.

Picture of The Mount Batten Centre, Plymouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 12 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
76% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very enjoyable stay, lovely sea view and great value for money.

Reviewed by
Angela G

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would have been nice if someone had not been sick in the disabled toilet. had to clean before use

ManagementResponse

Apologies, we do check the facilities on a regular basis, unfortunately this must have occurred between checks.

Reviewed by
f mortimer

From Dartford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
Fantastic location. Great taxi boat service across the water right into the Barbican centre of Plymouth. Clean shared areas and great full breakfast at the weekend. Friendly and helpful staff. Also well located to the south west coastal path.

Reviewed by
ann-marie f

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Triathlon overnighter
Daughter doing junior aquathlon with early start, so looked to find somewhere to stay so we could travel down to Plymouth the night before. The triathlon started about 2 mns walk away from here so it was ideal. Car park was included so didnt have to think about that.
We read the comments about shared bathrooms, no TV etc , but as we only needed somewhere to sleep it didnt matter. The price was good and suited our needs. If you are used to big chain hotels then this probably isnt for you. It is basic but clean.
As it was the room was perfect. A double and a single with tea/coffee making facilities , a TV & an ensuite with great shower. Views from 2 sides on to the river so we could see where the race started in the morning ! Great views & also as it got dark with all the lights on the river.
Unfortunatley there was a wedding going on, so it was rather noisy as we tried to get to sleep. Hot night but the noise meant we had to keep the windows closed. We've had that at expensive hotels before so its down to luck. We had good meal in the bar - scampi & chips & burger - and these were great. Especially a cold pint of Thatchers ! Bar staff were friendly and helpful. .
Needed to be up before breakfast so tried to get a packed one the night before, and had put this on the booking, but was told they couldnt do it. . It would have been nice, but no big deal.
Didnt have to check out until 10, so came home after race and had nice warm shower before leaving.
The views & location are amazing.
It was exactly what we needed so were very pleased.I would certainly book here again and recommend it, but will remember to ask if there is a wedding on !

Reviewed by
trudi j

From Axbridge, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Surprising
When I realised there was not TV in the room and private en-suite I thought it would be terrible! But the shared showers/toilet facilities were fantastic and clean, and with such beautiful views outside, who needs a TV? The staff were really helpful, friendly and chatty and the breakfast was fantastic. Will definitely be staying again.

Reviewed by
Natalie Ray

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great harbourside spot, nice views, shame about the breakfast
We booked for the two of us, hoped for a twin bed but got three single bunks. No matter though, was still a nice little room with a great view out over the harbour. The shower facilities were clean and in good nick, really quite a nice little place to stay the night. If ur up for a trip over to the Barbican there's a ferry service only a minute up the path that runs every 30 mins for £1.50 each way.
Wasn't expecting great things for the breakfast, fortunately... the English brekkie was drowned in oil and over cooked. Settled for the coco pops and toast.
Would recommend the accommodation to anyone looking to make the most out of the water sport activities on offer here, but perhaps plan to grab breakfast elsewhere.

Reviewed by
G Price

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

From a picture of a double bed online . I didn't expect bunk beds. From my understanding this was a hotel not a hostel . For almost forty pounds I could of stayed in a travel lodge or ibis and would of been a better room .
Very basic room. No TV. No on suite toilets /showers-bath. Showers and toilets are down the corridor. This would be ideal for a school trips where or water sports enthusiasts not wanting the lavish room.

Reviewed by
steve v

From brentford, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not bad for the price
Some of the reviewers here expect 6 star luxury!
For the price the hotel is about right. The only bad side is they really should change their name to something more unique as there are a number of hotels in the same area with similar names and the taxi driver wasnt sure which one it was.
Other than that, it's more like a hostel than a hotel but for the price and the fact I was staying only one night it was perfect for what we wanted.

Reviewed by
J Perczyk

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

my stay.
nice but basic room. the bathroom was huge! very friendly staff.

Reviewed by
nicola lewis

From Bridgend, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A night in Plymouth
Unusual accomm which is mainly for use by people involved in watersports but it was clean and very well priced. There were restaurants close by and it had a great view of the sea. Enjoyed it.

Reviewed by
Dave T

From Goole, England
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next