No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Boars Head Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
120 Lammas Street, Carmarthen, SA31 3AE
The Boar's Head Hotel, Carmarthen, situated in the Centre of the thriving market town is a famous Coaching Inn steeped in history, dating back to the early 17th Century.

The Hotel has 16 comfortable en-suite rooms, each with colour TV, direct dial telephones, Free Wi-fi and complimentary hot beverages tray. Being a family run Hotel, children are most welcome.
Cots, highchairs and baby monitors are available at no extra charge

The Restaurant and Lounge Area are beautifully oak panelled with an extensive menu, serving excellent cuisine all day, every day. The popular carvery is available every lunchtime with a beautiful selection of deserts.

The lounge offers a relaxing atmosphere for either a quiet drink or an informal meal. Our well appointed bars offer a selection of Traditional Real Ales as well as keg bitters, lagers, ciders and a wide variety of wines, spirits and soft drinks.
Enjoy a bar meal in front the the Traditional Fireplace or relax in one of our dedicated dining areas.
Picture of Boars Head Hotel, Carmarthen at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 76 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
73% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable and reasonably priced.
Had a very comfortable stay at this hotel. Our room had a four poster bed and it was very comfortable indeed and on first impressions, looked impressive, however the cleanliness of the room left a little to be desired. The room had a musty smell and there was a lot of black mould in between the bathroom tiles and around the bath and the mugs on the breakfast tray were not washed properly and had a brown ring at the bottom. However, the staff were all friendly and helpful and as I said, we had a comfortable nights sleep and at only £57.50 for bed and breakfast for two people, I felt it was good value for money.

Reviewed by
Diane F

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice friendly hotel
From booking in to checking out everything was done with a friendly helpful attitude. The room was surprisingly large and was clean and well presented. The breakfast was very nice, probably the only minor criticism I would have was that the coffee wasn't very hot.

Reviewed by
D Brown

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great food and friendly people

Reviewed by
B Maries

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little disappointed
This was a return visit to the Boar's Head. Shortly after making the original booking, i was contacted by note; staff to ask if I would mind changing my choice of room fro a double to a twin bedded room. I had no objections. Car parking is always something of a challenge there, but having gathered all my belongings to check in at the reception, I was informed that my room was right by the car park, which meant retracing my steps, back out throgh the front door on to the main street, through the entrance to the car park where rooms 8 and 9 were located, right by the kitchen. Iitial thoughts were that it was quite dark and stuffy, but once the windows were opened, conditions improved. The bathroom indicated that this room was designed with disabled clients in mind, as there was a wet room. Beds were not the most comfortable, and being right by the car park, meant closing the windows at night. I usually sleep with windows open, but this was not possible. If there was a catch preventing the window being fully opened, it may have helped. Being a warm night, weatherwise, the room was somewhat stuffy. However, being located where it was, there was no disturbance from other clients of the hotel. The room was a little shabby. Paintwork needed attention and there was a huge cobweb in the corner of the room at ceiling level. The staff were very friendly and breakfast was ample and provided a good start to my day. For value, it was excellent, and I would have no qualms about staying there again. The negative thoughts are very picky, but I do have a thing about cobwebs.

Reviewed by
Andrew M

From Pontypridd, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good central location in town
Single rooms quite basic but adequate. Bed not too comfortable. Street too noisy to open window to get fresh air. My room was on 2nd floor, up very steep steps. TV very small. Breakfast adequate but only one portion of butter for 2 rounds of toast. No milk or knife for toast on table the first morning. Bar empty apart from some men playing darts, and restaurant empty, so as a solo female traveller I did feel comfortable enough to have dinner or a drink.

Reviewed by
Janice T

From Taunton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room vibrated with noise
This was a last minute booking and they did tell us there would be live music in the pub below until 12midnight and it might be noisy - but we needed a room so we said ok. The room was a bit shabby but had a lovely 4 poster bed and nice bathroom, however, the TV didn't work and despite us reporting this and the owner coming to look at it (eventually after asking twice and a couple of hours) he couldn't find a new aerial so we didn't have a tv all night. Also when the music started it was VERY noisy - but the worst part was it made the whole room vibrate - you could feel it through the floor and all the ornaments were jumping about and the hangers rattling in the wardrobe - unless you want to be out or join in downstairs don't go on a Saturday night - and I didn't even have a tv to distract me!

Reviewed by
Elizabeth K

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing experience
We stayed three nights, on arrival we discovered that the tea pot still had a used tea bag in it and hadn't been cleaned. The shower was not working properly and had to be held in order to use it. On our return on the second day we discovered the cleaning staff had broken a tower rail and this was left on the floor. The room was in need to redecorating and although it is an old building having visible damp stains on walls and ceilings was not pleasing. The food was ok, however we only had breakfast there. On the last day we parked on what we thought was a parking space as there was no signage otherwise to receive a call in our room asking us to move the car as this was reserved for management, the call was abrupt and unfriendly, at check out we were not asked how the stay was, only the keys and payment were requested, I gave feed back, the only response was why didn't you tell us earlier, a small apology and no attempt to offer a small discount for the inconveniences... all in all wont be staying there again.

Reviewed by
Gemma D

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent pub B&B in the centre of Carmarthen
I would strongly recommend this pub B&B. lovely friendly,helpful staff. I used a disabled room which had good access. The private car park away from the street was reassuring.

Reviewed by
c howard

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reasonable but can be noisy
The staff were very friendly and eager to help. Sadly, the room didn't match the good impression the staff had made. The furniture was in need of renewing, especially the mattress which was down to the springs, and the bathroom could definitely have been cleaner (hairs in bath and dirty toilet bowl).
We stayed on a Friday night so expected some noise - and we're warned by staff when we got there that there was some live music on that night. We didn't hear any music but the room underneath ours was used for some event that had someone shouting down a microphone into the small hours and we could hear every word they said.
The breakfast the next morning was reasonable. Decent portion size.
In all I'd say the place was worthy of the price but is better suited to those on a stag do or rugby tour than a couple on a weekend away. If I were in Carmarthen for either of the former then I'd stay here again.

Reviewed by
Colin W

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location for town centre
Great place to stay, very welcoming, good choice of beer and excellent food both evening and breakfast time. Parking on site too. Comfortable room and bed. Great for shopping.

Reviewed by
M Hayward

From Aberystwyth, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next