No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Carlton Lodge

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
43 Bath Street, , , Southport, PR9 0DP
Welcome to the Carlton Lodge, a privately owned establishment of high quality accommodation in the heart of Southport. Originally a Victorian town house, the guest house was converted at the turn of the 20th century to cater for guests of a more discerning nature, and has continued to do so now for over 100 years. We pride ourselves in carrying on the splendid tradition. Ideally situated, we are just a few minutes walk from the promenade and the elegant boulevard of Lord Street. Being at the heart of the town, the hotel is ideal for all of the attractions and amenities. Whether you are coming to Southport on business, for a golfing holiday, for hiking or biking, bird watching at Maritin Mere, for a weekend break or longer, you can be assured that the Carlton Lodge will provide a stay of real quality and value. All of our rooms are ensuite and well equipped. High quality accommodation is matched by excellent food, all home cooked from the extensive menu, cooked to order and waitress served in our elegant dining room. Special diets are catered for. Breakfast is included. There is a comfortable lounge that is available at all times of the day and evening, which has a conservatory aspect to it. It is popular with guests, who are able to relax and enjoy quiet moments with a good book, or to assemble to discuss the days events. For guests' convenience, the hotel has its own car parking facilities on the forecourt. In high season private car parking permits are available.Many special offers are available during the year.Evening meals are available for groups of 6 or more. Please telephone for the best rates which are lower than on line prices.SPECIAL SeptemberOFFER 4 NIGHTS BED AND BREAKFAST MONDAY TO FRIDAY £140.0PER COUPLE IN DOUBLE OR TWIN ROOM. BOOKINGS MUST BE MADE DIRECTLY WITH CARLTON LODGE TEL.01704542290. NEW FOR 2014: 10% reduction on all stays except offers mentioned above for Senior Citizens when booking directly with CARLTON LODGE 0170454229
Picture of Carlton Lodge, Southport at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 29 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very central
Owner relaxed and just left us to it. Not fancy but clean and has everything you need for a short stay, well located with parking not a problem. Breakfast good. Fantastic Thai restaurant 30seconds walk away.

Reviewed by
Jacqueline R

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Positive experience
The proprietor was very friendly, helpful and accommodating. She made our stay so pleasant.

Reviewed by
Y Frankel

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Old & Dated
We were cancelled by the Hotel we had booked and Carlton Lodge was the only place that was available for 11-13 July 2014 - room 3. Firstly, yes Christine was a lovely person but the accommodation is very old, dated and could do with new decor all around. Carpets leading upstairs dirty, dogs running around in the private lounge area which leads through the kitchen to allow the dogs into the back garden. Bedroom decor really old, walls, furniture chipped, bedding, wardrobes and carpet. The shower room was so small and the rooms are advertised as en suite - well that's a matter of opinion. Mold in the shower, the toilet was not cleaned properly prior to our arrival. I do actually have an allergy to dogs and i ended up with a rash and sneezes during and after my stay. We did spend as little time in the room as possible so thank god for the good weather. In the past when i have read other peoples reviews the owners do respond and say "well you didnt say anything to me during your stay" - i did not see the point as i didnt think a makeover could be done during our time there. We didnt have breakfast due to the cleanliness of the rooms etc and also knowing the dogs were in the kitchen to gain access to the back garden, so i cannot comment how good or bad the food was. I would not stay here again myself but as you can see on other reviews people have left they do actually return time and time again - it all depends on your standard of living and what you expect from accommodation that you stay in.

Reviewed by
sharon M

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Many to choose from in Southport so was lucky to get a good one! Lovely breakfasts and great position between the prom and Lord Street. Great value for money. Definitely return next time I need to be in Southport!

Reviewed by
Paul K

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent break
We really enjoyed our stay, the room was clean and comfortable. The food was excellent and we were offered a variety of choices for breakfast. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
Eileen P

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant stay
Stayed for 2 nights. Very quiet place to stay. Good food, friendly guest house. Made to feel welcome.

Reviewed by
David H

From Dudley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent food
Room fairly basic but clean and comfortable. Very central, close to all attractions. Breakfast excellent best ever in a bed and breakfast. An enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
s Thomasson

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Carlton Lodge, Southport
I would recommend Carlton Lodge to anyone who wants a central base in Southport to explore the surrounding area and beyond. Christine, the landlady, is a lovely person and the breakfast is excellent both in quality and choice. The accommodation was both very clean and comfortable. Car parking area a distinct bonus. Would certainly stay again. Thank you Christine.
Rog & Shirl

Reviewed by
Roger G

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great B & B
Lovely Victorian house. Very friendly and helpful proprietor. Comfortable bed and everything needed in the room. Excellent breakfast and no problem if you're vegetarian. What more could you ask for?

Reviewed by
Glen A

From Margate, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Was good for the price, location and most of all parking facilities

Reviewed by
Roger T

From Halifax, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next