No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Innkeeper's Lodge Ormskirk, Aughton

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Miller & Carter Aughton Springfield Road, Aughton, L39 6ST
This cosy lodge is nestled on the edge of the pretty village of Aughton, providing quality hotel accommodation that's ideal for Aintree racecourse and Knowsley Safari Park. Whether you're planning a weekend's racing, some family elephant-spotting or a Liverpool business trip, it's the perfect country escape.

You'll find it's home to 12 elegant, comfortable rooms and a Miller & Carter steakhouse. So whatever you get up to, be sure to build an exceptional, 28-day matured steak into your plans.

Aughton is a great spot from which to explore Lancashire and Merseyside. Travel back to the 16th century at the stunning, half-timbered Old Rufford Hall. See Angel of the North artist Antony Gormley's famous sculptures at Hightown beach. Or dive into the brilliant shopping and cultural attractions of Liverpool city centre.

Picture of Innkeeper's Lodge Ormskirk, Aughton, Aughton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 44 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable hotel at a reasonable price within easy access of Liverpool
We really enjoyed our stay. The accommodation was excellent and looked newly refurbished. Food in the restaurant was excellent though the included buffet breakfast was a little disappointing. Conveniently placed for rail link to centre of Liverpool.

Reviewed by
Richard B

From Grimsby, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic stay in late May 2014!
The rooms were excellent and good value for money. The food in the restaurant was exceptional as well, though the continental breakfast did leave a little to be desired. We booked three rooms between our group and we each had a brilliant stay and would recommend it in future.

Reviewed by
N Little

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic stay
Room was clean, tidy. Anything we needed (iron) was brought right to our room

Reviewed by
Abigail M

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleased with this Hotel
Lots of parking, warm welcome & check in went smoothly.
Room was very large with high ceiling (we were told it was a dance hall before it was made into rooms) The en-suite was huge with large roll top bath & separate shower cubicle.
Breakfast was continental but you could pay extra for a cooked breakfast. All in all a very nice stay

Reviewed by
Julie P

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice little overnight stay
Very nice hotel and staff. Recommend it to anyone who wanted a nice restaurant with a nice room to retire to.

Reviewed by
S Walsh

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would be better value for money if it included a full breakfast

Reviewed by
Lyndsey R

From Runcorn, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Buffet Breakfast
Very limited selection available strongly recommend that the buffet breakfast range be increased.

Reviewed by
Christopher A

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good friendly accommodation

Very nice, Quiet, ,Clean, bed very comfy.T.V. ,Tea,coffee facilities etc. Staff friendly though did have to search for someone to book out at 10:30am.. Food good, available from attached Steak house restaurant though rather pricey.Steakhouse appears to be popular with locals. Hotel setting quite rural, quite isolated on edge of village not much else available in area but is closest accommodation to Edgehill University. Very nice courtyard entrance would be very nice to sit out there for drinks when weather is more clement

Reviewed by
C Dawson

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Innkeeper's Lodge
I enjoyed my stay here. The rooms are spacious and nicely decorated. The staff are very welcoming. The steak restaurant attached is also a plus for supper.
The only thing I would say is that it is a small hotel and the restaurant is actually the bigger partner. The desk for the restaurant is also the reception desk and it was very busy when I arrived. The room are quiet once upstairs though.

Reviewed by
Damian Mitchell

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great room, let down by the breakfast
My sister and I stayed at the Innkeepers Lodge in Ormskirk recently. Overall the room was good but breakfast was rubbish!.
The hotel was above a steak house, and whilst this was mentioned on the listing, the impression I got was that the steak house was part of the hotel: it turns out it is the other way around, and whilst this wasn't an issue for me, it would have been helpful to know that I was looking for a Miller and Carter Steakhouse sign - the Innkeepers Lodge logo was barely noticeable!
All the staff we met were really nice, friendly and helpful, although got the impression that there were a few new members of staff who were training on the hotel parts. We were taken right up to our room, and offered help with our luggage, which is a rarity these days!
Thee room was lovely and spacious, decorated in a nice modern style, super comfy beds and an enormous bathroom, with a nice powerful shower and all the expected toiletries etc. Some of the information in the room mentioned a phone and there wasn't one which was a bit strange. We broke a vase in about 5 minutes of getting there, and the staff were really ind and helpful, telling us not to worry and they came and took the broken ceramic away and hoovered up again.
A good nights sleep, no noises to wake us up - it is a quite a small hotel almost in the middle of nowhere so nothing really to disturb us apart from the potential of noisy fellow guests of which there weren't any.
So far so good, as we were in a steak house I had high hopes for breakfast: I knew it was a continental buffet, However, this is were the whole stay was let down. There wasn't anyone to take note of our room number or explain the selection, which it turned out wasn't necessary any way. Help yourself to weak coffee or boil the kettle to make a cup of tea. The selection was croissants (stale) or English muffins (didn't bother sampling after the croissant), toast with butter and a selection of jams (no marmalade or strawberry jam), selection of kellogg's cereals and 3 apricot yogurts! I would have considered ordering a cooked breakfast, but there didn't really seem anyone to order from. No-one came to ask us how the breakfast was, otherwise I would have commented. I would have expected 1) a wider selection of pastries that were fresh that morning 2) a selection of fresh fruit and possibly fruit salad 3) staff to check everything was ok, take orders and and top up items as they ran out.
So, if I was staying here again, I'd probably want to spend less on the room and not have breakfast. However, likelihood is that I wouldn't stay here again. Whilst the room was great, I like a decent hotel breakfast too much to stay here again!

Reviewed by
Rachael G

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next