No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Royal Hotel

3Visit Scotland Assessed Small Hotel Ratings explained
1 GLAISNOCK STREET , CUMNOCK, KA181BP
Set in the centre of Cumnock, just 35 minutes from Prestwick Airport, this Victorian Hotel has been extensively refurbished and boasts hearty food, cosy accommodation, free Wi-Fi and parking.

Originally built in 1892, the Hotel blends the traditional elegance of its Victorian façade with contemporary interiors. With its team of friendly and approachable staff, guests can look forward to a warm welcome and a relaxing atmosphere.

They offer 9 contemporary en-suite bedrooms. Due to the traditional layout of the building each has its own wonderfully unique style.

The restaurant is a firm favourite among locals and has garnered an impressive reputation for its hearty, traditional dishes. There is also a popular sports bar which shows most major sporting events.

The Hotel is situated just a short drive from the A76 and 50 minutes from Glasgow. It is perfectly positioned for visiting such attractions as Dumfries House, the Robert Burns Birthplace Museum, Galloway Forest Park and Troon and Turnberry golf courses.
Picture of Royal Hotel, CUMNOCK at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 15 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Royal Hotel
Return to where I was a child.

Reviewed by
stuart johnston

From Mansfield, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a great stay
A Great hotel.we enjoyed a very comfortable stay

Reviewed by
L McKenzie

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant hotel
Had a great stay, working in Cumnock for one night, staff were really friendly, and pleasant, love to stay again.

Reviewed by
S Jobson

From North Shields, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly break
Had a problem with the plumbing in the bathroom,was sorted out satisfactory. We were moved to another room. Smiles all round.

Reviewed by
Alexander Roy

From Mansfield, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could'nt hav asked for more :) excellent..
We arrived early, requested early check in as we had wedding to attend at Lochside at 1pm, girl was so helpful managed to get upgrade/early check in & cuppa while we waited for 10mins fantastic service, lovely spacious room with everything we needed spotless & breakie was lovely 10/10 thanx :)

Reviewed by
K Mcginley

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

comfortable hotel
I've stayed in this hotel on a large number of occasions and it perfect for my needs.

Reviewed by
j hardie

From edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent in Almost Every Respect
As you can see I have rated this hotel highly and I agree with all of the positive comments posted by other reviewers. However I feel that prospective guests should be warned about the noise generated by the local drunks. This is not the fault of the hotel and my advice is to ask for an inside room.

Reviewed by
John D

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rubbish Shower
The room and the staff were excellent, I asked them to get someone to look at the shower as there was very very little pressure. I was expecting them to inform maintenance however one of the room ladies said she looked at it ???? I only stayed there for 2 nights it was hot and sticky all I wanted was a nice shower, I'm sure this could have been sorted if the right person had been sent to look at it.... unless this is something that lots of guests have complained about and as I was checking out the next day so they thought it was ok to leave it.

Reviewed by
Enzo F

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Royal Hotel, Cumnock: feedback EXCELLENT
We booked in for one night only, in order to visit nearby Dumfries House. We were allocated an exceptionally spacious, well-appointed room with a view over the town square. We ate in the restaurant and the menu was very appealing. The food - every course - was so good that I asked to see the chef. The young man didn't know what to expect when he came to our table, but was taken aback when I praised the food, the presentation and the whole ambience. It exceeded our expectations in all respects and was really good value. The staff were really helpful and made the experience memorable.

Reviewed by
Alan Elsegood

From Ilkley, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel
Very comfortable and nicely appointed. I had to pull the curtains in the bathroom to avoid being visible to everyone in the town square whilst on the toilet, but otherwise fine.

Reviewed by
Paul S

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next