No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Boars Head Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
120 Lammas Street, Carmarthen, SA31 3AE
The Boar's Head Hotel, Carmarthen, situated in the Centre of the thriving market town is a famous Coaching Inn steeped in history, dating back to the early 17th Century.

The Hotel has 16 comfortable en-suite rooms, each with colour TV, direct dial telephones, Free Wi-fi and complimentary hot beverages tray. Being a family run Hotel, children are most welcome.
Cots, highchairs and baby monitors are available at no extra charge

The Restaurant and Lounge Area are beautifully oak panelled with an extensive menu, serving excellent cuisine all day, every day. The popular carvery is available every lunchtime with a beautiful selection of deserts.

The lounge offers a relaxing atmosphere for either a quiet drink or an informal meal. Our well appointed bars offer a selection of Traditional Real Ales as well as keg bitters, lagers, ciders and a wide variety of wines, spirits and soft drinks.
Enjoy a bar meal in front the the Traditional Fireplace or relax in one of our dedicated dining areas.
Picture of Boars Head Hotel, Carmarthen at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 79 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient stopover en route to west Wales
Nice pub on main street. Access to car park tight but space available even on Saturday night. Pleasant welcome at reception and taken to room which makes a change.. Ate in restaurant on short notice and food very good. Comfy room and good freshly cooked breakfast in morning. All staff very pleasant.

Reviewed by
Pauline M

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not happy.
Booked double room but when arrived only had twin room. Nobody accept blame and manager didn't even acknowledge us.

Reviewed by
alan kitts

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

you get what you pay for...
Looking for a room last minute we didn't have a vast choice, ignoring some of the other reviews we chose this hotel because it was the least expensive. The room was clean enough, but the bathroom wasn't a pleasant place to be. The biggest draw back is the adjoining pub: it is rowdy, unwelcoming and old fashioned (but not in a quaint ye olde way). Lastly the breakfast was badly served, we had to wait 15 minutes before the one girl serving acknowledged us. Then another 30 minutes for two over cooked frozen croissants. All in all should have spent that extra £20 and listened to the reviews.

Reviewed by
Heather L

From Boston, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good value
Friendly staff. Welsh speaking staff evident which is an advantage and helps authentic welsh atmosphere. Good breakfast. good room.

Reviewed by
Allan Dyer

From Taunton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Apalling
Arrived with confirmation email and booking reference to be told no rooms available

Reviewed by
carole c

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place to stay
Situated in the heart of Carmarthen,easy to reach from the train station.The owner was very polite and accommodating.Room was clean and spacious,enough for a good night sleep.Bathroom could be refreshed a little, otherwise very very nice.

Reviewed by
Natalia H

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable and reasonably priced.
Had a very comfortable stay at this hotel. Our room had a four poster bed and it was very comfortable indeed and on first impressions, looked impressive, however the cleanliness of the room left a little to be desired. The room had a musty smell and there was a lot of black mould in between the bathroom tiles and around the bath and the mugs on the breakfast tray were not washed properly and had a brown ring at the bottom. However, the staff were all friendly and helpful and as I said, we had a comfortable nights sleep and at only £57.50 for bed and breakfast for two people, I felt it was good value for money.

Reviewed by
Diane F

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely old coaching Inn
We loved the character of this place it was a shame there wasn't a beer garden as it was a lovely hot summers evening, it did take while to get served at the bar as only one person doing bar and reception, however we had a good time and the breakfast was very nice and served with a smile.

Reviewed by
joan c

From Corsham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice friendly hotel
From booking in to checking out everything was done with a friendly helpful attitude. The room was surprisingly large and was clean and well presented. The breakfast was very nice, probably the only minor criticism I would have was that the coffee wasn't very hot.

Reviewed by
D Brown

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great food and friendly people

Reviewed by
B Maries

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next