No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Parkgate Road , Chester, CH1 6NE
Recently refurbished with a multi-million pound investment, this glorious historic manor house from 1660 has been bought back to its former glory. Ideally located on the outskirts of the city centre, it is the perfect base to explore Chester and the surrounding areas whilst also providing a haven in which to relax – whatever the reason for your stay. With 48 characteristic rooms to choose from, including a selection of individually decorated suites you can rely on a little taste of luxury at Crabwall Manor Hotel and Spa.
The newly refurbished onsite spa and leisure club boasts 5 treatment rooms, steam room, massage showers, aerobics studio, fully equipped gymnasium and an 18 metre heated swimming pool – all of which can be enjoyed by guests at your leisure.
With free parking and free Wi-Fi at the hotel, Crabwall Manor is also great for the business guest with 5 meeting and conference rooms that can cater for up to 100 delegates. Chester Rail Link is only 3 miles away, and the hotel is easily accessible from the M56 motorway.
Dining in the ‘Earl of Chester’ Restaurant and our bar also offers an outdoor terrace to enjoy lunch or afternoon tea with views over the landscaped gardens. Or for those of you wanting to make the most of our new bedrooms, 24hr room service is available.

Important information Children's swim times: from 09:00 to 11:00, and 15:00 to 17:00 Monday to Friday. From 10:00 to 17:00 Saturday and Sunday.

Charge for any extra beds - £20 per bed per night
Cot charge - £5 per cot per night

Breakfast to be booked directly with hotel. Full English at £16.50 & Continental at £9.95.

Please note that our Spa and Restaurant opening hours over the festive period are as follows:

Spa
Wednesday 24th December 2014 - 8am until 8pm
Thursday 25th December 2014 - 8am until 3pm (No treatments available)
Wednesday 31st December 2014 - 8am until 3pm (Treatments available from 8am until 2pm)
Thursday 1st January 2015 - Closed

Restaurant
Thursday 25th December 2014 - Closed (Christmas Lunch Available Only) Bar menu available in the evening
Wednesday 31st December 2014 - Closed (New Year's Eve Gala Dinner Only)
Thursday 1st January 2015 - Closed - Bar menu available in the evening

Breakfast
Thursday 25th December 2014 - 8am until 11am
Thursday 1st January 2015 - 8am until 12pm

Please contact the hotel should you require further details.




Picture of Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa, Chester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 246 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Crabwall Manor Hotel & Spa
Dish washer must be on its way out as breakfast cups and milk jug were filthy. Both were replaced by different waitresses but it makes you worry about what you can't see. Spa was brilliant. There also seems to be some confusion over charging your credit card for bar bills, I had two explanations both of which were different to what actually happened. Shame beautiful place just needs to do that little extra.

Reviewed by
Paul D

From Market Harborough, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay
We used this hotel as a base for a long weekend exploring Chester & the area.
The building is interesting & inviting, there is a lounge area with a roaring log fire that would make a great meeting place if you were staying as a group.
The room was a good size, comfortable with a good seating area as well as the bed. The bathroom was spacious as well. One of the better rooms I've stayed in. If you looked closely you could find the odd thing that could be improved but nothing that spoiled he stay.
The food in the restaurant was good, it made staying in for the evening a decent option. Download the menu from the web site and you'll see if it's the sort of thing you like.

Reviewed by
Ian W

From Studley, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Break
prefect for a little break!

Reviewed by
Neil H

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Extremely pleasant, beautiful room, helpful staff, but restaurant needs attention
Great deal for the room, which was lovely. Huge bed, fantastic shower & bath and tastefully decorated. The staff were extremely accommodating and responded to all our requests professionally and promptly. The spa was a treat, and really added to our stay. The only negative was the restaurant, which needs a lot of work. You wouldn't believe that it was the same hotel. I would suggest eating elsewhere, but I would really recommend staying here.

Reviewed by
Rebecca Jones

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We decided to eat in the Restaurant, we had to wait to be shown to our table. The table we chose was too bright so I asked to move. The waiter said he couldn't alter the lighting, I said I only asked to move. We ordered drinks which took 10 minutes to arrive. We ordered steaks and asked for them medium they came well done and on a plate too small. We sent them back and had starters the mussels looked like they had tipped some cream over them and thrown in a few chopped onions.When we went to pay the bill the manager said he tasted our steaks and they were tender,, I said they might have been but I asked for them medium. The dining room in characterless and has a big table in the middle I expect for the breakfasts. The manager said he wasn't happy with the dining room and was leaving at the end of the month. A shame as it lets the Hotel down

Reviewed by
j clutton

From Southam, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Hotel
Just come back from a weekend stay at Crabwall Manor Hotel and spa, what an amazing place, idyllic location, fabulous staff, wonderful room, great food and the spa is an absolute added bonus We cannot wait to return The new owner has done wonders here and it shows throughout the hotel.

Reviewed by
nick Cooper

From Walsall, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Food did not, in some parts live up to standards of hotel.Bread rolls served with soup as bar snack had a texture of being stale but warmed through for a second time.The same type of rolls were present for breakfast as well as croissants with the same texture. On the whole food was good apart from the above

Reviewed by
Julie Duxbury

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accommodation was excellent. The rooms were extremely spacious, comfortable, finished to a high standard & clean throughout. Made for a very relaxing & enjoyable stay. Phoned in advance to request a ground floor room absolutely no problems securing. All requests happily met.

Reviewed by
Sarah P

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant experience! Will use again!
Lovely hotel, excellent welcome! Shame we couldnt have eaten in the bar it was taken up by a wedding party, we were not advised of this on arrival! The bar area when we did get in is not actually practical for eating?!?!? The room was beautiful and the quality of the fixtures and fittings were excellent, shame there was so much muck around the carpet at the skirtings! Attention to detail was lacking! The checkout process was very slow, card machine issues and took over 30 minutes. Generally our stay was very good and we will be back!

Reviewed by
Helen J

From Washington, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wedding
Well presented lovely place to visit highly recommended to stay. As for the restaurant the food is lovely but if you want value for cash there nice little pub down road

Reviewed by
Colin B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next