No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Dukes Folly Hotel

4Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
11 Duke Street , Southport , PR8 1LS
The finest of Southport hotels, the Dukes Folly Hotel is ideally located near the corner of Duke Street and Lord Street, Southport's world famous Victorian Boulevard.

The Dukes Folly Hotel is a classic boutique hotel in the heart of Southport, North West England, near Liverpool. The hotel is said to be built in 1861 as when the first record can be found nowadays. Unlike other chain hotels with unit room design, Dukes Folly is well maintained and run with its Charactor Rooms. Every room is unit. Comfortable beds and inspiring enviroment together with delicious heartedly prepared breakfast are all our attitudes to serve our customers. Once you have stayed in the hotel, we are sure you can relax and enjoy as much as you are at home. The homely lounge and spacious bar areas equipped with a 50 inches screen TV are the perfect places for relaxation and gathering. Breakfast is of the highest quality and finishes by 10.30 am allowing you to have brunch for the day. Our checkout time is also the traditional one at 12.00pm, so you will never rush to the schedule once you check in Dukes Folly Hotel.

WILLIAM SUTTON was Commonly Known as the Old Duke, The Founder of Southport. He was born at Churchtown North Meols A.D. 1752 and died there May 22 1840. He erected almost upon this spot A.D. 1792 the First House in what is now the flourishing Town of Southport then a wilderness of Sandhills, the house originally called 'Dukes Folly' was afterwards know as the Original Hotel. A Memorial Tablet, taken from its walls has been placed on the N.E.side oft this Column and this street has received the name of Duke Street in remembrance of the Old Duke.

Southport is one of the nice place in UK. It is quiet, peaceful and beautiful. There are seashore, lagoon, fun park, sand beaches and so on. Fesitvals are all year running, the Jazz Festival, the Flower Show, the Air Show, the Golf Grand Opening. Victorian buildings are everywhere along the Lord Street. Lord Street is the first Boulevard before the Champs Elysees in Paris of France. It was told that the exciled Prince Louis Napolean lived in Southport in 1838 and admired the long straight wide tree-lined Lord Street. Later he remembered the Lord Street's elegance when he returned to France as Emperor and he transformed Paris with its now famous Boulevard.

Dukes Folly Hotel is ideal for singles, couples, families, groups, golf societies and businesses, small conferences as well as event functions such as wedding and anniversary....
Picture of The Dukes Folly Hotel, Southport  at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 40 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very nice room nice staff lovely breakfast

Reviewed by
jeffrey anderson

From St Helens, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

3 nights in Southport
A lovely hotel close to all amenities. Great staff and service. Lovely rooms and great breakfast.

Reviewed by
STEVE D

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review of Dukes Folly
The staff at the hotel were friendly but we were not happy with the length of time breakfast took to arrive so perhaps staffing levels need to be looked at. From ordering one round of toast and one cooked breakfast we sat for 40 minutes. It seemed that the waiting staff were apologizing to everyone else for the delay too.
Room 22 was rather poky and could have been a bit cheerier looking. Not a place to which we would make a return visit.

Reviewed by
W Callender

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Choice!I
I was given a warm welcome at The Dukes Folly reception.My room was very clean and tastefully decorated using relaxing colours.The TV was good and the hospitality tray was kept well stocked with tea and coffee etc.The Dukes Folly has plenty of character with a comfortable lounge and Bar area and an outside patio area with attractive flowers and small pond with fish! I really enjoyed my cooked breakfast which was excellent! The coffee was great too!
Most importantly I found the staff friendly and helpful and I will return to The Dukes Folly soon!

Reviewed by
Berenice R

From England
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good nights sleep
good friendly and helpfull staff,nothing to much trouble.very handy to local ammeneties also nice,and quit, hotel.food very good and plenty of it.

Reviewed by
mick rush

From Swadlincote, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent value for money and great location for the town

Reviewed by
james preston

From Uttoxeter, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

quirky n friendly
Very welcoming on arrival and friendly throughout
If you're tossing up betwEen this and a chain choose this family run hotel
We had a themed room, small ish but everything you need including a hair dryer
Hotel is perhaps a little tired around the edges but this didint spoil our stay
Nice choice of breakfast items and excellent coffee
Would we stAy again ...yes

Reviewed by
D Hughes

From Kidlington, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location and friendly staff!
This hotel is perfectly located for Southport's attractions.
We stayed here because we were doing the Southport Triathlon early on Sunday morning. The hotel allowed us to store our bikes in a secure room and put on a breakfast tray as we would have missed breakfast. There was even a note wishing us luck for the race, very nice touch. Thank you!!
The room was a little outdated in the decor but fine for a night or so.
The staff are what make this hotel, thank you for being so helpful!

Reviewed by
Emma W

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I only stayed the one night, the breakfast was great and the only problem I had was the room was abit small but I traveled alone so wasn't too bad but if I was to stay with my partner is the same room then it be abit of a issue

Reviewed by
JAMES FARTHING

From York, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not worth the money paid!!
My partner and I decided on a nights stay in southport to see family. I booked a four poster room 4 days before we were due to travel. After receiving our confirmation, I was called directly from the hotel to say the room was already taken, yet still book able through laterooms?. We were offered a premium double in replacement and accepted after much confusion. Upon check in we were greeted and shown to our room. Well if that's a premium I'd hate to see the standard!!. Lovely view of another building, staining to the quilt cover , and someone else's hair in the bed!!.
We are by no means snobs, but for the money it was appalling!!. Minimal items on the courtesy tray, and the shower was a joke( you would have to run around in it for 20 minutes to get wet)! The pressure was that low!!.
Breakfast was of a good standard and tasty, well done!. Would not stop here again, when there is an abundance of other hotels to choose from
Gary

Reviewed by
Gary M

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next